We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reine Supreme”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Reine Supreme”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel is a Bayeax Beauty. My two teens and I were given a room in the annexe to the main hotel in what looked like an old barn or warehouse that had been turned into a lovely modern building however they had managed to retain its old world charm. We had a huge suite on the top floor which was really well laid out. As you walked through the door you entered a sitting area with two large chairs that made out into single beds. You then walked through a small area, where there was a desk, to the main bedroom which had a queen size bed and off this was the lovely modern & spotlessly clean bathroom. As you were up in the roof of the building the suite had sloped ceilings, exposed beams and dormer windows which we absolutely loved. It was modern yet quaint, roomy yet cosy and extremely quiet as it was located in a small cobbled pedestrian square with a river running either side which created a sort of island effect. We ate dinner at the restaurant and the meal was excellent especially the local version of Tiramisu for dessert. We also enjoyed their breakfast spread and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. There is ample parking a stones throw from the hotel and annexe and for those that need to do washing there is a laundromat very close by. The little town of Bayeux is so pretty and I wished we could have stayed longer. I will return one day and when I do I will definitely be staying at Hotel Reine Mathilde.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    465
    77
    12
    8
See reviews for
327
737
80
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed one night here in July 2012. It was a happy accident! We'd spent too much time on the coast all day, fascinated by all of the WWII locations, and did not make it back to the train station in Bayeux on time to get to our lovely hotel in Saint-Malo. So we were frustrated, exhausted, and forced to find somewhere in town for the night.

Coming across Hotel Reine Mathilde was a miracle! The price was very reasonable, the beds were comfortable, the bathroom was modern & clean, and we had a lovely river view! We woke up refreshed and in much better moods than the night before. And the staff: exceptional. Truly friendly, wonderful people. Also, delicious food at the restaurant there! Relaxed atmosphere.

I will recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone looking to stay in Normandy. If we had had more time, we would've taken full advantage of the hotel's central location to do some shopping as well!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank athenabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here one night after a long drive from Amiens. The room was in the annex to the hotel and was quite large and luxuriously appointed. It was clean, warm and well appointed. Compared to a London hotel we had stayed at few days earlier it was twice the size and as luxurious at half the price. We were treated well and ate at the restaurant which provided good value meals. The only issue is that we had to park some half kilometre away as parking was very tight. The only issue was that the bed coverings were duvet which were too warm for the warmth of the room for us from the southern hemisphere.

Room Tip: The annex had very nice rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muzwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here for one night. The location is perfect and in the centre of Bayeux overlooking the cathedral. The room was of average size, very clean and comfy. The staff were lovely and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWI1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here 3 days in December 2012, we found the staff friendly and helpful. We had a few meals in the cafe and were very happy. It is within 5 minute walk to the Bayeux Tapestry.

The only caution I have is if you have a car the parking is tight as it usually is in Europe. The free lot is about a 10 min walk from the Hotel and fills up before 9 am as the locals all use it.

Room Tip: Had a room in the back building next to the small river, it was quiet at least in December
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crashdavis613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here just before Christmas for 3 nights. It was very nice! The hotel staff were very professional and went out of their way to accommodate and help us. All spoke English, and tried hard to help us with our French! The room was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was very generous by most European standards, with a good, large shower. The restaurant in the hotel is open all day, and the food was wonderful! The off season rates were outstanding! The hotel is centrally located in the old town, just across from the cathedral. Overall, it was a very nice stay, and we have plans to return. Bayeux is a gem!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the separate cottage in the back of the main hotel. I would recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in the annex and can only praise the staff and hotel, it was clean and very comfortable. I would also recommend the restaurant which served first class meals. The hotel is in the heart of the town and only a short walk to the tapestry and a massive free car park. The only fault that we could find was the lack of tea making facilities in the room but then we did not mention it to the staff when perhaps we should have done. we will be staying there again.

Room Tip: Mention when booking if you find stairs difficult as there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,310 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
973 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
0.9 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#7 of 21 in Bayeux
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reine Mathilde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reine Mathilde

Property: Hotel Reine Mathilde
Address: 23 rue Larcher, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Reine Mathilde 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Reine Mathilde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing