We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

British War Cemetery
Book In Advance
More Info
$71.71*
and up
Half-Day Tour to British D-Day Beaches Including the Sword Beach Sector from...
More Info
$101.59*
and up
Private Tour: Normandy Landing Beaches, Battlefields, Museums and Cemeteries...
More Info
$83.66*
and up
Normandy Battlefields Tour - Sword Beach and the British Airborne Sector
Ranked #3 of 36 things to do in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The town of Bayeux, in Normandy, lies 30 kilometres north-west of Caen. Bayeux War Cemetery is situated in the south-western outskirts of the town on the by-pass (D5), which is named Boulevard Fabian Ware. On the opposite side of the road stands the Bayeux Memorial. BAYEUX WAR CEMETERY, which was completed in 1952, contains 4,144 Commonwealth burials of the Second World War, 338 of them unidentified. There are also over 500 war graves of other nationalities, the majority German. The BAYEUX MEMORIAL stands opposite the cemetery and bears the names of more than 1,800 men of the Commonwealth land forces who died in the early stages of the campaign and have no known grave. They died during the landings in Normandy, during the intense fighting in Normandy itself, and during the advance to the River Seine in August.
london
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Beautiful, peaceful, respectful. It' may not be as big as the American cemetery at Omaha... But it certainly is a humbling and deeply moving place. We felt it was a must see on our DDay/Overlord mini-trip.We ended here and it was a fitting completion of an amazing three day visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sassatunta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    925
    233
    26
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Not to miss as part of the history of this region!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We toured this cemetery as part of our itinerary with our private guide Michael Phillips who owns DDay tours. It was an intrical part of us visiting and understanding this complex area of diversity and emotion. immaculately groomed and well kept cometary as one would expect. It wasn't crowded when we visited in early October, but important to pay our respects and anks to so many who lost their lives during this time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Immaculate”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The work of the CWGC here is a beauty to behold. The cemetery is amazingly well kept, as are all the Commonwealth cemeteries I have visited. Yet another cemetery that really hammers home the futility of war. Even pouring with rain there were many paying their respects.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DorsetBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Although this cemetery is interesting, it did not stand out like the American cemetery ( beautiful setting) and German cemetery (haunting). Could not look up names of servicemen here unlike the other cemeteries.They were replacing the gravestones when we visited so perhaps new stones will be marked and you will be able to reference names.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Emotional”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

There are so many emotions flying around when you pay a visit to this Cemetry. I attended here a couple of times, and have been with Normandy Veterans when they have found one of their old pals who sadly lost his life during the conflict.
You will need some time to walk around here. Close by is the Bayeux Cathedral, which is also worth a visit. And not far away, the Bayeux Tapestry museum

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed British War Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to British War Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing