We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing in the room, but clean and the staff is great.”
Review of Hotel L'Univers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel L'Univers
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Reviewed February 23, 2011

As in many other cities in France, the service in the hotel makes you forgive them some other things. Nikolas advised us everything we need and even exceeded our expectations in his hospitality and willing to communicate in good English. Seems we had the smallest room (203 if I am not mistaken), but with biggest bathroom (we've rechecked on evacuation plan). Everything was veeery simple, but clean and cosy, the price is fair. The street wasn't too noisy, hence I slept well for 2 nights we spent there, that is very important. WiFi worked well. Breakfast was tasty.

Important for drivers - parking is NOT private and can't be reserved. It is in front of the hotel, but public and between 3 and 10 pm it can be really hard to find a place. But you should just "hunt" it for 5-10 minutes and most probably somebody will leave. There are other parkings in 5 minutes: open near marina and also underground under chateau, but I don't know the price.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khenaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 86 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2010

We were quite satisfied with Hotel L'Univers. Typically small room, of course, but the bathroom was bigger than I expected (still small, but not terribly so), and quite modern and clean. Good friendly and helpful service at the front desk. Excellent location downtown. Recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schnagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

The owner of this hotel is absolutely terrific. He goes out of his way to do anything he can to make your stay a positive experience. He recommends restaurants in the area and the location is centrally located to all attractions. Our only complaint was our room was over a Irish Pub & thus was very noisy until closing. The owner was more than happy to change our room. Also, please be aware that since this hotel is under new ownership, some of the rooms have been refurbished & others have not. Would definitely recommend that you request a refurbished room & one that is not over the "Pub". Also, keep in mind there are 4 floors and no elevator. All in all, we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ikeeandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Our room clearly a recent refurb to a high standard. Hotel recently under new management (excellent English spoken) who are trying very hard. Breakfast is no-frills but perfectly adequate. Free parking overnight in the adjacent town square.
We had a room on the corner of the building which gave a lovely view down the harbourside. But - the hotel is sited over a fairly busy road crossing, so there is some traffic noise unless you keep the windows closed. The higher you go the better, probably. Hence only 3 stars for location.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricouni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

I reserved a couple of months in advance, and although they asked for my credit card number, they advised me that they wouldn't charge a deposit. I just had to pay when I got there, and 57 euro for a room with a queen bed, bathroom with a nice tub and a great view of the port, is a pretty good deal! Plus, you could also get a decent breakfast for 6 euro. You had to ask for it in advance, since it was prepared by the receptionist, who brought along the croissants each morning! The lack of an elevator wasn't a problem, since my room was in the second floor. If you are one of those travelers that spends most of the time outside the hotel, checking out the area, then this hotel is definitely worth it! Among other positive aspects, it's very well located, really close to the shops and the Chateau de Caen.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Great location. We were there a week. No elevator, and we were on the fifth floor at first, but the landlord moved us to 2nd floor. First room had only a plastic curtain between the bedroom and the WC. Our second room had separate shower and toilet - handy. M. Malherbe the landlord did not speak English but was friendly and helpful. Many good places to eat in the area and we walked everywhere. It is clean and very basic. Better for students and young travelers than for older tourists.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2008

The room was in the midst of renovations most of which were done by the time I stayed there. The bathroom was all that was left. The toilet and shower were in separate areas-- good for friends travelling together. The decor was mod. The best part was the amazing view of the port. Imagine sunsets in France looking at a bunch of sailboats over the water. No elevator and the staff does not speak english--thank goodness for fluent friends

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KyRoamer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Courtonne
Hotel Courtonne
#25 of 41 in Caen
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#31 of 41 in Caen
69 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Carline
Hotel Carline
#16 of 41 in Caen
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La consigne
La consigne
#11 of 41 in Caen
93 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Saint-Etienne
Hotel Saint-Etienne
#35 of 41 in Caen
66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Francois d'O
Hotel Francois d'O
#13 of 41 in Caen
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Univers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Univers

Address: 12 quai Vendeuvre, 14000 Caen, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Price Range: $57 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel L'Univers 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel L'Univers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing