We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel de Sainte Croix
Nearby Hotels
Le Lion d'Or(Bayeux)(Great Value!)
$166
$161
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$666
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine(Bayeux)(Great Value!)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Bayeux(Bayeux)(Great Value!)
$210
$204
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$72
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$139
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Campanile De Bayeux(Bayeux)(Great Value!)
$89
$74
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Reine Mathilde(Bayeux)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveler rating
228
33
5
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
33
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb byogurtbreadtwo sinkswonderful gemtall windowsd day beachesother guestsbed and breakfastlarge roomthird floorthree nightswould highly recommend staying herefrench breakfastwonderful roomfarmers markethard boiled eggs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 269 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Hotel Sainte Croix in Bayeux France is a wonderful gem. Four of us stayed there for 6 days while touring lower Normandy. Florence our wonderful hostess made our stay perfect. She is a wonderful baker and her pastries we had for breakfast were Devine. Our rooms were tasteful, quiet and very comfortable. Be advised that the hotel doesn't take credit cards but ATMs are in several convenient locations in Bayeux. We were able to enjoy the Saturday market in the square opposite the hotel. Do not miss the Tapestry or the Cathedral, and for D-Day visitors the D-Day Battle Museum. Bayeux is a very walking friendly town and the people we met were all kind and helpful. For those worried about being treated rudely, I would say honestly that did not happen during our stay. That being said even the locals say that Paris is not the rule but the exception to French hospitality. I would agree.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank DeanC529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stumbled on this place on Tripadvisor. We were happy we did! The B&B is everything you could want for a homebase in Normandy. The proprietor was very friendly and prepared AMAZING homemade breakfasts. The room was quite large, and had a private terrace with a nice view of the garden.

Location is very good, close to many options for dinning and shopping, as well as the abbey.

The only thing to be aware of is that there is limited parking in the center. There is a pay parking lot directly across from the building, but there is a market on one of the mornings. However, there is free parking on a first come first serve basis a couple blocks away and we had no trouble finding a place to park (except for the first night...for some reason it was very busy).

We would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dtravelerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

beautiful traditional small hotel in the centre of Bayeux. We had a large room with view to the market place - great breakfasts and friendly host. HIghly recommended if you like to feel that you are in France and wish to soak up the atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Hotel de Sainte Croix is just what we expected: A charming, well located B&B in Bayeux, a wonderful small city in the heart of Normandy. Although the hotel is an older structure, it is lovingly maintained by Florence, your host and innkeeper. Rooms are large and eclectically decorated with comfortable beds and have large, modern bathrooms. The inn is a comfortable walk from the heart of town, and there are a number of restaurants literally across the square.

Part of the charm is that Florence speaks little English, so that even we Americans are forced to search for French language skills. Having said that, we always communicated well, and Florence gave us ample guidance to restaurants and attractions. As others have mentioned, Florence presents a delightful breakfast of baked goods from her kitchen, and the variety is amazing. In short, this hotel is reasonably priced and an excellent choice for your stay in Normandy.

You're likely to be in Bayeux to visit nearby D-Day sites, but don't miss the local attractions. The cathedral is gorgeous, and the Bayeux Tapestry is a nearly thousand year old pictorial record of the Battle of Hastings in 1066 (!). Amazing...


Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank ThatCrazyGerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were two couples traveling together, and booked 2 rooms for 3 nights at this charming hotel. The location is wonderful - just across from the market square. Florence was warm and welcoming, even though we arrived early. Our rooms were huge, with large bathrooms, and nicely appointed, comfortable and immaculately clean. Breakfast was served in the beautiful dining room, and was a delicious start to each day. Others have commented on the wonderful baked goods served at breakfast, and we concur! Florence was a great resource for sightseeing and shopping in the area, and also recommended great restaurants for dinner. She kindly called to make dinner reservations for us. We could have stayed longer to see all of the interesting sights in the area, and would have loved to stay longer at this hotel. We would highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews