We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but some rooms need an update”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tardif Noble Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 32 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice but some rooms need an update”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I had the same room as the previous reviewer (sandraanstiss), which is the ground floor courtyard double with small shower. I agree with her review, the room, although potentially could be charming, needed a new bed, bedspread, new sitting chairs (stains on the fabric) and some TLC in the bathroom. The rest of the house was lovely, so possibly the other rooms were renovated and updated a bit more. I actually booked this guesthouse out of curiosity from previous negative reviews regarding the owner, who I found very polite and had no problems with. Breakfast was typically French, croissant, fruit, jams, ham, cheese, bread, butter, juice, hard-boiled eggs. I personally enjoyed the location and the property felt very secluded and special with the front courtyard and back garden. If you need luxury, this isn't the place. Charm yes and ask for a room on the 2nd floor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntlSpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    82
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
167
297
48
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Such a shame this hotel is more shabby than chic. I know it's an old period building which the furnishings and decorations reflect but there is no need for grey towels, or a stained bedspread. The smell from the shower and toilet in the morning was quite stomach churning - old building old plumbing maybe?
Breakfast was reasonable and had a good selection though we had better from a 2 star hotel we stayed in in Chinon the night before.
Some Americans we breakfasted with had large rooms upstairs and were perfectly happy with the hotel but unfortunately we didn't have the same experience. The 100 euros we paid for the room and the 20 euros for breakfast was just not worth it.

Room Tip: Don't take the smallest room on the ground floor nearest the front door as it is small and poky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This place is centrally located in a gorgeous town - a great home base for exploring Normandy. The rooms look like something you would find if you were visiting at grandma's. Cozy and doesn't feel generic hotel. Its an easy walk from the train station and you can walk around to all the sites in town. There are lots of options for joining a tour of the D-day beaches/sites so you can definitely manage without a car (although it looked like they had parking if you are driving).

The signage on Rue Nesmond was not very obvious and I got a little lost. The signage by the entrance on Rue Larcher and in the nearby main parking is much more obvious and I am not sure how I walked by it - but I did.

Staff was really helpful and the breakfast will hold you well into the day. I split a day between a trip to Arromanches and the sites in town. The British cemetery in town was very moving and nearby museum had lots of good information. I had a great meal on Rue Cuisiniers at Le Pommier and also at a Crepe place just a few doors down (but don't remember the name).

For rooms - if you need the room really dark to sleep, you might have better luck on the garden-side vs. the courtyard-side (the courtyard is well illuminated and the curtains don't completely block the light). The location is very quiet and peaceful so no worries about street noise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbtravel_boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson,AZ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Quiet and peaceful chateau B&B right in historic district of Bayeux. Literally steps from tapestry, D-day tours, & restaurants. Rooms are clean, exceptionally quiet and a throwback to a bygone era. If you are looking for a modern, "Hilton" experience, this is not for you. Our room opened into the back courtyard, with a small table and chairs right outside the door. Another time of year and we would have spend the evening with a bottle of wine and enjoyed the birds and atmosphere. Each room has a private bath, is individually decorated with period furnishings. The small TV, while appreciated, seems out of place. The rest of the guesthouse is similarly appointed. Breakfast starts at 0730 and runs until 1000. Anthony is everywhere to make sure the experience is pleasant nothing is amiss. Croissants, baguette, quiche, juice, cheese/meat plate, coffee, tea, etc. Take time to enjoy the atmosphere, you won't be disappointed. Cannot say enough good things! Also, free wifi for guests.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gbennett4142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We Stayed 4 nights in mid August and we really enjoyed our stay. Arrived by train and walked the short distance to the beautiful Tardif. Our Classic room was perfect for our needs and nothing was too much for Anthony when we had any requests...travel plug, iron etc were all brought to our room with a smile.
Breakfast was very nice with good quality fare on offer. Anthony was very obliging and was happy to set a table for us in the garden to enjoy breakfast in the morning sun listening to the birds.

Bayeux was beautiful and I can't speak highly enough of the entire town and everyone we met. This is a really special place and we loved it. When we checked out we walked back to the train station and were surprised and delighted to see Anthony come rushing into the waiting room. He presented me with my jacket which I had left behind in my room..!!! What a great host,to go the extra mile (literally..!) for his guests.
Some day we will go back to Bayeux and it will be the Tardif for us..!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FeelinIrieAkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We've stayed at Hotel Tardif both times we were in Normandy in 2008 and 2012. Anthony is an excellent host, the rooms are comfortable and stylish and the breakfast is fantastic (home made). We have stayed in 2 of his 'family' rooms, and both were spacious, well appointed and clean.

BTW, this is actually a very late review, travel date was June 2012 - very busy saving for the next holiday!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family_Adventurers_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a gorgeous property! The old house is inside a walled courtyard with a lovely garden and a few discreet places for people to park (that is, with your car hidden among the trees). The house itself is stunning, with a large salon where breakfast is served and a sweeping spiral staircase. Our room was furnished beautifully but simply with antiques--but the mattresses are new and comfortable, the bathroom offering all amenities (two sinks and a hair-dryer, for instance), the rose in the bud vase a lovely touch. Breakfast is included, and was beautifully presented on china you might imagine had been in the family for years.

Other reviewers have mentioned the ideal location: two minutes from the Bayeux tapestry, two minutes from the cathedral, two minutes from one of the popular pick-up locations for guided van tours of the D-Day beaches.

We plan to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sithenthesege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
947 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
674 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tardif Noble Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tardif Noble Guesthouse

Property: Hotel Tardif Noble Guesthouse
Address: 16 rue de Nesmond | 57 rue Larcher, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Tardif Noble Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noble property of the 18th century right in the heart of Bayeux, 15 minutes from D-Day beaches. Hotel Tardif was successively the residence of a royal botanist from Versailles and the Army Minister of Napoleon. Private car park, park, terrace. Peaceful and comfortable. Period furnishing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Tardif Noble Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing