We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful place, not to be spoiled!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Francois d'O

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Francois d'O
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, not to be spoiled!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Great place to stay. Simple, but very friendly staff. Good services, wifi. Central in the cute little town, close to nice bars and restaurants. Didn't have any trouble with sounds from the street. No elevator, but aparently the staff is willing to carry your suite cases up.
Breakfast is ok, not spectacular. Good value for it's price!

Room Tip: May be next time I will give you the ultimate advise... ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GasterNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    35
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
33
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Very nice hotel conveniently situated in Caen . The only drawback is that it does not have an elevator. Your luggage is taken upstairs and downstairs for you so actually it is not that bad. They make you feel welcome. Parking is available in the nearby streets and municipal parking lots. We stayed there for three nights and never had a problem . They serve breakfast, but there are other choices, such as a very good boulangerie with fresh bread and coffee in the next street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank margaritairiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We took the overnight Brittany Ferry from Portsmouth to Caen Port, staying 1 night in Caen. I booked this hotel based off the ratings here on TripAdvisor and was really happy that I booked - so I am recommending it to others. We stayed just one night, since we were on our way to Paris but wanted to see the Bayeux Tapestry. The rooms are tidy, decoration is simple yet effective, bathrooms are clean, shower pressure is good (even on the top floor), its just around the corner from a tram stop and walking distance to St Peter's cathedral. It was a little hard to find at first, its down a little side street, but that only took 5-10mins of wandering around the quadrant before it jumped out at us. The staff at reception are pleasant and helpful. Wifi is free, but the signal isn't that strong on the top floor. There aren't any lifts, there's a winding wooden staircase (which is gorgeous and old) if you too gorgeous and old, you might find it a little difficult to get up and down.

A day trip to Bayeux is so easy from Caen: 15min train, €12.80 return, trains every half hour. We spent 6 hours in Bayeux and managed to get around the tapestry museum, have lunch and wander around the streets.

Very happy with Francois d'O, Caen and Bayeux.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank imoan1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
419 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked the suite (excellent value in a 2 star hotel). Had been recently renovated but bed sloped down as a result of the age of the hotel (floors not level). Extra pillows available but had to be asked for. Bathroom modern but awkward to use because of lack of space to put toiletries. Hand basin had no area around it. Unit underneath for toiletries was very low. Would prefer cake of soap rather than sachet of hand wash. Breakfast was very good. Parking awkward - we inadvertently missed the signs that pointed to a market the next day so had to move. Hotel a reasonable walk from other restaurants. Staff very welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ranipuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife, ten-year old son and I stayed here for one night en route from Calais to Brittany. We found the hotel with ease using 'sat nav' and parked on the street just around the corner - the receptionist told us that this would be free of charge because we were in our own UK-registered car and the Caen authorities did not require tourists to pay, but please check that out for yourselves. In my opinion, the location of the hotel - close to plenty of shops and eating places, and to William of Normandy's great castle - was excellent for families with young children.

Our room (actually two linked rooms - nice) was on the third floor. The hotel appeared to have no lift, but the receptionist helped us cheerfully with our luggage. The accommodation was clean, airy and quiet. I would have liked more pillows (the one I had was very thin, and there appeared to be no spares). The biggest disappointment was the en suite shower room. A small pre-fabricated plastic pod, it did the job, but having a shower in it was to me a bit showering in a train toilet. Also, I thought the sachets of soap and shampoo were a bit 'budget'.

The hotel's general appearance had 'period' charm, particularly the timber spiral staircase and garden terrace. Perhaps some of the interiors were a bit plain and would have benefited from a few more pictures.

Breakfast was okay but a bit minimal: no meat, no cheese, no cake, just the basics.

I thought Caen was a lovely city with plenty of shops and restaurants/bistros/brasseries and a nice friendly atmosphere. I'd go back there happily, and would revisit the Francois d'O.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

went with friends to visit Memorial and take a d-day tour. Location was PERFECT, hotel was very quiet. Hotel staff were very friendly and recommended a few restaurants for us. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dougie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Francois d'O while traveling with my parents in France. We were delighted by the three-person room set-up as I got my own room and bathroom, and so did my parents, but the rooms were connected. We had a lovely two nights of quiet peaceful sleep (after the chaos of Paris) and enjoyed the simple-but-delicious breakfast each morning. In addition, Isabelle, the owner, is absolutely wonderful and accommodated our every need and question, particularly with regard to the many sites in the area. The one downfall of this hotel is that the location is a bit hard to find, but as it stands, it is right across the street from William the Conqueror's epic castle. This hotel is an excellent value and gave us everything we needed for our stay in Normandy!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Caen Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astrid
Hotel Astrid
#4 of 41 in Caen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
0.8 mi away
Adagio Caen Centre
Adagio Caen Centre
#5 of 41 in Caen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#9 of 41 in Caen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Francois d'O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francois d'O

Property: Hotel Francois d'O
Address: 4 rue des Cordeliers, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a change of owner, the Hotel was completely restored in June 2012. It is located in a building of the 17th century, in full heart of the historical centre of Caen located at 50 meters of the castle.The hotel is managed in a family way. It has a quiet terrace and each room was personalized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Francois d'O reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing