We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Awesome Authentic Normandy Experience”
Review of Villa Aggarthi B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Aggarthi B&B
Ranked #16 of 31 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We spent a week with Myriam and her family. We stayed with her as we wanted to experience the culture of the region. Myriam and her son picked us up at the train station which was a pleasant surprise. Each morning Myriam would spend time with us outlining what sights we should visit and how we could plan our day. We appreciated her interest in maximizing our experience. Bayeaux is a wonderful medieval town and it is fitting that we could stay in a home that matched the area. Our room was very clean and quiet. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Myriam and her family and would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone who desires to experience a different culture. At breakfast, it was always a pleasure to meet other travelers from around the world!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pookie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 118 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

We spent two nights using Bayeux as a base to explore Normandy. We found Aggarithi a quaint and quiet place to relax after long days. Myriam and her sons were extremely accommodating and helpful. We enjoyed our breakfast in the little garden and relaxing with other guests Myriam introduced us to in the evenings. Myriam spent almost an hour with us explaining how to get to all the sights of the Normandy beaches. Her detailed instructions on parking and the museums themselves helped us maximize our time. We could not have seen as much as we did with our limited time without her help. We will stay there if we return to Bayeux.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AUTiger70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights while we was touring around France. we was made to feel very welcome after we had riden over 300 miles. There is a court yard for parking so our bike was safe and secure. we had the smallest room in the hotel but seems as we was only sleeping in the room and was out all the time this was not a problem. the bathroom was big enough. our room looked over the street and even though we had the window open all night we didnt hear any noise. Myriam the owner was full of usefull information and even high lighted a map for us with great places to visit. She has got a great sense of humour when she tells you the rules of the house and some people may have taken this the wrong way reading other reviews on here. I thought she was an amazing lady and really funny. there is a kitchen you can use to make drinks and snacks and having a fridge was great. She does have 3 dogs but they are very friendly. The cats she has loved to sit on the bike and on our 2nd night the cats had a choice of 3 bikes to sit on. my partner has a allergy to cats but as they was no where near the bedroom this wasn't a problem. The breakfast was basic but thats like most places in France. Bayeux is a great place to visit and thanks to Myriam we was able to see loads of great places. We had a great time here and would stay here again.

Room Tip: The sap room is the smallest room in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneRuncorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

This is a secondary old home next to the one the owner and her family live in. Both are in serious need of help. Unfortunately I do not think the owner, Myriam has any interest in anything resembling minor or major upkeep of this shabby property. She seems only interested in two things. First collecting as much money as she can from this old run down home. The other is making it crystal clear to all guests that she makes the rules. My way or the highway. She must be an embarrassment to the beautiful city of Bayeux and should not be recommended by Tripadvisor. There are several good choices for lodging in Bayeux, this one should be avoided at all costs. I would sleep in my car before staying here ever again.

Room Tip: Read the reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichardThomas1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Madame Myriam, the proprietress, responded promptly and in English to my email inquiry about the availability and prices of the rooms in her B&B. However, she required a deposit that had to be paid either in travelers’ checks in euros, or with an international money order in euros, or by Iban transfer. Fortunately, I was near someplace that sells euro travelers checks, but buying those and sending them was an inconvenience.
Madame Myriam was very kind and obliging in terms of sending me information about her B&B and the city of Bayeux and its environs. She also spontaneously came to the train station to pick us up, even though her B&B is only about a 10 to 15-min. walk from the station.
The B&B is located very near the Tapestry building and within a 10-minute walk to the pickup spot for the D-Day tours as well as the city center. It is also only about 10 minutes from the cathedral. One morning we did a leisurely walk from the hotel to the train station to the cathedral and back, viewing many beautiful sights along the way.
The room, which was off the common room on the ground floor, contained two arm chairs and a little table in addition to the double bed. The bathroom was good sized and had a grab bar next to the toilet and a shower, which was better for us (“mature folk”) than a tub. Our only complaint about the room was that the heat did not work, even after we had complained about the cold.
A courtyard (with room for parking) separates the sleeping room from the proprietress’ house and the breakfast room. Dogs, cats, and rabbits inhabit the courtyard.
Breakfast was simple, unchanging over the 3 days we were there, and rather sparse - cold crepes, cheese, one pastry, and your choice of cold or hot drink.
Madame Myriam was solicitous of our well-being, sometimes to the point of being overly-so. Both she and her son, who helps run the place, were very accommodating.
Overall, I would recommend the Aggarthi, especially for the price and the location.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palehose18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Great stay. A bit hard to find but don’t let it put you off. Just keep driving around the narrow streets and look for the small sign on the wall.
Miriam is a blessing. Listen and she will organize all you site seeing with directions, maps and highlighters.
Good breakfast.
Be nice to the cats, dogs and rabbits who are all very well behaved
Rooms excellent. Garden delightful to sit in after a big day at the beaches (or wherever)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamawaySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We took the advice of prior Trip Adviser guests but were sadly disappointed. The place is "in need of" and "in the middle of" major repair/upgrades. A mother and two spoiled boys run the operation if you want to call it that. Probably the worst place we stayed in France over 16 days. Worth about 25 Euros at most.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
734 reviews
1 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 21 in Bayeux
611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Campanile De Bayeux
Campanile De Bayeux
#9 of 21 in Bayeux
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Aggarthi B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Aggarthi B&B

Address: 13 rue Saint Exupere, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux
Price Range: $83 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Aggarthi B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Aggarthi B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Aggarthi Hotel Bayeux
Villa Aggarthi Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing