We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel & great restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ivan Vautier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ivan Vautier Hotel
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Zedelgem, Belgium
Level Contributor
165 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good hotel & great restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is fine, not a 5 stars hotel but a good 4 stars. Superior room are big and we were lucky to be in back of the road, so no noise from the traffic. Room have nice bathroom, large italian shower, great towel. Room are a bit too dark and the only lamp was broke!!!
Unpleasant is the noise from other room shower and toilet, we could hear noise all night!

We had dinner at the 1 star michelin restaurant which was very very good, if you want to try a gastronomique french dinner this is a place to stop,
We had the degustation menu which is expensive but there is a very good job behind and beautiful choice of ingredients,

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tiger2669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    75
    33
    21
    11
See reviews for
30
134
3
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is supposed to be a 5 star hotel. It is not. I am an American-San Francisco-travel the world extensively. Here were my issues with this "5 star" hotel:
1. We arrived at 4 pm and the front desk person informed us that the restaurant would be closed that night-a problem as that was one reason we were staying at hotel.
2. We were informed there would be no hot water for 11/2 hours. OK. But no hot water ALL NIGHT. And by time we realized that too late to leave. No hot water still the next morning so ice cold shower. The woman at front desk said water heater not working. Really, I rather figured that out. No doubt the restaurant was closed.
3.Bed in the small dark room was atrocious-neither my husband nor I could sleep entire night and I felt bruised in morning.
4. Room was appalling hot-A/C did not work and if one opened the windows the noise from the nearby road was so loud you could not sleep. Though not an issue since we were awake from the rock hard bed.
I have never been so glad to leave a place. The only credit to hotel was after I said we were not staying the second night we had booked the woman at front desk agreed not to charge cancellation fee. I also said I would not pay for a room with no hot water-she agreed but we shall see when I get home and check my bill to see if this hotel took an advance charge. If so they will have to refund it. Seems like hot water is not too much to ask for.
Even if there was hot water I would not stay here as room dark, bad location, hot room, and horrid bed. At best poor.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sftcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This wonderful restaurant, one of only 2 Michelin starred restaurants in Caen, also has a very comfortable hotel attached to it. Needless to say, the restaurant will not disappoint. It was everything I would expect from a restaurant of this caliber.
The hotel was very comfortable and everyone at the property was very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

A rather strange location for a very nice hotel. All very clean and new, thank goodness the double glazing was very effective as the road was busy, but parking good at the rear. We stopped here for a night before catching the early ferry, tempted by the reputation of the restaurant.
Neither hotel nor restaurant disappointed and we had a very pleasant night. Room immaculate, very nice bathroom.
I would not have wanted to rush for the ferry from here at a busy time of day as the traffic can be dreadful (as on our arrival). Good modern hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markfiftyfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This Hotel should be rated 4* it lacks elegance and the staff do not behave as one would expect from a 5* they have only 1 front desk person, we were holding 2 bags each and when he took us to the room he did not even offer to help my wife carry her bags, they really have no clue. The rooms on the road were very noisy but we had a good dinner.

Room Tip: Avoid the road side at all costs, the second floor is under the roof is also not great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DLKLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivanvautier, Propriétaire at Ivan Vautier Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Google Translation
Nous sommes désolé de votre mécontentement
et allons faire le nécessaire afin de comprendre ce qui c'est passé
cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed en route for Brittany and what a find it proved to be. Easy to locate from Peripherique Nord and Sud. More suitable for a single night DBB than a more lengthy stay. In a very ordinary French suburb and definitely not a short walk to Caen Centre but who cares when you have a room and a dinner of the quality we had. Very modern designer style hotel, secure off road parking and friendly staff. Dinner (We ate outdoors on a balmy evening) was glorious. Delicate flavours and beautiful presentation made it a meal to remember. The chocolate and crushed not topping to a small cube of raw tuna was out of this world. It is expensive but You must try it if you get the chance.

Room Tip: Any will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

On arrival we thought we had made a mistake. Could this area of Caen possible have a 5* hotel in it's environs? I wouldn't have thought so. It is about 30 minutes walk from the town centre and the outside appearance was not promising. We drove through the tiniest 'tunnel' to get to the very restricted car park and then struggled with our bags to a side entrance into reception. Eventually a young man appeared and we booked in. He showed us to our (de Luxe) room but no one was available to carry our bags (M is 82 & I am 70). The room was spacious but very stuffy, dark and dingy. There was low chair that turned into a single bed, the 'desk' had a large lamp with a 30w bulb, a tray containing 2 tea bags and 2 coffee pods, kettle etc. with no room for my iPad. (Not that it mattered a great deal as the Wifi was practically non-existent although 24 hour connection was promised). The lighting throughout the hotel, particularly the bedroom and corridor, was totally inadequate. A tiny bedside lamp was insufficient for us to read in bed. The bed was like a rock and the pillows very shabby. The mini bar was not refrigerated and not repaired or replaced during our stay (3 nights), we were unable to retrieve our items from the safe as the mechanism had failed and waited 20 minutes for it to be unlocked! The toiletries were unbelievable cheap and nasty consisting of shampoo, body lotion & a tablet of soap the size of a 50 pence piece. No face flannels or hair conditioner.
Although we met other guests who were Australian and English they expressed surprised that the standard of English spoken was very poor. Both parties complained about the standard and cost of the food - the prices being extortionate and there being no alternative restaurants in the locality.
Just as a final comment my water glass remained on my bedside table for 2 days waiting to be washed - something of course I could easily have done but we paid nearly £200 night +tax without breakfast (an extra $18 euros each) so I did expect a small task like that to be attended to, there is absolutely nothing positive that we can say about the experience!.
We have travelled the world and stayed in many luxury hotels and never ever have we had reason to complain about anything. My advice to anyone wanting to stay in Caen is to avoid Hotel Ivan Vautier like the plague, staying there was truly grim.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel or even better to one of the delightful b&b's that seem to flourish in N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gglightning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caen hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre
1.7 mi away
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
1.6 mi away
Adagio Caen Centre
Adagio Caen Centre
#5 of 41 in Caen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Moderne
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Le Dauphin Le Spa Du Prieure
1.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivan Vautier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivan Vautier Hotel

Property: Ivan Vautier Hotel
Address: 3 avenue Henry Cheron, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ivan Vautier Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandrine and Ivan Vautier are pleased to welcome you into their new design and contemporary universe, wich blends comfortable and modern style. In additionnal of its high standing cuisine, "IVAN VAUTIER" offers now a high quality of accomodation facilities.Located close to down town Caen, this warm and refined new place will make you feel welcome and will exceed your expectation in terms of design and coziness. The hotel "IVAN VAUTIER" features 19 comfortable spacious rooms soberly decorated with elegant and modern furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ivan Vautier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing