We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel de la Tour du Pin is Merveilleux!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bayeux
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel de la Tour du Pin
Ranked #20 of 30 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Ft. Worth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hotel de la Tour du Pin is Merveilleux!”
Reviewed October 19, 2010

I recently traveled solo to Normandy to visit the site where my father landed in WW II. I stayed at Hotel de la Tour du Pin in Bayeux with Mrs. Lanchou and her husband John. What fabulous hosts they were in their magnificent 18th Century home. I felt like a princess in my beautiful 3-room suite! Mrs. Lanchou served delicious pastries, French coffee, and homemade marmalades for breakfast--served on silver and beautiful china--by candlelight. It was simply incredible. My wonderful hosts helped me with every detail of my trip: finding wonderful restaurants in Bayeux, helping me find my D-Day tour location, etc. My stay at Hotel de la Tour du Pin was truly one of the most unique and wonderful events of my life--and I now have two wonderful in Bayeux!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherri-Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

My wife and I booked this accommodation for two nights accompanying two other adults. We stayed in mid September 2010. The location of the hotel is very central with all the major sites and a large selection of shops/restaurants only a short walk away. We parked on the street both nights and found a space quite easily, although it was the off season.

The accommodation is in an 18th century private mansion. The stunning house, grounds and rooms are decorated sympathetically to the age of the building. The rooms are laid out as follows: You enter the first bedroom/lounge where there are two single beds (one of which I found to be a bit too low and basic for my taste. You then pass through an adjoining door to the next bedroom, which has a double bed with an attractive fireplace. It is in this room you will find the door to the large toilet area which overlooks the courtyard. The eagle eyed among you may have noted that if you are in a group of four, two of you will have to access the bathroom via the second bedroom. For a group of four adults this is not of an acceptable standard to the modern traveller. If you are a couple on your own, the first bedroom becomes a lounge and this is can be acceptable.

The impressive, light and regal breakfast room can be accessed via a grand staircase. Breakfast is basic with coffee or tea and breads. I would have expected a little more selection for the cost, maybe some ham and cheese. I can’t fault the hosts as they are extremely friendly and will do anything to make your stay enjoyable. Considering the aforementioned comments, I found the cost somewhat high at 105 Euros per person per night.

This accommodation is clearly a B&B and Tripadvisor reviews should be placed in the appropriate B&B section. “Hôtel” only indicates a “private house” of the grand sort while a Hotel provides lodging.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinsinamap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We were shocked by our luck here. This is essentially having your own little two-roomed flat within a breathtaking private 18th century mansion, one of the oldest and grandest buildings in Bayeux and the surrounding area. The grounds are gorgeous, the interior is perfect French elegance, and the hosts are kind and friendly. We were treated as their guests. No reason to stay anywhere else in Normandy.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateHitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

We stayed at Tour du la Pin for 4 nights during the 65th anniversary of D day. The location was excellent for visiting Normandy and all of the D day beaches and museums. It is also only 1 hour to Honfleur and 1 1/2 to Mont St Michel. The best thing about the B&B is the hospitality of Anna and Jean. They were so accommodating and helpful with recommendations and trip advise. I would not hesitate to stay there again the next time we visit Normandy. The rooms are wonderful, large and quiet. The bathroom was large and had everything you need.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeannie689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 2, 2006

I was new to Normandie. I felt very much welcome here and at home. If I could, I would retire to Bayeux. It is simply one of the nicest, most beautiful places on the map. I stayed here while traveling to the Normandy D-Day Beaches doing research from Oxford University in England. I took many trips to the region and loved my stays here. Many American ex-pats and Britons live around the city.

It was a bargain, the owners were fantastic. It was confortable, very clean, very pretty,close to everything. An excellent continental breakfast was served in the morning with juice, coffee, danish, croissants. I would highly recommend this stay. The owners were helpful in explaining the history of the area. The park where DeGaulle spoke after the landings is five minutes away, Omaha Beach is just a few minutes away from here by car or taxi--walk to the Cathedral and Tapestry. A must stay for everyone.

Stayed June 2003
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, Surrey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2004

What a fabulous place to stay. Very highly recommended not just for the general state of the premises and the massive rooms but also for the wonderful generosity of the hosts, Mr & Mrs Lanchou.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orak100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Saint-Patrice
Le Saint-Patrice
#13 of 21 in Bayeux
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tardif Noble Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Tour du Pin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Tour du Pin

Property: Hotel de la Tour du Pin
Address: 14 rue du General de Dais | 14, Rue General de Dais, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the City Center of Bayeux (Normandie), an 18th century (1770) large private mansion (Hotel Particulier) listed as an Historical Monument, with a decorative front, a large stone staircase, an interior courtyard with old stables, a garden with balustrade against the ramparts of the old castle. A private Bed and Breakfast (B&B) suite, including 2 communicating rooms and one private bathroom. Very convenient for a family. English & Itallian Spoken Seperate Entrance Very close to Place de Gaulle, main street, shops,banks and restaurants, 5 minutes walk to the Cathedral, to the Baron Gerard Art and History Museum (MAHB) and to the Queen Mathilde Tapestry (Memory of the World UNESCO), 10 minutes walk to the D-Day Memorial Museum, 15 minutes drive to the D-Day beaches (Omaha,Utah, Gold, Juno, Sword), to Arromanches, and to the German gun-battery at Longues-sur Mer, 10 minutes drive to the 36 holes Omaha BeachGolf Club, and to the fishing-harbour of Port-en-Bessin, 1 hour drive to Honfleur, or Deauville 1 hour and a half to Mont-Saint-Michel, or to Giverny, 2 hours and a half to Paris Free Wifi ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing