We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty & Smelly. Beware!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Aggarthi B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Aggarthi B&B
Ranked #15 of 30 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Dirty & Smelly. Beware!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Location was the only positive!! Guest quarters came equipped with clean sheets and comfy bed along with hair in shower, crumbs on floor and trash in can from previous guest. Interior was ghastly scented with kitty cat urine and exterior courtyard was disgustingly scattered with animal feces. 6 cats currently reside here! Owner was initially engaging with pre-planning emails and directions to tourist sights. Her pleasant attitude quickly changed when there was confusion and misunderstanding about cash payment. The internet company (Expedia) where the room was reserved made no mention about cash payment to the owner. Our confirmation indicated the room was paid on our credit card at time of reservation. My mistake for not checking with credit card prior to travel. But, rather than a simple explanation and clarification, the owner flipped out. She lashed out yelling at us, calling us names, accusing us of trying to cheat her. It was unbelievable how she switched. She mentioned "It's always the Americans"!! So, obviously this has been an issue for other guests. Breakfast was okay, but not worth everything else we dealt with. So many nice places at similar price in Bayeux. Do yourself a favor, choose another hotel or B & B. I'd never stay here again and definately would not recommend this kitty cat hotel operated by a lunatic lady.

Room Tip: Spiral staircase to upper level rooms difficult to climb with luggage. One room on street level wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Regina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    38
    10
    6
    13
See reviews for
22
71
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

My housemate and I stayed here in early October, and found the location ideal for walking around Bayeux and seeing all the attractions - D-Day museum, cathedral and tapestry museum.

Owner was helpful - provided maps, suggestions for places to eat and additional things to see.

Found the price a bit more than we paid for similar B&Bs in the Loire, but then it is definitely a tourist town. We had a large twin room and huge bathroom, so space wise it was perfect for two people and lots of luggage. We also had a car, and off street parking was available at no extra charge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here one night on our visit to Normandy. The location is perfect. It's right around the corner from the Tapestry museum and easy driving distance from the Normandy beaches. Our room was up a winding staircase in the back. It had a very strong musty smell. By the time I went down to try and change my room there was no one in the office to help me. The bathroom was newly updated but the shower had the previous peoples hair all over the wall. There was no soap for the shower and no place to put the soap.
The owner and her children run the place. She is very friendly and was very helpful with emails before we even got there. I think this place needs some extensive work before I could recommend it

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have read through numerous tripadvisor reviews of this place, and opinion is quite polarised. That's not surprising, because the place is indeed quirky, and the proprietor, Myriam, is shall we say, a character. While I found all the reviews I read quite believable, our own experience (myself and wife, both 70, plus 13 year-old grand-daughter) was at the positive end of the spectrum, both with the property and Myriam. I note that there are appreciably more ratings of 4 and 5 than of 1, but the number of 1's is sufficient to indicate that there can indeed be problems here. But, heck, we really enjoyed its quirkiness, and we found Myriam to be delightful and helpful, so I can only call it as we found it.
All the other reviewers' comments about the tight parking, the winding staircase, the awkward key, the pets, the excellent location, the good breakfasts and Myriam's excellent directions to tourist highlights of the area are quite accurate. We also found Myriam's 3 adult children to be very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardO11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayeux
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Very friendly and helpful host. Good, clean accommodation in central location.
Ideal as a base to see Normandy whilst within short walk of Bayeux' attractions and restaurants. Secure off road parking available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This place is a "work in progress". We stayed here for five nights, and our mood varied between "very comfortable" and "camping out". Our double room on the top floor was quite large - a good-sized armoire, enough floor space and a large bathroom. (A tight winding staircase up two flights; no elevator.) During our first night a street lamp illuminated our room very brightly; we requested (and they installed) a set of drapes that solved the problem. This is just a quirky place. The door lock uses a skeleton key that is difficult to operate. Parking your car requires opening a tall gate (that is just wide enough for a car, not a big car), stationing one person to stop traffic on the narrow street, and backing the car into a courtyard big enough for two cars.
The hostess, Miriam, is an enthusiastic, helpful person, ready to provide local lore, touring and dining advice, and directions. She and her daughter and two sons want to make your visit enjoyable.
The Villa is very conveniently located: near the Tapestry, the Cathedral, and the main shopping and dining area - all within easy walking distance. Bayeux was not
damaged during WWII, so it retains an almost medieval character. It has a lot of narrow streets that are one-way or should be.
Villa Aggarthi has some rough edges, but its location, price and the spirited hostess, Miriam, make it worth the consideration of the less-tender traveller.
Note: Payment in full in euros is required upon check-in.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Absolutely stupid !!!! Overpriced !!! Cement mixer in garden !!! Faulty towers !!!
This was a romantic break which turned out to be hilarious very expensive for what you get stale coffee in a jar !! Dirty cups !!! Dried milk in jar which sledgehammer would have had difficulty dislodging !!! Breakfast crap French bread mouldy preserves !! Look warm pot coffee !!! Which was brought to our room as we lay in bed in three shifts first table delivered and awkwardly assembled by owners son !! Then two stages of breakfast bread etc second delivery up the very narrow staircase which incidentally my partner caught his jumper on way in (ruined) third trip pot coffee and hot chic both look warm !!! No beautiful hot creeps like some reviews said day two yippee !!! Pancakes yuck from local store not remotely fresh !!! Ceiling in room had strange piece plywood where from damp marks obviously hiding leaking roof with some strange stuff (apparently ornamental) hanging baskets and rat catcher !!! On the up note linen clean and lots hot water !!
Also car parking very tight and if more than one car residing can wait quite while for other residents to move to let you out alternative leave your keys !!! Seriously would not recommend in any way when there are so many beautiful place all around ps the crazy lady took great time to show us the view of garden across road as they had a beautiful cherry tree which had been removed Why ? Still not sure ? Basically construction site and not very tidy one when finished guess !! Would be quite pleasant !!!

Room Tip: Don't bother !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KimRebeccaAbbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Saint-Patrice
Le Saint-Patrice
#13 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Aggarthi B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Aggarthi B&B

Property: Villa Aggarthi B&B
Address: 13 rue Saint Exupere, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Aggarthi B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Villa Aggarthi B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Aggarthi Hotel Bayeux
Villa Aggarthi Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing