We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location, basic accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good value and location, basic accommodations”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Pros: great location near Bayeux cathedral, walking tour and tapestry museum, great price, helpful staff, very clean
Cons: no safe to lock valuables, no card (do not disturb/make up room) so staff cleaned room when we had all our items out in the room, bathroom so small you could hardly turn around

We were in the main hotel in room 5 and then 8. We wanted to stay right in the old town for convenience and it worked out perfectly. We had a great meal at l'Alchimie recommended on tripadvisor, located just around the corner from the hotel. Free parking in city lot down the street about 3 blocks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cal_Travel_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    450
    77
    11
    8
See reviews for
319
719
79
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Enjoyed our 3 day stay in the City of Bayeux. Took the train up from Paris, very short cab ride for station to hotel. We did not stay in the main building but the charming annex building right across the Canal. Staff very friendly, very helpful. Lovely city, in April most stores were closed on Sunday. Exhaused on the day of arrivial did not take the time to search for food as there is a decent restaurant on site. We haad two rooms in the anex the 3rd and 2nd floor, while rooms were small, it wasn't a problem.. I do wish the room on the 3rd floor had storage drawers and not open shelves for storage, but that won't stop me from staying there again. The place is is very clean. I'm so glad we stayed in Bayeux and not Caen.
We did rent a car in advance, however, found the city so charming we did not use the car and returned it later the same day.
In advance we had made arrangement for a private tour of the Normandy sites... best thing we did for the entire trip. Our guide Michael Phillips was outstanding!!! Our party consisted of 4 adults. Our planning started on the wish of my father to visit Normandy, Mr. Philips shared with us the most wonderful day full of insight, information, and prespectives on the landings and the amazing accomplishments for those who gave so much. To this day a month later, Dad still talks about his amazing trip and tour.. which I know was the highlight for him. And honestly that was the goal all along.
I would recommend this hotel to others and will stay there again.

Room Tip: I liked the annex over the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank about-leisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed two nights in May. As previous reviewers have suggested, this hotel is friendly,convenient and quiet. We were in the annex which is by a small stream and although only yards from a busy road, was extremely quiet.
Parking was easy and close by. Recommended .......but perhaps not the restaurant!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotLordPercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Had a wonderful time in Bayeux, France visiting the various historical locations, including the WWII sites and Mont St. Michell. This hotel was wonderful for the price, clean and safe. Stayed in room 15, which was located on the third floor and wasn't a bad hike up. The room was small, but wasn't a problem. The bathroom and shower was also small, give American standards, but were sufficient. They offered a larger room, but I elected for the smaller room. The location was excellent near the town center, where I could walk to the various restaurant and shops. Our party took advantage of the Saturday morning market, which was excellent.

The front desk and on-site restaurant staff were very helpful and friendly. They spoke great English and were eager to help in any way. The hot chocolate was excellent, as were the crepes. I didn't rent a car previous to getting there...as I took the train from Paris to Bayeux...and they were very helpful in recommending and calling a "car for hire" service...who was very reasonable and close by. I walked to the location and picked up the car to drive to Mont St. Michell. Nice drive with a helpful GPS.

We also hired a British native guide, Stewart Robertson, to take us around to the Normandy sites. It was very informative and provided a greater appreciation for those who sacrificed their lives and others who gave so much for the freedoms we enjoy today.

I would stay he again and recommend it to others. The are a few other hotels in town that look nice, but we felt we hit a home run with this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the street, you will need to ask. My room had a window, but the view was of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JCOKUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

If you are looking for a small, charming, moderately-priced hotel in Bayeux, the Reine Mathilde is a perfect choice. It is located just around the corner from the tapestry museum, and across from the cathedral. The rooms are small, and there is no elevator, but the entire hotel is immaculate, the bathrooms are recently redone, and the beds are comfortable with nice linens. Our rooms fronted onto the main street, but the hotel is equipped with the roll-down shutters that ensure quiet and a good night's sleep. The staff is efficient and cheerful. The hotel also has a very nice restaurant that serves excellent food, and a lovely terrace overlooking a small canal. It is a short drive to the Normandy beaches, and an excellent starting point for exploring Normandy in general. I would give this an Excellent ++++!!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the canal are, I think, a bit more expensive but might be worth a look.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DCvagabond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This place is inexpensive and clean, good for anyone on a budget. They don't help taking luggage to the rooms, but I didn't mind. There is no elevator so I requested rooms on lower floors for the older people (60+) travelling in our group. It worked great. The "kids" (30 year olds) got the cheaper rooms upstairs. This worked well because the rooms on the ground floor are nicer and bigger, but a little more expensive. Overall a good place to stay for a few nights while exploring Normandy. Perfect base to visit WWII sites.
The restaurant was awesome! I had many meals here and every one of them was good. Also has a nice and well-stocked bar.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindyannajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in early April, at the start of a week long tour of Normandy and Brittany. Of all the places we stayed, we liked Reine Mathilde the most. Wed liked it for all of the reasons that others have given: good location, good restaurant, warm and helpful staff, and reasonably priced. I recommend Reine Mathilde without hesitation. I wish I had a reason to go back to Bayeux to stay there again!

Room Tip: There are a lot of stairs in this hotel, that seem to go off in multiple directions. If you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curiousgeorgette100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,243 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reine Mathilde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reine Mathilde

Property: Hotel Reine Mathilde
Address: 23 rue Larcher, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Reine Mathilde 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Reine Mathilde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing