We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A safe value bet! Badly needs an interior upgrade.”
Review of Hotel Le Bayeux

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Bayeux
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2011

This small hotel in the centre of Bayeux is conveniently located in the centre of Bayeux. 15 minute's walk from the station (dragging luggage), right near all the central attractions and a short walk to the Bayeux Normandie Museum and British Cemetery.

It's not a fancy hotel by any stretch but absolutely fine if you are going to spend most of the day out touring the battlefields and museums - you only are going to be there to sleep. The breakfasts are standard continental fare with the option of eggs and bacon. Fresh, filling and fine, although rather plain.

Staff was polite whilst discrete, but not wildly exuberant. That said, the young woman who met us when we arrived bucked the general trend and was welcoming, smiling and very helpful.

The rooms are in need of upgrading - a bit like a motel in some ways. The beds are "finished" - they must be upgraded or the hotel risks going downhill. Coffee and tea in the rooms would be nice, although there is an honesty bar/tea area in the lobby. Bathrooms were clean and tidy and not the usual "cupboard size" - the water was piping hot. Got the impression that the owner has been cruising downhill in the hotel industry.

All in all, reasonable value for money given that we were out all day. They do need a facelift to stay in the game.

Room Tip: Check out the beds to ensure you aren't getting a "hammock" or a "car with shot s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fugax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,064 - 1,070 of 1,410 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2011

My nephew and I came to Bayeux for a one day D Day beach tour. We stayed two nights at the Hotel Le Bayeux. We found the hotel after a short walk from the train station. We got a friendly greeting from the desk clerk upon check in. Our first floor room had a queen bed and a single bed. The room and bathrooms were clean and comfortable. Perfect for our needs. The halls and lobby are decorated with pictures and books relating to the history of the area. There are several cafes and attractions to visit within a short walk of the hotel. Loved the upstairs breakfast room. Loved Bayex and hope to return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garyg49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Had the misfortune of staying here for one night. Was made to pay up front by a very nonchalant owner, I have stayed in hotels all over the world and this was a first for me!
After being shown to a shabby outdated room, my 3 friends and I headed out to town, on our return to the hotel we found the door locked, having rang the bell the owner answered the door and told us off stating that we should be quiet and did we not realise that it was 10 o'clock. My god I'm 45 years old and to be honest we went that noisy at all, still got my own back because once she told us off I couldn't stop laughing, was a bit of a faulty towers moment, sorry if I woke anyone up at the unearthly hour of 10.30!
Anyway if you want a great stay in a nice hotel that treats you like a grownup don't stay here.
Ps the photo of the front of the hotel shows an iron gate, very upmarket at least it would be if the gate belonged to the hotel instead of the property across the road!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Topcop13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

How this hotel ever received 3 stars is beyond our comprehension! The room was pokey, grubby and looked as though it hadn't been painted for 30 years... The bathroom was awful. We had intended to stay longer, but left after one night. The staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Party39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed here based on the trip advisor review and were very happy
From the moment we walked in we felt welcomed. The rooms are quite cute. We needed to do laundry and they did it for us as soon as we arrived and it was ready by the time we returned from dinner! It was 15€ a load but was worth it. They have a few parking spots but you really don't need to pay as therenis a free lot very close. Also I thought I had reserved parking but when we arrived they said you couldn't reserve parking, but no big deal as parking for free is very close. The only downside is that the walls are thin, so you can hear people in the hall, but no one stayed up very late so it wasn't really an issue. Also there isn't air conditioning, something to consider if you plan to stay in the summer. It was just fine in September.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lldohmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

I recently spent three nights at Hotel le Bayeux and was very pleased with my experience. Mireille and Eric are very friendly and happy to assist with booking of tours or recommending restaurants etc.
The hotel is on a fairly quiet street, so no worries with traffic. The rooms are typical size for France hotels, but very comfortable.
Breakfast is basic continental style - cereal, bread with jams, although they will cook you an egg and bacon for an additional cost.
I would warn guests about the hot water in the shower - it takes a while to warm up, but when it does, it was scalding hot.
Overall a very good stay. I would recommend this hotel as a good 3 star property.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John-yyz423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We made this hotel as our headquarters while we visited the Beaches of Normandy and Mt St Michel and other sights in the area...Bayeux itself is a lovely place to meander through the streets and take in their sights as well.... Cafe Mathilde was so French with their mouth watering pastries and excellent hot chocolate...Madame Bajum was most gracious and accommodated us an extra night altho her hotel was full...gave us directions and suggestions and the crowning moment when we left...she ran out to us with the American flag flying high...talk about being proud!...She herself is an accomplished seamstress and has made her own tapestry in the likes of the famous Bayeux tapistry..would love to return!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momcummings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
1,207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 21 in Bayeux
610 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
0.2 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bayeux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bayeux

Address: 9 rue Tardif, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range: $51 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bayeux 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Bayeux is located on a quiet street in the historic centre of Bayeux, opposite the Baron Gerard Museum. It offers free Wi-Fi access and a warm welcome.Rooms are comfortable, non-smoking and equipped with flat-screen satellite TV and en suite facilities. There are also family rooms which can accommodate 4 to 6 guests.The Cathedral, Tapestry Museum, Place du Quebec, Place Charles De Gaulle and many shops and restaurants are less than a 5 minute walk away.Hotel Le Bayeux is located between Paris and Cherbourg, Ouistreham and Caen. Bayeux is ideal for discovering Normandy – Deauville, Honfleur and the breathtaking Mont Saint Michel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Le Bayeux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing