We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Reine Mathilde during a short stay to Normandy and were not disappointed. As a family of 4 (2 teens) it is often hard to accommodate everyone in one room comfortably. The RM put us in their annex with remodeled rooms/bathrooms that could accommodate 5 guests very nicely. Everyone at the Hotel was very friendly and handled our requests in a timely and efficient manner. We would happily stay here again when visiting the area.

Room Tip: Annex rooms are larger and recently remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LKDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear LKDunn,

Thank you so much for you lovely review. It's a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. In fact, the rooms have been renovated for a better wellbeing.

Merci

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    445
    76
    11
    8
See reviews for
314
708
77
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Although we rented one of the smaller rooms, it was clean had what we needed. The location is fantastic and is in the heart of the city next to the cathedral. Many shops and great restaurants and pubs/cafes.

Our room faced the street where there happened to be a several day Medieval festival till late at night (some noise), but that is not something the hotel can address. But is was fun being in the center of the festival!

The hotel staff were easy to communicate with in English and very accommodating and we enjoyed their breakfast. There is also a bar and restaurant but we did not use them.

I would certainly recommend this hotel since it is a good value at a great location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Rick D,

We thank you for your lovely review. We appreciate that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to communicate in English. Our hotel is very well-located and we are glad you appreciated that.

Merci

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjoerring, Denmark
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

The hotel gave a really quick an efficient service.
Staff helpfull and friendly.
Nice rooms. Relativ to sige A bit overpriced, but ok relative to the central adresse.
Kitchen open the whole day,nice and average.

It gave us a good
stay in Bayeux.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Korkjeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Korkjeld ,

Thank you for you comment, we appreciate it. Effectively, our restaurant Le Garde Manger is open the whole day.

Merci

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Excellent hotel in centre of Bayeux. Stayed in five hotels during my recent French holiday and Reine Mathilde had the most efficient, friendly and polite staff, both in hotel and restaurant. Good breakfast with plenty of choices. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Irene551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Irene551 ,

We thank you for your welcoming review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We try do our best to satisfy our clients and we appreciate when it is the case. We are happy you enjoyed our breakfast composed of lots of things (eggs, croissants, cereals, bread, coffee, milk, etc...). We are glad you liked our restaurant - which has its own page.

Merci

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This was a very simple, but well located hotel. Services and amenities are economy grade.
My single room was very clean but not anywhere as good as the pictures. There is no elevator, so it is more like a B and B.except breakfast is not included.The bathroom was very tiny and not comfortable at all. However, other rooms may be better.
It was priced well. They have a popular restaurant on the premises. The staff were good as they also attend the restaurant at the same time.
If location and reasonable price is your objective, it will be OK.

Room Tip: Don t take what they call a single
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LM1741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear LM1741 ,

Thank you for your comment. Effectively, we don't have an elevator but we do our best to satisfy our clients and we are here to carry your luggage.
In fact our location is great since we are next to everything to visit. Rooms have been renovated for a better comfort.

Merci

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel is right in downtown, walking distance to everything you'll want to see in Bayeux and plenty of restaurants.

The room was extremely clean. Although small by American standards, it was more than we needed, and very very clean. The staff is very attentive helpful and pleasant.

The restaurant is lovely. Typical French fare for dinner. Great staff.

The only downside was that our room was over the street and since there is no air conditioning we slept with the windows open. The delivery trucks and other traffic through town woke us earlier than we wanted to be awakened.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gipperland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Gipperland ,

Thank you for your lovely comment. It is true that our hotel is well-located with a public parking 5 minutes away from the hotel, next tp everything. Effectiviely, the weather was hot these days and we are sorry you were awakened because of the street.

Merci

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Staff were brilliant and room was comfortable enough. Great location in the centre of everything. We selected the "quiet room" option and were put in a room on the front of the hotel up three flights of stairs. Slight problem was the room was very hot so we had to leave windows open all night which meant it was quite noisy with traffic and several early morning road sweepers! However, for the price it was good value and so I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank dandypandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear dandypandy,

Thank you for your review. We do our best to satisfy our clients and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Effectively, these days were particularly hot and we are sorry for that. In fact we are in the middle of everything , our hotel has a good location.

Merci

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reine Mathilde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reine Mathilde

Property: Hotel Reine Mathilde
Address: 23 rue Larcher, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Reine Mathilde 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Reine Mathilde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing