We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like This Mercure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I like This Mercure”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

The place is strategically located near the shopping areas including printemps and h & m which close at 7pm! Lots of cafes around the area and a small supermarket beside the hotel. Breakfast was ok and dinners were better. Even if i had to log in repeatedly, the wifi was ok since it is Free! Yehey!
Room was comfortable except for the weird sink that had a slanted appearance so the soap kept on sliding to the side. Toiletries included only shampoo and soap. No toothbrush, toothpaste, slippers and lotion. Parking for tourist buses must be hell for the drivers. Still, it was a comfortable stay for us tourists.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dokie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us.
My team and I greatly value feedback from our guests. We will continue to uphold this standard of customer satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards.

Jean-Yves GUTH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    337
    140
    46
    15
See reviews for
89
313
38
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
368 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 506 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Good - The Centre Port de Plaisance (CPdP) has a good location just across the street from Caen's marina, near several cafés, restaurants and just a couple block walk to the Ducal castle. Our room, linens and towels were all clean. Our window opened up to a side street, so there wasn't a lot of street noise. The hotel staff were friendly and professional.

Since this was a tour bus trip we ate dinner and breakfast in a large multi-function room, which leads me to The Bad - CPdP's food was among the worst I've had at a hotel bus dinner (and believe me, 40 person dinners sometimes are not exactly haute cuisine). Bland chicken and not-the-freshest-tasting fish for the main entrees, oven fried potatoes, overcooked / canned? peas & carrots and a tasteless squash/fish stock soup. The best part of the meal was that each table had a bottle of white and a bottle of red wine; which was greatly appreciated and needed to wash down their food. Then CPdP's bus breakfast the next morning got even worse. Grease-soaked, half-raw, limp bacon and the usual out of a carton/powdered scrambled eggs . But these eggs were either vastly over-rehydrated or else pureed; looking and tasting undercooked. They were so runny you couldn't eat them with a fork. The cereal selection consisted of corn flakes or cocoa puff flakes? Based on the better reviews given to food served in the hotel's main dining room; it would appear CPdP considers tour bus travelers second class citizens. Given there was good selection of restaurants, cafes and pubs near by, it's too bad one of the 'included dinners' in our tour price was at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OTR_Again_IM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Customer,

We thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your recent stay at the Mercure Caen Centre.
Your comments have been duly noted, particularly that you disliked the food. We would like to assure you that our Chef takes pride in using fresh ingredients for all of our customers, banquets and bus tours alike. Breakfast as well, is composed of the same options for individual and group customers. The only difference is that we prefer that our group guests dine or breakfast under the glass pyramid of our Atrium. The bright, open space is better suited to large numbers of people.
We do our utmost to uphold the same standard of service for all of our guests. We sincerely hope that we will have another chance to welcome during a future stay in Normandy. “

Jean-Yves GUTH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Excellent location in the centre of Caen, with an underground parking wich is easy to find. The Privilege rooms have all the things you need and are very cozy. If you like mirrors, these rooms will be a dream. Only the bathroom is a little bit small, and the (seperated) toilet is smaller. Don't chose for the breakfast in your room; very expensive for what you get. It's better to go to the breakfast area.

Room Tip: The Privilege rooms are cozy and have all the luxury you need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discover_be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us.
My team and I greatly value feedback from our guests. We will continue to uphold this standard of customer satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards.

Jean-Yves GUTH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

After touring around Normandy we stopped here before the final drive home. The town of Caen is larger than the pretty little places we had been visiting for the rest of the time and it was a bit of a shock to see so many people and traffic! Finding the hotel is easy and the location is pretty close to the main ares for sightseeing and the restaurant area. The room was fine but a bit forgettable in the way that business hotels are. There was an underground car park with plenty of space. The building is half Mercure with the other half Ibis but facilities seem to be shared. We did not eat in the hotel so cannot say for food.
The location is fine for a walk around the town but Caen is not as special as some of the other Normandy towns as a lot of it was destroyed in the war. Walking through the pedestrian zone along the main shopping streets we did see a few noisy pubs and large groups of students from the university. Although we did not have any trouble there were a couple of homeless looking groups hanging around cash machines etc. which was a bit of a change from the tourists and welcoming locals everywhere else we visited. Having said that, the restaurant area was nice and we had a good meal with a very polite waiter so still had a good time here.

Room Tip: Check the rates and room for the Ibis as it is in the same building!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comments
I will pass them on to our teams.

Best regards.

Jean-Yves GUTH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Located in front of the Bassin St. Pierre with easy access to the town centre for shopping and surrounded by good restaurants like Le Carlotta this is a great place to stay before catching the morning ferry from Ouistreham. Having an underground car park with lift access to the hotel you can relax in the knowledge that your car and its contents are relatively safe.
Some of the rooms on the front of the hotel can be noisy at certain times of the week and mosquitos can be a problem in the rooms if you open windows at night with the lights switched on in the room.
Breakfast starts at 06.30 and leaves you with plenty of time to get to the ferry port for the morning sailing.
Outside the hotel is a rack of French Boris Bikes and these are ideal for exploring the town.

Room Tip: Reserve well ahead in case tourist buses book most of the rooms. Rooms at the back are quieter. Hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMES L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comments
I will pass them on to our teams.

Best regards.

Jean-Yves GUTH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caen
2 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Very comfortable room and staff extremely helpful even with us only speaking the odd Word of French! Close to a variety of restuarant's and so central we could leave the car in their secure car park. We would certainly recommend this hotel.



  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Marriott2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us.
My team and I greatly value feedback from our guests. We will continue to uphold this standard of customer satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards.

Jean-Yves GUTH
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre
0.5 mi away
Adagio Caen Centre
Adagio Caen Centre
#5 of 41 in Caen
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Caen Centre
0.0 mi away
Ibis Caen Centre
Ibis Caen Centre
#7 of 41 in Caen
535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Moderne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance

Property: Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
Address: 1 rue de Courtonne | BP 3086, 14018 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Caen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Caen
#6 Business Hotel in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Normandy in the city of William the Conqueror: the Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, located in the city center, has 126 luxury rooms, renovated in 2009, including 24 Privilege Rooms and 4 suites, all with air conditioning. Our Atrium and 6458 sq. ft (600 m²) of modular conference rooms can be booked for receptions and seminars. Private paying car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Caen Centre Port De Plaisance Hotel Caen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing