We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Sure To Confirm Your Reservation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de Sainte Croix
Ranked #8 of 32 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Be Sure To Confirm Your Reservation!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was one of six hotels/B&B's that we stayed in while we traveled throughout France. It was the only one that we had a problem with. I knew it wasn't a good sign when Florence(I'm assuming that's who it was)had a surprised look on her face when I told her we were there to check in. Luckily I had a copy of my email reservation verification. She looked that over and became nervous and told me that we could stay for that night but that the second night was booked and she couldn't accommodate us. No explanation,no apology. Because it was late and we were exhausted,we stayed that one night. I must say that I loved this property and the room was lovely. Breakfast in the dining room was wonderful. If our reservation had been honored,I would have rated this property "excellent."

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sappel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    32
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
59
154
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just wanted to write a review as promised to Florence before I left her B&B...I hope she reads this. We stayed at Hotel de Sainte Croix between 19th Sept and 23rd Sept. This B&B is literally 'a home'. We felt comfortable and welcome from the very first moment we arrived here & the breakfasts were always abundant and delicious. They were typical French breakfasts but which I liked alot. Florence was always helpful in every query we had & the spacious rooms were always spotlessly clean.We booked two different rooms and they had different decor & warm colours which I also liked. Anyway our stay in Bayeux was flawless in every sense of the word and Florence & her B&B were really the cherry on the cake- a 'from home to home' experience'. Highly recommended. Thank you Florence !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The proprietor, Florence, is a lovely, gracious, charming hostess. She always had a smile on her face and was most helpful in orienting us to our accommodations and the environs, calling restaurants for reservations, taxis, etc. She served a filling gourmet breakfast on Villeroy and Boch china, beautifully presented. The hotel (really a B & B) is in the center of town, perfectly located for walking to restaurants, shopping, the Tapestry, and the Cathedral. We arrived by train, and that was a bit of a hike--probably over one mile--to the Hotel de Sainte Croix, but manageable. Our room was on the ground floor and was actually the equivalent of an apartment--a bedroom, a large living-dining-bedroom, a small kitchen, and a bathroom. We easily could have stayed here for a week. There are only three guest apartments, so the hotel is anything but crowded, which makes for a quiet, restful stay. The beds were comfortable; there is a TV (which we did not use); and the ceilings are high. The price was right--94 Euros. All in all, a bargain and a great venue for exploring Bayeux and the Normandy area.

Room Tip: No elevator, so choose ground floor if steps present a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CodgersontheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We chose the Hotel because of TripAdvsier reviews. They are spot on. Great location, charming rooms, lovely and very French breakfast. We stayed for 3 nights and breakfast was different every morning. Its so much more interesting staying somewhere with charm than a soulless 5 star hotel with marble bathrooms. Florence was very helpful. And as an aside - I didn't want to go to the tapestry. Thought it'd be dull. While its not mind blowing it totally worth visiting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brissie-based
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Florence is an excellent host and gave us some good tips for visiting the landing beaches. Our room 'Josephine' was huge and a real delight. If you stay on the Friday you will hear the excellent market being set up across the road from about 6.30 onwards, but it's part of the magic. As mentioned by others, breakfast is a great experience, just when we thought we'd finished more food arrived which we just had to try. Also a good location close to the centre for restaurants and the tapestry. We would definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband, daughter and I recently spent two nights in this lovely B&B. Florence is a wonderful and gracious host. She literally stood in the street both upon our arrival and when we departed to help us negotiate traffic and the parking of our rental car on the street in front of her home. When Florence heard that we had a very early morning the day after our arrival, in order to take the shuttle to Mont St. Michel, she insisted on preparing an early breakfast for us before our departure. We stayed in the Victoria room on the 2d floor (2 up from the ground floor), which was large and bright. My husband and I shared a queen-sized bed, and our daughter slept in one of the two twin beds across the room. The bathroom, with a shower and two sinks, is large and airy and, like the bedroom, spotlessly clean. There was a fireplace, antique furniture, small TV, and a window with a flower box looking out onto the lovely turret of the building, and across the Place St. Patrice. There is WiFi in the house, although it only works in the hallways and on the ground floor. It is an easy and interesting walk to the center of town, with a delicious patisserie a short walk away. Bayeux is a terrific base for exploring Normandy. We took the Hotel Churchill shuttle to Mont St. Michel, which makes a fascinating day trip. We also spent a day touring the DDay beaches, which are very close. Bayeux itself, despite its small size, has several worthwhile attractions. Don't miss the 11th century Tapisserie (Tapestry), depicting William the Conquerer's conquest of England -- beautiful, amazing and much more impressive in person than in photos. The Cathedral is also lovely.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoRecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband and I spent three wonderful days at this B&B. Florence is the perfect hostess and very helpful in field trip planning. Her breakfast are truly to look forward to with great anticipation! From Bayeux we set base to do our day trips to the Normandy Invasion sights and St. Michel. Great location. Bayeux is a quaint town! The William the Conquer - Bayeux Tapestry is a must as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,295 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
972 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
693 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Sainte Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Sainte Croix

Property: Hotel de Sainte Croix
Address: 12 rue du Marche | Place Saint-Patrice, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For your holidays or for a week end in Bayeux, open the door of this XVIIIth century private hotel and you will be charmed by this building which brings together the charm of the sophistication of yesterday with today's comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de Sainte Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing