We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sad to say, just OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Memorial of Caen

Memorial of Caen
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.76*
and up
Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission with Optional Audio Guide
Ranked #1 of 45 things to do in Caen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From the origins of the Second World War to the fall of the Berlin Wall, the Mémorial de Caen tells you the story of the XXth century.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Sad to say, just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I really wanted to like this place a lot more. I'm well versed on WWII which is maybe why this museum left me wanting a lot more. There are lots of pictures and writing on the walls as well as old film footage being shown on small screens - very few of which I haven't seen before. I left without learning anything new. The thing that is really missing is that there isn't much "stuff" here.
There are a lot of museums in the area that I liked more such as the Museum of the battle of Normandy in Bayeaux which has a lot of equipment in a hands on atmosphere. If you don't know your history well, you will probably agree with the other 5 star reviews.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hiflya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,605
    665
    205
    54
    32
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This museum is great. It has plenty of information, exhibits, video footage, etc, and is the perfect place to go prior to visiting any of the Normandy WW2 sites. My wife and I spend over 3 hours there, which is pretty good going for us as we usually browse fairly quickly. Would recommend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TonyF1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place, Lots of exhibits”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We're not big history buffs, nor do we like extensive reading at a museum, but we did find it interesting to browse through the extensive museum collection. We'd been on a half-day tour of Omaha beach and some other sites earlier in the day, so it was fun to see some of the details presented in a very modern and friendly format. We were told to allow 3-4 hours, but at our more rapid pace, we were done in about 1.5 hours. If you're in Caen and doing the local WWII sites, this should be on your list.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AaronsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful museum, definitely worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Without question, WW II is a complex historical period to describe that will satisfy all. However if you a novice or a full on history buff, there is,ugh to appreciate at this museum. Being Canadian, we enjoyed it thoroughly and we learned from our experience. It is a lengthy visit to this museum so make sure you plan for at least three house or perhaps more. We found many tourist information location in Caen, and even a hotel we were near had coupons for €2 discounts so look for those. We would go back and next time do a guided tour to the beaches as well because doing them on your own without a good historical perspective misses a. Great deal. We thoroughly enjoyed this museum and recommend it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottyMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
326 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great for the novice, OK for the history buff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I have mixed emotions about the memorial museum. On the one hand, if you're under 50 and/or not a student of WWII, it's very informative. Covers a lot of history with a broad brush, and does so well. Conversely, if you are well-versed in WWII history, as we are, it comes off as a tad thin. I was hoping to learn things I didn't know about WWI, Normandy, etc. and didn't. Apart from film clips (the D-Day movie in particular was quite good), there's very little interactiveness to it, mostly photographs, artifacts and displays. And it's very expensive for what you get. Glad I saw it but wouldn't go back. If you're really a Normandy buff, skip the museum and head straight to the beaches.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jakester88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memorial of Caen also viewed

 

Been to Memorial of Caen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing