We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Le Bayeux”
Review of Hotel Le Bayeux

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Bayeux
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Le Bayeux”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Wonderful place to stay while you tour the Normandy Beaches, Mont St Michel and, of course, the famous Bayeux Tapestry. Very friendly staff -- even drove us to the train station!
Very clean, rooms are small, if you are a family of 4, like us, book 2 rooms-- terrific full
breakfast. What I really liked was that had cold drinks available 24 hours on the honor system.
Open the cooler, select your beverage and put 2 euros in the piggy bank!
--- When I find myself in that part of the world again, I will definitely book here !!!!!

Room Tip: If more than 2 people (other than small children) it is worth it to book a second room. We did and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    448
    149
    40
    15
See reviews for
439
473
80
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had a hard time finding a hotel in Bayeaux since we were out in last second and everything was very expensive or fully booked. At last we found Hotel le Bayeux, it was a good deal in an otherwise expensive city, it was close to everything, the church, the tapestry and nice restaurants. The staff was very helpful, and showed us where to find good food etc.
Not the most charming room, the smell was not so nice but clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtrotter1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bochum, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Very friendly staff, awesome location! Good clean rooms, did not have breakfast in the hotel, would recommend to book inclusive of breakfast as a bit hard to find a place that opens for breakfast :-). Parking a little challenge but not too bad. great position for exploring the region, i.e. D-day beaches etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We arrived in Bayeux on a Friday evening without a reservation. It just happened to be the weekend of their medieval festival. We were given the last room - in their Annex across the street - it was a very nice room. The staff was very helpful in giving us hints on what to see in Bayeux in the limited time we had available. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksbyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonmel, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had just arrived in France and had booked in advance. This hotel was a small, family run affair, very cloes to teh centre of "old" Bayeux. There was nearby free parking, nice bars and restaurants and everything within walking distance. The hotel was clean and quiet, and breakfast was plentiful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank secondrowgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2012

On arrival the parking situation looked to be a problem but was quickly solved by the very accommodating staff. The room was modest but the tariff was appropriate. The reception staff were always helpful and all spoke English. The location was superb and within easy walking distance of the main attractions. The only area for improvement would be the breakfast arrangements as the buffet was in a cramped area which caused some difficulty. Overall we would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith4512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This isn't the most spacious of hotels - the room was a little cramped with bunk beds in addition to the double bed. The washbasin in the shower room smelled a bit of drains and it could all have done with a bit of a refresh decor wise. Those are the negatives. On the positive side the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, there were plentiful clean towels in the bathroom and tea and coffee making facilities in the small lounge to help yourself on an honour system. Breakfast was very reasonably priced and the bacon quite delicious as were the camembert wedges. Overall my husband was very pleased with the accommodation - I felt it was a little overpriced at 130 euros but Bayeux is extremely popular and the location was very convenient. I would highly recommend it particularly for non-French speakers because the staff go out of their way repeatedly to offer help and advice to ensure people have a good time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
685 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 21 in Bayeux
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bayeux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bayeux

Property: Hotel Le Bayeux
Address: 9 rue Tardif, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bayeux 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Bayeux is located on a quiet street in the historic centre of Bayeux, opposite the Baron Gerard Museum. It offers free Wi-Fi access and a warm welcome.Rooms are comfortable, non-smoking and equipped with flat-screen satellite TV and en suite facilities. There are also family rooms which can accommodate 4 to 6 guests.The Cathedral, Tapestry Museum, Place du Quebec, Place Charles De Gaulle and many shops and restaurants are less than a 5 minute walk away.Hotel Le Bayeux is located between Paris and Cherbourg, Ouistreham and Caen. Bayeux is ideal for discovering Normandy – Deauville, Honfleur and the breathtaking Mont Saint Michel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Le Bayeux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing