We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Le Bayeux”
Review of Hotel Le Bayeux

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Bayeux
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Le Bayeux”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Le Bayeux. It is centrally located within easy walking distance to the cathedral, Bayeux Tapestry, and shopping. We stayed in a family room with a bunk bed and a king size bed. A partican wall separated the two sleeping areas. The price was a bit high for the room but it is very difficult to find a hotel where a family of 4 can share one room.

The parking was very tight with only 6 parallel spaces. We paid 10 Euros per day to park in the hotel car park. The manager suggested free parking on the street. We were hesitant to park on the street because it was a bit tight. However, if you go up the street less than a block there is a free car park. In hind sight we should have used that car park.

In regard to the room itself it was clean and modernish. The toilet area was located separate from the shower area which can be nice but in this case you had to leave the room with the toilet and walk through the bedroom to the shower room to wash your hands. The shower had good water pressure and plenty of hot water but the shower head holder appeared to be installed upside down consequently instead of the shower gently sending water onto your head it shot water across the shower. European plumbing is always an adventure:)

Overall, it was a nice experience. The staff was friendly and helpful and spoke English which was wonderful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frommkma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    450
    149
    40
    15
See reviews for
443
473
80
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The staff at Hotel le Bayeux are very helpful and kind, and made sure my son and I were able to get in even though our train from Paris was delayed until midnight. Breakfast was very good, and the location of the hotel is excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkarp65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I would have given this hotel 2 stars: it's old, not that clean, the breakfast area is small and smells a little and the general condition and decor is poor. However they just try so hard. Friendly staff at reception, lots of information about the area in the room which included laminated maps of the d-day landing beaches. It just made me feel good about the people who ran it that I didn't want to give it 2 stars.

However, at nearly 100 euros a night I have had far better value in Normandy. Best stay outside the towns in the countryside and get better value. So unfortunately I would only recommend if you really want to stay in Bayeux, which is a nice little town. When you are just passing, book a place in the countryside.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chilipalmer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Wasn't too sure what to expect after reading some of the reviews but when we arrived we were very surprised as it is in an excellent location for train station, cathedral, tapestry, museum and restaurants, the english speaking receptionist was very friendly and knowledgeable and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. I couldn't fault the breakfast it had everything that you would want if maybe a bit pricey.Would be more than happy to come back to this hotel again its delightful and the staff deserve a pat on the back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crusoe78_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Hotel le Bayeaux was a surprise! The people are amazing! So helpful and generous and knowledgeable. They speak English very well. We arrived during the Medieval festival and it was delightful! The hotel is clean and comfortable and is close to the train station( we took a cab from the train to the hotel but walked back to the train-it is that close!) We were able to walk to the Cathedral, the tapestry museum and throughout the lovely town. The desk clerk helped us get a rental car to drive to the WWII sites we planned to visit. The hotel provides wifi which worked very well. The breakfast was good. It is a combination of the people who work at the hotel and the location that make this a truly good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosemaryYonkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My parents along with my family of 5, so 7 people total stayed in two rooms at this hotel over three nights. Overall it was a very pleasant stay. The hotel could not be better located. Truly the best location in Bayeux. A stone's throw from the cathedral, the tapestry and all the charming streets and great restaurants. We booked one double room and one family room, room with large king sized bed and three twins, two were bunk-bed style. The double room my parents stayed in was rather unremarkable (room 26). It was fine, but nothing special and overall the general decor and finishings were not as nice as our family size room. My parents complained that the shower water temperature was very erratic and it was hard to get a good shower without constant flashes of too hot water or too cold water no matter where they set the knob. Our family room that slept five was overall much nicer. It was not only bigger, but nicer furnishings, decor and finish (i.e. they had some strange carpet flooring, and we had nice hardwood/laminate). The set-up was perfect for a family of 5, with the wall separating the king bed (really two twins pushed together, but it was great) and the three single beds. The bathroom configuration was also great, a nice large shower room with a sink, and then a separate toilet room. There was a great flat screen TV and they had a few nice movies in the lobby to rent (kind of annoyed they charged €5 for the movie "rental," though). So the room was pretty great, very comfortable and spacious. The only problem with this particular room (room 22) is that it shares a wall with the breakfast area. So the headboard of the king bed is just on the other side of the breakfast bar. Without fail each morning at about 6:00/6:30 I could here clanking and other taps through the wall as they set up breakfast. I didn't love that and while my husband slept right through it, I could not. So if they had this same room in another location in the hotel, I'd be all over it and stay there again, but if this were the only room of this type in the hotel and I were at all a light sleeper, I'd pass. Otherwise this was the perfect room for a family of 5. Parking here is very limited, but they do make a real effort to accommodate all guest vehicles. Parking is €10 a day, which I thought was kind of expensive. Breakfast is €9,50 per day. It's nice with great huge croissants, bread, cheese, juices, yogurts and eggs. I don't' think we would have done the breakfast at €9,50 per person per day except that they didn't charge for the children, so since they only charged for me and my husband it ended up being €19 for 5 people per day, which is a good price. The absolute best part of this hotel is the staff. The three front deskers that we came in contact with over and over throughout our stay were all wonderful. Upon reception we were kindly greeted, and the wonderful lady also gave each of the children a small toy. We instantly felt very welcomed, even with our big, loud group. That night we were all too tired to head out for dinner, and they didn't hesitate helping us order a pizza, and even setting out water, cups and napkins in the breakfast area for us all to eat, totally not something they had to do, but it was really nice and made our first night so easy and enjoyable. The first morning my daughter woke up with an ear ache, which I knew instantly was a recurring infection which we thought was treated and done with a couple weeks prior. I asked the gals at the front desk if they could help me find a doctor, and they were both on it! They were on the phone, on the computer and doing whatever they could to get me in to see a doctor as fast as possible. And they did. Before I knew it I had an appointment less than a 5 minute walk away, and less than 30 minutes later we were done with the doctor and the pharmacy and had the first dose of antibiotics already down. This saved our trip. So while the rooms were not perfect, the overall stay was exceptional. This place has real heart and you feel the love. I will stay here again when I return to Bayeux!

Room Tip: The family rooms are really great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roeshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Very nice comfortable, quiet (even on the first floor) clean room that was quite affordable. Above all the staff was outstanding. The clerk Vito made you feel like family and gave the best tips for touring and restaurants. The 1944 photographs all along the hallway are also fascinating and set the scene for your visit to the D Day beaches. A great choice though it's not fancy like the Churchill or Lata, it makes up in being quaint and charming and quite a bargain, two nights there was 2/3rds the cost of one night at a mediocre 3 star hotel in La Defense Paris.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
685 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 21 in Bayeux
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bayeux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bayeux

Property: Hotel Le Bayeux
Address: 9 rue Tardif, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bayeux 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Bayeux is located on a quiet street in the historic centre of Bayeux, opposite the Baron Gerard Museum. It offers free Wi-Fi access and a warm welcome.Rooms are comfortable, non-smoking and equipped with flat-screen satellite TV and en suite facilities. There are also family rooms which can accommodate 4 to 6 guests.The Cathedral, Tapestry Museum, Place du Quebec, Place Charles De Gaulle and many shops and restaurants are less than a 5 minute walk away.Hotel Le Bayeux is located between Paris and Cherbourg, Ouistreham and Caen. Bayeux is ideal for discovering Normandy – Deauville, Honfleur and the breathtaking Mont Saint Michel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Le Bayeux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing