We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent museum - thought provoking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Memorial of Caen

Memorial of Caen
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.73*
and up
Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission with Optional Audio Guide
Ranked #1 of 45 things to do in Caen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From the origins of the Second World War to the fall of the Berlin Wall, the Mémorial de Caen tells you the story of the XXth century.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Pau, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent museum - thought provoking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is my fourth visit since the 1990's, the first time with my wife who doesn't necessarily share my WW2 interest. I found that a number of the spaces had been updated since my last visit and the Cold War exhibits were really interesting. The museum is well laid out with an excellent cafeteria with sandwiches made to order and not overpriced. We spent most of the day here after doing the Arromanches 360 in the morning. The Duo ticket was good value.
On balance - this is one of the best Museums on its subject and pulls no punches when showing one the futility of war and the inhumanity of the Nazi regime. The courage of the men who came to Normandy 70 years ago to end it needs to be remembered for ever!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,605
    665
    205
    54
    32
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“you could easily stay in this museum for a full day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

The Caen memorial museum is a must-see for any travelers interested in world war II. we found the museum to contain an amazing amount of items that we had never seen before. Content soldiers carried onto D-Day beaches in their kits and backpacks, Jewish yellow cloth stars, many films including the bombing of Caen. It was well done and there were places to sit and rest along the way. We spent about four hours at the museum and they also have a nice cafe.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank crowngirl619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Museum and Great Day Tour of the Normandy Sites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Booked the museum's D-Day Tour though a third party which included the train tickets. The musuem staff were there waiting at the Caen train station. We went straight to the museum and got about a 2 hour guided tour then had a great lunch at the museum resturant, which was included as part of the tour. After lunch, we got into the van and headed to Pointe du Hoc. The tour size is limited to 8 people, there were only 4 of us this day. This is one of the reasons I selected this tour. I didn't want to head out here in a large bus. We then visited Omaha Beach and the American Cemetary. After some time at the cemetary we headed to a German gun battery and ended on top of the bluff over looking the Mulberry harbor at Arromarches. It was definitly a lot to see in one day and made for a very long day. I would recommend spending a couple days in the Normady region, but if all you can spare is a day, then this is a very good option. We were able to get in and out of each site easily and the crowds weren't bad. We were talking to our guide and it sounds like the summer months can be pretty bad for crowds. She said sometimes they aren't able to visit each site and spend time at each. We got about 30-40 minutes at each site. So just a heads up, if heading there in the summer months it sounds like you might not be able to see everything that's listed on the tour in the one day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank IMWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great museum and memorial.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is a great memorial and museum. Lots of information and very interesting facts about WWII. Children are not allowed in but they have a day care on site. Excellent.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FourWhitneysOneWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A very moving memorial of WWII”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is a very impressive memorial of the second world war. Access from the motorway and parking are easy and the memorial itself is well laid out. If you are at all interested in WWII, this really is a mandatory visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gpy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memorial of Caen also viewed

 

Been to Memorial of Caen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing