We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Perfectly situated beside the canal and marina near the town centre. We had a very comfortable suite ("superior room") with an excellent bed. The room was well equipped with a Nespresso machine and soft drinks in the fridge. The bathroom has a bath and separate shower with twin washbasins; a separate toilet. Overlooking a busy road junction the room was well insulated from outside noise. The reception staff were helpful and friendly. On site carparking at a small charge.
We stayed here before catching the ferry to Portsmouth the next day - an easy 15 minute drive away.
Our only point of criticism for the hotel to note is that the carpeting on the long corridor on the third floor was scruffy and unwelcoming, giving a poor impression. Caen is an interesting and beautiful historic town. I would love to go again and would definitely stay again at the Mercure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us.
My team and I greatly value feedback from our guests. We will continue to uphold this standard of customer satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards.

Jean-Yves GUTH
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 743 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2014

I found this to be an excellent hotel ,staff were very friendly and very helpful with directions to various attractions ,there is also a rack full of leaflets telling you what the area has to offer for the tourist.Rooms are nice clean and well maintained.Continental breakfast was nice also.Within a short walking distance are umpteen restaurants bars etc.Railway Station is about 15-20 min walk .
Hotel has a underground car park ,with plenty of room .

Room Tip: Try and get one overlooking the marina .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us.
My team and I greatly value feedback from our guests. We will continue to uphold this standard of customer satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards.

Jean-Yves GUTH
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

The Mercure is very clean and the rooms are good-sized. The front desk staff were all very courteous and spoke very good English. The desk staff were also very helpful with directions to museums and restaurants. If you are driving, the hotel has an attached parking deck which is very convenient since parking in this part of Caen is a challenge.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your comments
I will pass them on to our teams.

Best regards.

Jean-Yves GUTH
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

My wife and I ended up staying there entirely by chance. We had booked three nights at a Bed and Breakfast "just outside" of Caen (actually about a 45 minute drive.) The Bed and Breakfast turned out to be a disaster and we ended up driving around in the rain looking for a place to stay. Luckily we found the Mercure in Caen.

The desk clerk listened to our story and found us a room. Although we did not have a reservation, we were given a room at the reserved price. She knew we were desperate but she did not take advantage of us and I will always be grateful for that. She also let us know that since we were both over 60, we could have breakfast for free. The breakfast was, by the way, one of the best that I have ever had in a European hotel and would have been well worth the cost had we been charged the usual rate.

Parking is difficult around the hotel and I strongly suggest that you use the underground parking garage for ten Euros a night. The hotel is centrally located with several cafes and restaurants nearby. The hotel restaurant is also very good.

Our room was large and clean--the same could be said for the bathroom. The bed was comfortable and we slept well every night of our stay.

What makes the Mercure truly exceptional is the people who work there. One example: There was a train strike while we were in Normandy and we had already purchased tickets for our return trip to Paris. We asked the desk clerk if he had heard anything about the trains through Caen. He asked us when we were leaving and then called the train station to see if our train would be running on time (it was the only one that was.) This was typical of everyone that we interacted with during our stay. They always offered to do more than you asked.

The hotel is a great value and I do not hesitate to recommend it. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else if I returned to Caen.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the marina is quite pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamesiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us.
My team and I greatly value feedback from our guests. We will continue to uphold this standard of customer satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards.

Jean-Yves GUTH
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I spent 3 nights here during a tour and the stay was really good. The rooms are spacious, clean, recently renovated and we had a nice view on the canal. The breakfast was good with everything you wish to have on the morning. The location is the best, right in the city center, walking by all the shops and restaurants. The bar is also very cosy and nice to have a beer upon return of a nice day of visit. Perfect base to discover Normandy in the day and explore Caen at night. I recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomzy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us.
My team and I greatly value feedback from our guests. We will continue to uphold this standard of customer satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards.

Jean-Yves GUTH
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

i had a privilege room for six days 10 out 10 for everything good service good room good staff the restaurant next to the ibiss needs sorting but just over the road there is a good one good sea food and try the creps they are top notch I cant remember the name but you will find it full say no more

Room Tip: dident go to pool or fitness centre so could not comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fantasy10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us.
My team and I greatly value feedback from our guests. We will continue to uphold this standard of customer satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards.

Jean-Yves GUTH
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Eleanor09
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Moderne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adagio Caen Centre
Adagio Caen Centre
#6 of 41 in Caen
496 reviews
0 mi away
Ibis Caen Centre
Ibis Caen Centre
#7 of 41 in Caen
593 reviews
1.2 mi away
Novotel Caen Cote de Nacre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance

Address: 1 rue de Courtonne | Bp 3086, 14018 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Caen
#6 Business Hotel in Caen
Price Range: $103 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Normandy in the city of William the Conqueror: the Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, located in the city center, has 126 luxury rooms, renovated in 2009, including 24 Privilege Rooms and 4 suites, all with air conditioning. Our Atrium and 6458 sq. ft (600 m²) of modular conference rooms can be booked for receptions and seminars. Private paying car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Caen Centre Port De Plaisance Hotel Caen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing