We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional but fairly grim.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Caen Cote de Nacre
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Functional but fairly grim.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I'm surprised to see quite a few positive reviews on here. The overwhelming impression I've been left with, from 2 nights there, is of a grim place (white-washed, pebble-dash-effect internal walls)... thin carpets, those plastic-type curtains, awful external architecture in a soulless part of town. Oh... and the restaurant/breakfast was thoroughly uninspiring. The worst Novotel of the many that I've stayed in. It also annoys me when they put symbols on their own website which give the impression that it has facilities that are not there. For instance... a gym/fitness symbol. But look carefully, and this symbol actually means that there is a fitness centre nearby, and you have to pay for it.

To be fair, the hotel is not without redeeming features and I was a bit torn between 2 and 3 stars but for over a hundred pounds a night in a mid-range chain like Novotel, I just don't think it deserves 3. On the plus side, whilst I really didn't like the room, it was big enough for us with 2 kids. They've done a very nice job in the back garden, which is a little oasis of tranquility... with a nice outdoor pool, table tennis, trees and grass. The staff were generally friendly, and the location is good for transport links... including a tram and a ringroad right outside. The reception area and bar look like they've been done up fairly recently, and they make an effort by laying out some toys in reception for kids.

But the place just doesn't feel at all pleasurable, as described earlier. A little more detail about the breakfast... it was a self service buffet, with limited choice... and mostly very average quality. For example, on both days, the fruit on the buffet consisted of just some slices of fresh orange with some tinned fruit cocktail. Only 2 fruit juices. Hot food was disappointing.. but like most things here, not quite bad enough to make you complain too much... just some bacon, pale sausages, sauteed potatoes, scrambled egg... and some eggs you could boil yourself. The evening meal was not great. I should really have complained, but couldn't be bothered.

If you can't find anything else, and it's just for 1 night (maybe at a real push, 2)... then you'll be OK. But do try to find something else first! ( by the way, I can't remember all my reviews, but they are generally very upbeat and optimistic, so don't dismiss me as a whinger!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deedeekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    284
    155
    65
    19
See reviews for
291
120
29
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

You know what you're getting with a Novotel and this one is no exception. On the small side, so nice and quiet. Friendly service. Decent pool area. Room a bit small, especially with 2 fold-out beds unfolded. Air conditioning didn't seem to work and leaving the window open overnight had the disadvantage that the sirens from ambulances headed for the hospital next door could be heard loud and clear. Decor a bit rough around the edges and could do with a redecoration. But overall a perfectly decent place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hs_prd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

A Novotel at the lower end of the brand spectrum. The ability to get two kids in the room comfortably and at no extra cost is the hotel's main selling point.

Good points are the swimming pool, decent breakfast (only worthwhile if included in rate, overpriced otherwise) and free parking.

Otherwise it's very tired looking and desparately needs air conditioning, especially when outside temperatures are in mid 30s (it's nigh on impossible to sleep in oven-like conditions when the room window doesn't open).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Level Contributor
162 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel has been modernized. It has a large enough pool for kids to have fun. The rooms are clean, as you can expect from a Novotel. The personnel was not very helpful. You are close to the Caen downtown, where you have a castle and a few of the remaining old streets. We used Caen as a base to go to the Normandy beaches, Bayeux and Mont-Saint-Michel. Parking is free. The breakfast buffet is very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capital of the World
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Standard Novotel, same old same old. Location far out of town, nothing really close by.
No A/C or heat control in the room. Pool outside and garden was nice. Cleanliness could have been better. Service very French, they hardly speak English or notice you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldCTZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is on a busy junction of the RN29 and looks a little tired from the outside. But inside is modernised and quiet. We were impressed with the size of the room, bed and with the decor. All was comfortable and I had a good night's sleep. Add to that the fact that it's walkable (2km) to the centre of Caen and it's a place worth staying.

Room Tip: I was in a room right at the end, next to the busy junction; it's not one that I would have chos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThreeShoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Porte, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

During a family vacation, we visited Caen, FR as a stop over before a visit to Omaha Beach in Normandy. This hotel is not what you would call opulent. For U.S. customers, compare it to a Motel 6.

The rooms were clean, but were not what you would consider great. The rooms were relatively small compared to similarly priced U.S. hotels, but comparable to European hotels where size and amenities and costs are concerned.

As said, the hotel was nothing to get excited about, but comfortable and had value.

Room Tip: there are no "good" rooms in this hotel, just rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaPorteWillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caen hotels
1.2 mi away
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
1.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
1.7 mi away
Adagio Caen Centre
Adagio Caen Centre
#5 of 41 in Caen
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Moderne
1.2 mi away
Ibis Caen Centre
Ibis Caen Centre
#7 of 41 in Caen
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Caen Cote de Nacre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Caen Cote de Nacre

Property: Novotel Caen Cote de Nacre
Address: 155 rue de la Delivrande, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Caen Cote de Nacre 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Caen Cote de Nacre is a 4 star hotel located 20 minutes from the beaches of the Allied landings and not far from the Peace Memorial. The hotel offers 126 rooms, a terrace with a garden, a swimming pool and six conference rooms for your meetings and seminars. This 4 star hotel is equally suited to a business trip or holiday in Caen in couple or family. Discover modern and original cuisine at the Novotel Cafe restaurant. Guests also enjoy the convenience of free private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Caen Cote de Nacre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Caen Cote De Nacre Hotel Caen
Caen Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing