We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice. Good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Bayeux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Bayeux to your Saves list
Hotel Le Bayeux
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9, Rue Tardif, 14400, Bayeux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Spring, Texas
1 review
“Very nice. Good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights in October, 2012. The staff was helpful and friendly. It is in a good location, walking distance from restaurants and shops in the town. Very quiet. A good hotel to base out of and visit Normandy. No complaints.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    342
    110
    37
    12
See reviews for
310
366
59
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in October, 2012. The hotel was simple, clean and comfortable. The large, stuffed tiger on the bed was a treat! Breakfast was varied and plentiful. We stayed here due to proximity to the Bayeux Tapestry and Cathedral, both within easy walking distance. We would stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Compay1399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at this wonderful hotel for two nights, for day trips to Mont-Sainte-Michel and the Normandy beaches. The location is excellent for both plus it is also great for seeing the charming town and its cathedral, which should not be missed. The hotel was well kept, up to date and clean as a whistle. There is a desktop PC for guest use. Some of the staff speak perfect English. The entire staff was extremely helpful and friendly. There is hotel parking, but the parking on the street/sidewalk is free. They have a refrigerator in the lobby with lots of goodies, from soda to champagne, that is 24/7 because it is an honor system, unheard of in this day and age. There is a ceramic piggy bank inside where you leave your money (so cute). The lobby is large, with a sitting area to watch free WWII movies or read the shelves of books their for guest use. Very nice set up. There are interesting wall photos all over the hotel of the WWII invasion. Their hot English breakfast is delicious, and served in a charming room upstairs. It was the best one of our trip, worth every euro we paid. Highly recommended. Our room was clean, neat, and about average size. The bathroom was split; toilet by itself and the sink and large shower together, an arrangement we prefer. Nothing fancy, just well done and maintained. Overall, a perfect stay. Don't miss walking in town to see the old mill stream, the cathedral and the Roman ruins.

Room Tip: No rooms face the street, so they all should be quite. The rooms upstairs have lower ceilings becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orangeroof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Le Bayeux for 2 nights during a trip through Normandy. It was a perfect base for the Normandy WWII sights. The room was large, bed was comfortable. Shower was tiny in our room, even though the bathroom was quite large. The staff was wonderful. There are WWII movies to rent and several books to borrow. There is an honor system small fridge in the lobby with drinks. The location is close to the city attractions - yet super easy to jump on the road and explore the nearby sights. Would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is excellent because of their staff - they helped with everything, including calling a cab for us the morning we left & giving us helpful ideas of times to leave in order to cope with train strike happening in France. The staff had excellent ideas of places to eat, things to do & places to see. Bayeux is a beautiful, historical place to visit and we highly recommend this small hotel for your stay!!

Room Tip: Their breakfast is outstanding with selections of eggs, bacon, juice, fruit, different kinds of brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank creeksidebandbne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had selected this hotel for a trip I took to visit he Normandy sites. This was not only a perfect location, the room exceeded my expectations, and thd staff did as well. I had a wonderful stay there, the breakfast was well worth it and I would definitely stay there again if I ever came back to this location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwgtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was great, parking is available on the street, breakfast was ok, and in general everything was clean and nice. The hotel was great for the kids however... They put a giant plush animal in the room and the kids played with it nonstop. The room also had a bunk bed which was very cool. The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating, and also very friendly to English speakers. Recommended!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 23 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 23 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 stars 816 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 23 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Bayeux
Ibis Budget Bayeux
#7 of 23 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 stars 559 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 23 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 stars 1,137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 23 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bayeux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bayeux

Property: Hotel Le Bayeux
Address: 9, Rue Tardif, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bayeux 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Bayeux is located on a quiet street in the historic centre of Bayeux, opposite the Baron Gerard Museum. It offers free Wi-Fi access and a warm welcome.Rooms are comfortable, non-smoking and equipped with flat-screen satellite TV and en suite facilities. There are also family rooms which can accommodate 4 to 6 guests.The Cathedral, Tapestry Museum, Place du Quebec, Place Charles De Gaulle and many shops and restaurants are less than a 5 minute walk away.Hotel Le Bayeux is located between Paris and Cherbourg, Ouistreham and Caen. Bayeux is ideal for discovering Normandy – Deauville, Honfleur and the breathtaking Mont Saint Michel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Le Bayeux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing