We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top spot”
Review of Le Petit Matin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Petit Matin
Ranked #4 of 31 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Le Petit Matin is a lovely bed and breakfast. Pascal makes you feel right at home with
the beautiful bedrooms and the delicious breakfasts he prepares. He also helped us
with organising tours and recommending some great restaurants.

Well worth the stay and made our trip to Bayeux special.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptb1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 247 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a great b and b and a perfect location. Pascal is wonderful and so sweet and helpful. The room was large and beautiful; far larger and with better bathroom than we had in Paris for a fraction of the cost!

Room Tip: Any are fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teresa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Le Petit Matin is a true "find" for exploring Bayeux and surroundings. The hosts are charming and knowledgeable and have created a very welcoming and tasteful environment in their wonderful house. Easy to find (and to park in the vicinity), Le Petit Matin is an ideal base to explore the many facets of both Bayeux and Normandy. Breakfast was a feast with many of the jams and other items being home made. Despite being right on the street, the rooms were quiet with no traffic noise at all. The free WiFi was an added bonus enabling us to catch up on the world after a busy day exploring the beautiful and historic city of Bayeux.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James_Kiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Le Petit Matin is right in town. Free street parking is easy. Host, Pascal, is charming, helpful & makes homemade treats for breakfast like jams, mascarpone, fruit tarts. Bayeux is a central location for all the D-Day beaches. We spent 4 nights there. Great!

Room Tip: We stayed on ground floor room with a separate entrance. I never saw the upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandk11561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Beautifully appointed, clean, and ideally situated for exploring Normandy almost sums up Le Petit Matin...BUT also central to our pleasurable stay was Pascal, our gracious and knowledgeable host. My wife and I were there for six nights, and each day the room was cleaned, fresh flowers appeared, and breakfasts were a treat. Le Petit Matin is nicely landscaped with a beautiful yard and gardens for relaxing outdoors and is located in a quiet neighborhood directly across from a city park (Place Charles De Gaulle), and yet is only steps to the city center, Bayeux Tapestry Museum and the Cathedral.

Bayeux itself is close to the D-Day beaches (particularly Omaha and Utah) and is a meeting point for many of the professionally narrated tours of the landing beaches. Pascal was the ideal complement to the beautiful facilities. He was a wealth of information on places to visit and sights not to miss as well as very helpful with his recommendations on restaurants -- both within Bayeux and across Normandy. In summary we will surely be back to Le Petit Matin should we ever again find ourselves in Normandy

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We loved this place! We stayed 5 nights in mid July. This is a lovely home with large guest rooms with very comfortable beds and beautiful bathrooms. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful in a charming dining room. We could not have selected a better location or a better B&B. Our group of 2 couples and 1 single had 3 beautifully decorated rooms. Pascal's restaurant suggestions were all good. It was easy to walk anywhere in Bayeux. It is a lovely town and we are so glad we discovered it.

We also used Bayeux as our base for visiting Mont St. Michel and the Normandy beaches. It was great to return to such a comfortable homey place after a long day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Le Petit Matin faces a small park, within walking distance of the heart of Bayeux. Our room was large, nicely decorated and immaculate. The bed was supremely comfortable. Pascal is an amiable host. I did find breakfast slightly limited. Those same kiwis another reviewer spoke of appeared at our table with no takers. Also, do not expect toiletries in the bath -- there was a small, lone bar of soap. All that being said, it is a grand house with a lovely garden open to guests. The furnishing and décor are well done and welcoming. The street is a bit busy until nightfall -- if you're disturbed by street noise you might want to request a room in the back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boadicea32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.4 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
1,034 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
734 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
1,208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tardif Noble Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Matin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Matin

Address: 9 Rue des Terres Place Charles de Gaull, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux
Price Range: $108 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our House This is the second adventure for our Bed and Breakfast 'Le Petit Matin' in this beautiful town of Bayeux. Originally located on 'rue Quincangrogne' for 8 years, we decided to move to our new home that offers more spacious and comfortable guest rooms. Located in the heart of the historic town of Bayeux, on the 'Place Charles de Gaulle' planted with 150 lime trees and classified a 'Natural Monument' in 1932, 'Le Petit Matin' welcomes you warmly. For us, morning is an important time of the day (hence the name of our bed and breakfast!), Too often sacrificed. We therefore wanted to ensure our guests experienced a truly memorable moment, full of tranquillity and authenticity, around a hearty breakfast in the beautiful and completely renovated building dating back to the late 17th and 18th centuries. The house is located next to the old Bayeux porcelain factory which has been run by three successive families (Langlois, Gosse and Morlent). We offer four guest rooms; each carefully decorated and personalized on the 1st floor of our house. We have attached particular importance to comfort, decoration and to our garden. Dates available on August, September and October directly on our website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Le Petit Matin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Petit Matin Hotel Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing