We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem!”
Review of Au Ptit Bistrot

Au Ptit Bistrot
Ranked #2 of 105 Restaurants in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed October 20, 2014

Seriously one of the best meals of our trip! Every course was a delight. Newly opened, the waitress was friendly and the food was fabulous.

Date of visit: October 2014
Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (694)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 302 of 695 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2014

After reading the reviews online, we went here and we're not disappointed! Everything was great and reasonably priced. My wife had the fish dish which was one of the best she ever had. I had chicken billotine, kind of a rolled up piece, that had great flavor. Starters and the desserts were also amazing. Would highly recommend. Sat at a table near the front with a view of the beautifully lit cathedral.

Date of visit: October 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Johnm1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2014

We had a wonderful dinner here our first night in Bayeux. A delicious, very local salad with apples, Camembert and andouille with a Calvados vinaigrette, and a terrific main dish of fish with vegetables. Cafe gourmand for dessert - sort of a sampler with coffee - was also fabulous. We felt warmly welcomed to Normandy, and the service was excellent. Highly recommend this spot.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tennlady2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2014

We just spent two days in Bayeux and visited Le Petit Bistrot at the recommendation of the owner of the B&B where we were staying, Hotel Sainte Croix. We were so pleased with our dinner that we went back for an encore the next night. Both times, the food was excellent and at very reasonable prices. I ate the foie gras, terrine, magret de canard, bavee de boeuf. Everything tasted extremely well. The wines were also good and reasonable in price. The second night I tried a new wine proposed by the owner, a Cabernet Sauvignon that was excellent and very well priced.

The restaurant is run by a young couple with no assistance from anybody else. The wife is the face of the establishment and takes care of the customers. The husband is the chef and orchestrate the meals from the kitchen. A perfect team! The lady couldn't have been any more attentive and pleasant . The chef proved his ability through the food served to our table. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Bayeux.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nacho D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2014

After some truly mediocre meals in and around Bayeux, we happened across Au P'Tit Bistrot almost by error. It was the best mistake we ever made. The cooking and service were so far in advance of anything else we'd experienced to that point that we kept wondering where the catch was. Well, there wasn't a catch. It really was that good. Everything you can think of is undertaken with care and flair. I confidently predict that in 12 months time Au P'Tit Bistrot will be one of THE restaurants in Normandy, not just Bayeux.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Ptit Bistrot also viewed

 
Saint-Vigor-le-Grand, Calvados
 

Been to Au Ptit Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing