We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate hotel in good position” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saint-Etienne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Saint-Etienne
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Adequate hotel in good position”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Hotel is in an old building right in the centre of Caen. There is overnight parking nearby but beware of Friday night when this is restricted due to the market.
Reasonable value for a cenrally located hotel.
The hotel has charm and the rooms are comfortable.
The management is helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank douglascoutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    30
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
14
25
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, New Hampsire, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed here three nights with my daughter. Our room was compact, but simple and clean. The staff were terrific. The owner, Olivier, was especially friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. Breakfast was delicious, plentiful, and inexpensive. Location is outstanding, just a short walk to the city center with its many shops and restaurants. The hotel doesn't have its own parking lot, but we had no trouble finding a nearby spot on the street (and on a holiday weekend).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I found this little hotel online. I wanted something close to the Church of St Nicholas that I wanted to photograph. We received a warm and friendly reception by the new owner who had just taken over from the previous owner. The rooms (there were two of us staying in separate rooms) were spotlessly clean, cheerful, thoughtfully decorated and furnished, and comfortable. The wifi worked perfectly. We easily found a charming restaurant nearby featuring Spanish cuisine and had a great meal. The Church of St Steven (St Etienne) is right around the corner and the Church of St. Nicholas is just a few blocks away. The hotel was quiet and secure with adequate overnight parking in the street a few steps away. Breakfast was abundant and included fresh fruit, yogurt, the usual croissant and baguette, plenty of coffee. Couldn't ask for more. I would stay here again and recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Caen to see the great churches...

Room Tip: There are many one way streets in Caen, especially in this neighborhood, so if you are driving, be s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drkiracofe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel is located in a quiet side street in the old part of the city. It is a couple of minutes’ walk from Caen city centre, with all its shops, markets, ancient buildings, tourist attractions and public transport links.

The room rates are inexpensive and the new manager (Olivier Gaument) is very patient, helpful and attentive.

The only downside is that the more recent décor has not held up as well as the older parts of building. However, I am sure that the new proprietor will do his best to remedy this over time. The bedrooms may be a bit small for some tastes (what do you expect for the price!), but the bed linen, towels and bathroom are clean. it is a cheap and cheerful base to explore the city and the area from.

Breakfast is an intimate and rustic affair: fresh bread, croissant and preserves, yoghurt, juice, fruit, served with fresh tea or coffee. At €7, it compares with other hotel breakfasts.
For the more adventurous, there is a patisserie on Place St. Martin (30 seconds’ walk away) and a fabulous and friendly boulangerie / patisserie on Place St. Sauveur (2 minutes’ walk away).

The nearest tram stop to this hotel is ‘Place de la Mare’ – a 7 minute walk along Les Fosses St. Julien from the Hotel. Trams run regularly to / from the railway / bus stations. Local buses and trams are cheap (€1.30 for a single ticket, €3.65 for a 24 hours bus / tram pass and €7.30 for a 72 hours pass – available from machines at bus and tram stops), but bus routes are bewildering!

On a more general note, Caen is more interesting and historic than many of the guidebooks would have you believe - and is less touristy than its neighbour Bayeux (20 minutes away by train). A particular highlight is the Sunday morning market on Place Courtonne.
The only thing to watch out for is that some restaurants, cafes and tourist attractions seem to keep unusual opening hours.

Bus No. BV 19 runs direct to / from the Ferryport at Ouistreham (from both Place Courtonne and the bus station). However, finding up-to-date information about this bus is difficult – contact either the tourist desk at Ouistreham ferryport or the ‘Twisto’ transport office on Rue de Geole (opposite the castle). There is no connecting bus to collect you from the 21:30 ferry arrival and a taxi will cost you €45. Bus BV 01 runs between Caen and Ouistreham, but not via the ferryport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimboJangles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby
Level Contributor
151 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Spending a few days in Caen, this hotel looked an obvious choice for sightseeing. Indeed, the proprietor was welcoming and breakfast was the acceptable French fare (bread rolls, croissants with preserves, coffee, chocolate, etc). However, the room was cold overnight with no apparent means of raising the heat from the radiator in the room. On the plus side, the hotel is located in a quiet area of the town, close to the Abbey des Hommes and other sites. Free parking is available every day (except Friday market days) in the lane parallel to the north side of Fos Saint-Juien.

Room Tip: Make sure the heating is working on cold winter nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Haynest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I'm rating the hotel "average" because of the furnishings in the room but it's actually a rather great bargain. Hotel Saint-Etienne and I got off to a horrible start though. According to the website, check-in was at 16:00. When I arrived at the hotel, a note said it was at 17:00. Ok. So I found street parking nearby and wandered around. I returned a few minutes after 17:00 and no one was there. I rang the buzzer, knocked, and there was no answer. I was able to sneak in after about 15 minutes when another guest walked out.

There was a note on the reception door with a number to call. I called it and the woman was completely surprised that I was wanting to check-in. I had an email confirmation in my briefcase. So she gets there around 17:30 and gives me my key. All the way up to the fourth floor. I opened the door and the room was a disaster. It hadn't been cleaned by the maid. I had to go back down and tell the owner. I was hoping to get another room but she gave me a cold drink and cleaned it herself while I waited in the reception. Somewhat irritated but the free WiFi was fast.

The room is old. It's sort of cool because of the old exposed beams. The ceilings are quite low, however. You will have to duck or you'll thumb your head. The carpet is thin and the furniture is quite old. There's a small TV set but I didn't try it out. I was after electric plugs; there are only 2 in the room. In terms of floorspace, there's plenty of room for your baggage if you can manage to haul it up four flights. The room also had a spacious bathroom with shower, toilet, and sink. The bed came with enough pillows but the mattress was a bit on the firm/cheap side.

What makes this all worth it is the VIEW. Stunning! The abbey is visible from both of the skylights/windows. It's really spectacular at sunset or when the building is illuminated at night. I found this really cool. I felt like I was in my own little penthouse.

All in all, I think was a great bargain and more fun than the sterile chain hotels. It's a bit farther away from the action in the city but it's a quiet street and parking was free. I would stay here again, but make absolutely certain they know you're coming. Colette speaks enough English to get your point across if your French isn't great.

Room Tip: For the rooms with the best views of the nearby medieval abbey, request number 12 or 11. Low ceilin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chambiges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I stayed in the Hotel Saint Etienne for 2 nights, it is well placed within easy reach of everything - though if you are backpacking, beware it is a good half hour walk to the train station. Although you can take the tram, which will take about 5 mins.
My room was a double, ensuite - comfortable and clean but really very dated to the point that it looks grotty, yet it's not. It just needs a spruce up to become quaint. The breakfast is fair, croissant and baguette, with cheese, jams, butter, nutella, fruit, tea or coffee- and is 7euros. Yeah you could probably get cheaper, but sometimes ease is what you want on travels, and its not bad. They could do with taking down the Christmas decorations i noticed still hanging in the breakfat room...

All in all, it is a good little hotel, but if you want or are used to the finer things in life, then don't stay here. If you want a no-fuss, comfortable place to rest, that is clean and very friendly, then yes- Hotel Saint Etienne is a good 'un!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rooberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel L'Univers
Hotel L'Univers
#27 of 41 in Caen
3.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#24 of 41 in Caen
3.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Francois d'O
Hotel Francois d'O
#17 of 41 in Caen
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Courtonne
Hotel Courtonne
#29 of 41 in Caen
3.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel De La Paix
Hotel De La Paix
#16 of 41 in Caen
4.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 41 in Caen
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint-Etienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint-Etienne

Property: Hotel Saint-Etienne
Address: 2 rue de l Academie, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a charming old building, the hotel Saint Etienne is located in the historic center of Caen Saint Etienne is an ideal place to discover Caen and Lower Normandy. It is located respectively 15 km and 35 km from the seaside resorts of Ouistreham, Arromanches and Cabourg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Saint-Etienne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing