We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, clean and very friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Bayeux

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Bayeux
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean and very friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

My wife and I were traveling in France in the summer of 2009 and I really wanted to see the Normandy sites. We found this hotel online and booked it. We had just stayed in Paris at a hotel that was really small and space was at a premium. The room that we had was very spacious compared to what we had in Paris. We had a nice view out our window and the room was well furnished. We arrived in Bayeux by train and forgot to arrange for a taxi so we had a very long walk to get there. The night we arrived the woman who runs the hotel turned us on to this great local restaurant for dinner. We enjoyed the breakfast the next morning before our tour and were warmly welcomed when we returned. Thankfully we were a short walk away to the tour pickup point. On the day we left the woman who ran the hotel lined up a taxi to take us to the train and helped us load up and stopped traffic for us to leave. It was a very good experience for my wife and I.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CycloneIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    416
    138
    38
    14
See reviews for
385
442
69
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

This hotel is located on a quiet side street in Bayeux, not far from the beautiful cathedral. There was one front desk clerk who spoke excellent English, although all were very nice and willing to help. The hotel had no AC, but it was cool in the evening and we were comfy with the large window open. There was nothing fancy here, but it was a great starting point for our day-long tour of the D-Day beaches. *** Check out Overlord Tours....absolutely the best!

If you're looking for a nice 2 star hotel for a couple of nights, this is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasYorkielover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

Hotel Le Bayeux has a nice location near the cathedral, Tapistry Museum, and restaurants. We were directed to a free parking lot a half a block away. The rooms are just average at best. Madame will quickly force breakfast upon you at check-in, firmly decline if you do not want it. This is the only hotel that left a red rash on exposed skin after a nights sleep (from sheets?). Free Wifi, but everything else is extra cost. Not a satisfying stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravensburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette IN
Level Contributor
324 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

The best aspect of this hotel was the location. It was walking distance to the train station (and the route is marked by a sign as you leave the station), it was close to wonderful restaurants such as Le Pommier and Le P'tit Resto which are by the cathedral entrance, it is also close to the cathedral, the tapestry, and Place de Quebec where Battlebus and Overlord tours meet.

The hotel was clean and quiet with good water pressure and hot water. The room also had several outlets for charging.

On the negative side, the wifi was very slow and not terribly reliable. The router was in the lobby and we were in the first room off the lobby and we couldn't get a wireless signal in our room. They did have a small computer with internet access off the lobby.

The other negative was that our room smelled musty. It was on the ground floor with indoor/outdoor carpeting and it felt like sleeping in someone's basement.

The breakfast was 7.50 Euro per person per morning and it was very basic for the price....coffee, tea, juice, croissants, bread, yogurt, cheese, cookies, and cold cereal. For an extra 3 Euros they would cook 2 eggs for you. The breakfast room was very pleasant though.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Qc
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

Location of this hotel could not be better. Really easy to get to with the car and easy to walk to anywhere in Bayeux. Parking was not too hard with a small 6 car parking accross the street which was free.

The rooms are really nothign special. What you expect to find in an older French hotel. But the room and bathroom were really clean and I think the shower was fairly new. The bed was really not comfortable and hurt both of our backs.

Everyone was really nice at the hotel and willing to help. We got a great price on the room so we were happy with our stay, had we payed full price we may not have been as happy.

One plus is that they had a computer with internet access available in the lobby in a tiny closed room and wi-fi for free throughout the building.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BandE2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord
Level Contributor
313 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

Stayed here (two couples) with plans to see the Tapestry; visit Normandy; and, conclude with a train trip to Paris. Bayeux is perfect for all these options, and this property is a good ( clean and economical) choice for location in town.

Breakfast was fresh and tasty. Restaurant suggestions were on target. And, we walked everywhere in town!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saolsen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

This hotel is notable for its location: steps from the church, the tapestry, the main road which is lined with shops, restaurants, a grocery, etc The pickup Square for the tours is only 3 minutes walk away.. If you don't want to pay the 10Euro for parking (which is tight, back-in parallel parking), there is an ample parking lots right down the hill, only steps from the hotel. Wish we had noted it BEFORE we paid for the three nights of parking! The owner did not appear to speak much English, nor understand our poor French, but she was a lovely woman who seems to run a very "tight ship". The young lad who checked us in was very organized, helpful, presented the bill, changed it when we told him we didn't care to have the breakfast, and it was the rate quoted on the internet. The room was very clean, with both a double bed and a twin, with new sheets and coverlet. The shower was AWESOME, with a rainforest type showerhead, new tiling, plenty of towels, and very clean. Many outlets for rechargin phones, Ipods, etc. We enjoyed being able to open the windows to a grassy, quiet area--in fact, we slept with the windows open,just closed over the shutters a little, the weather was so fantastic. There was a flat screen TV and a CD player. As well, there was a large amoire with shelves, so plenty of room to unpack. As well, there was a type of room service menu, but we did not utilize it. No minibar in the room, but snacks and beverages for sale in the lobby. We just stocked up at the nearby grocery. As a side note, we took the BattleBus tour, and found it to be a superbly run operation, and fairly priced. Every restaurant we tried was excellent, in fact, some of the dining was better than what we experienced in Paris! We also took the walk along the river and found it to be very relaxing after 7 days in Paris. We would stay at this hotel again if we return to Bayeux. No complaints, all compliments.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IntrepidTraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bayeux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bayeux

Property: Hotel Le Bayeux
Address: 9 rue Tardif, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bayeux 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Bayeux is located on a quiet street in the historic centre of Bayeux, opposite the Baron Gerard Museum. It offers free Wi-Fi access and a warm welcome.Rooms are comfortable, non-smoking and equipped with flat-screen satellite TV and en suite facilities. There are also family rooms which can accommodate 4 to 6 guests.The Cathedral, Tapestry Museum, Place du Quebec, Place Charles De Gaulle and many shops and restaurants are less than a 5 minute walk away.Hotel Le Bayeux is located between Paris and Cherbourg, Ouistreham and Caen. Bayeux is ideal for discovering Normandy – Deauville, Honfleur and the breathtaking Mont Saint Michel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Bayeux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing