We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased, will come back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We came to Bayeux after a long, tiresome train ride, and were greeted so warmly by the hotel staff, I could have cried. All of the staff here were very pleasant, spoke English well or at least with a nice twinkle in the eye. The food was excellent, the location perfect. Five stars definitely!

Room Tip: There are stairs, so let the staff know if you needing ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Dear Amy N,

We are glad to read you , thank you so much !
We try to do our best to satisfy our clients and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. In fact Bayeux is very well located, close to everething so the visits are easier to make. We are pleased you enjoyed our home made food at our restaurant (which owns its own page on tripadvisor).

Merci

Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

705 - 711 of 1,497 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had a delightful stay. Close to all attractions in town-we just parked the car and walked to all sites. Great food at a reasonable price. Quiet location in building behind the restaurant with no cars in that area. Comfortable bed. Newly remodeled room with wonderful bathroom/shower. Sitting area separate from bedroom a nice addition. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Had a quiet room in a location back behind the main building that looked like it had just been reno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Steve W,

We tahnk you for your lovely comment on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to read you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
In fact we are close to all visits in Bayeux and the free parking next to our hotel is very well located. We are happy you enjoyed our food at the restaurant Le garde-Manger (which has its own page on Tripadvisor).
Our rooms have effectively been newly renovated to please our clients.

Merci

Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here for two nights while exploring Normandy. The hotel is only a 15 minute walk from the train station and is close to everything even a laundromat. We had a standard room and it was clean and the bed was very comfortable. We ate at the restaurant the first night and it was very good and the prices reasonable. Staff was extremely helpful. They have luggage storage which helped us since we had an afternoon train departure back to Paris so we were able to visit the tapestry. Wished we could of spent more time in Bayeux and at this little gem of a hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank katiesmom1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear katiesmom1992,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. In fact we are well located, not far from the train station, the Cathedrale, the Tapestry and so on.I
t was a pleasure to receive you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you

Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We so enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Guilliame was especially helpful, friendly and just fun. He seemed to always be there!! The hotel was great in all ways including location and cleanliness. The restaurant was convenient. I'd love to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PittsburghTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear PittsburghTigger,

Thank you for your great review. It's a pleasure to read you.In factour location is great to stay in Bayeux and we do our best to satisfy our clients. We appreciate you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you

Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We found the staff exceptionally courteous and helpful. It is an enjoyable 15 minute walk from the train station and centrally located near the cathedral, the Tapestry Museum and the pick up point for many of the D-Day Beach tours. Our room was quite spacious, modern, comfortable and very clean. The garden near our room was delightful. The restaurant served very good food at affordable prices and the staff made dining a relaxed, fun experience. I hope to get back to Normandy some day soon and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear Gary W,

Thank your for your welcoming comment . We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we would be pleased to meet you again for next time ! We appreciate you loved our food as well ! We do our best to satify our clients so it's a pleasure to read our efforts are rewarded !

Merci

Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

The staff was so accommodating and wonderful. The room is cozy but we had an amazing view of the cathedral. The shower was great. Breakfast had many options. I don't know why it is 2 stars. It is better than some 4 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mklentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear Mklentz,

Thank you so much for your lovely comment. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we are happy that you like your room. In fact, because our breakfast is an open buffet, there are lots of foods to eat and it's delicious !
Thank you again,

Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful staff hey were very helpful. Wonderful room with good beds. Very good location 5 euro taxi ride from the train. The restaurant is also very good and reasonable as France goes. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, Responsable réception at Hotel Reine Mathilde, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Jerry B,

Thank you so much for your lovely comment. We have the pleasure to read you, and we are glad you enjoyed you stay with us. We are happy you loved our food in our restaurant as well. We would pleased to meet you again for a next time.

Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,423 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
1,034 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
1,208 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
0.9 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 21 in Bayeux
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reine Mathilde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reine Mathilde

Address: 23 rue Larcher, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range: $59 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Reine Mathilde 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Reine Mathilde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing