We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth visiting, just to realise war leaves scars and costs lives”

Normandy Landing Beaches Tours
Ranked #19 of 37 Tours in Bayeux
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting, just to realise war leaves scars and costs lives”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I'm glad we got to visit the coastal beaches and their accompanying memorials and museum. It is a timely reminder that war is hell.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Thought provoking”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Imagine running across this large beach under fire to try and grasp what it must have been like, if arriving by car with Sat nav, remember to head for Arromanches sur Mer for the UK beaches and museum and Colleville sur Mer for the American cemetary and beaches because its not very well signposted and there is no coast road to follow. Very nostalgic.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank br0adsw0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
362 reviews
233 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“HISTORY AT IT'S BEST”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

If you go to France, you must visit the Normandy beaches and museums. It is where we lost so many brave young men to liberate Europe. I can't imagine climbing some of those cliffs under fire. It is very impressive, but also very sad and emotional area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank fjpaulick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“D- Day”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed in a hotel( the Lion d'Or in Bayeaux) and did hire a guide for one whole day to tour the beaches and towns affected by the d-day invasion. I would definitely recommend having a guide at least for your first day. He gave us a wonderful overview with some very interesting detail during one 8 hour day which simply flew by. Lots of information and seeing the areas in person was so moving. how brave all the allies were to attack these beaches which included huge open areas to try to advance with bullets flying. we went to the German cemetery and then the American cemetery. You should do this just for the difference you notice immediately. The museum at the American cemetery is worth a separate visit because you need more time. So after the tour day we did go back to several different sites. including the museum.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Veterans remembered”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were at the American cemetery on Memorial Day. Looking over Omaha and the other beaches will bring understanding to the sacrifices that were made in WWII. The local people were very friendly to Americans. A very worthy destination

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank bummy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Normandy Landing Beaches Tours also viewed

 

Been to Normandy Landing Beaches Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing