We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed as part of a Globus tour, so had no choice of hotel.Hotel was new and modern, close to the waterfront with shops and restaurants. Included tour breakfast and dinner were very poor. Rooms were clean, good customer service. My room was facing the street and a little noisy, above the main lobby, which I did not realize until I was trying to sleep. Would stay again, but not eat there and pick room more carefully.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelopolos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comments
I will pass them on to our teams.

Best regards.

Jean-Yves GUTH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    338
    140
    46
    15
See reviews for
90
313
38
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed here twice, once into France and again coming back. Very well located and helpful staff. One thing with Mercures is that when you ask them to recommend a "good" restaurant they send you to the Ibis. Resist this and go for an independent. Room 354 is by far the best - top floor middle room with a big window overlooking the water.

Room Tip: Room 354 - no contest
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us.
My team and I greatly value feedback from our guests. We will continue to uphold this standard of customer satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards.

Jean-Yves GUTH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
219 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

When visiting Caen this is a very good choice. The hotel is clean, we'll appointed, and has a friendly staff. It is also very conveniently located with many restaurant choices within easy walking distance. I stay here very time I am visiting on business.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JTM125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comments
I will pass them on to our teams.

Best regards.

Jean-Yves GUTH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed here for three nights....found their breakfasts to be the best "Chain" meals I've come across...absolute quality and choice....breads and cheeses aplenty!...a pleasure to eat.
Rooms are fine, location is fantastic...centre town, easy parking....could not ask for better.

Room Tip: rear is quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UtahBikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us.
My team and I greatly value feedback from our guests. We will continue to uphold this standard of customer satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards.

Jean-Yves GUTH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and visited Caen Memorial and the Normandy beaches. This hotel was convenient for the shops, cafés and restaurants. Hotel was warm! spacious and comfortable. We used the underground car park. There was a good selection for breakfast. Our room was at the front of the hotel, but on the Saturday night it was very noisy with people out on the streets shouting and singing. Our room did not have a security safe. On two occasions we had no hot water. There is a big market on Sunday mornings opposite the hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CBRAD24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comments
I will pass them on to our teams.

Best regards.

Jean-Yves GUTH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

The place is strategically located near the shopping areas including printemps and h & m which close at 7pm! Lots of cafes around the area and a small supermarket beside the hotel. Breakfast was ok and dinners were better. Even if i had to log in repeatedly, the wifi was ok since it is Free! Yehey!
Room was comfortable except for the weird sink that had a slanted appearance so the soap kept on sliding to the side. Toiletries included only shampoo and soap. No toothbrush, toothpaste, slippers and lotion. Parking for tourist buses must be hell for the drivers. Still, it was a comfortable stay for us tourists.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dokie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us.
My team and I greatly value feedback from our guests. We will continue to uphold this standard of customer satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards.

Jean-Yves GUTH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre
0.5 mi away
Adagio Caen Centre
Adagio Caen Centre
#4 of 41 in Caen
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ibis Caen Centre
Ibis Caen Centre
#7 of 41 in Caen
535 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Caen Centre
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Moderne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance

Property: Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
Address: 1 rue de Courtonne | BP 3086, 14018 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Caen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Caen
#6 Business Hotel in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Normandy in the city of William the Conqueror: the Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, located in the city center, has 126 luxury rooms, renovated in 2009, including 24 Privilege Rooms and 4 suites, all with air conditioning. Our Atrium and 6458 sq. ft (600 m²) of modular conference rooms can be booked for receptions and seminars. Private paying car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Caen Centre Port De Plaisance Hotel Caen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing