We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Hotel Mogador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mogador
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at this 2-star hotel for 11 nights in June 2013. The room was a bit dated, but very clean and the owners were friendly and helpful. The hotel is very well situated, with free (and safe) parking nearby. Very well situated for visiting the D-Day landing beaches, museums and military cemeteries as well as the other tourist sites (e.g. Bayeux itself, Caen). We even went to Mont St. Michel from here (about 1 hour 25 minutes away). The breakfasts were good and gave us a good start for our days. The only negative we have is that the wifi was on the slow side. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ottawa_travellers_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mogador
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 95 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and were very impressed with the personal attention provided by the owners. They own and operate this small hotel and do make you feel comfortable. We got the recommendation for this hotel from the Rick Steves guidebooks and were happy with the price and locale. Fancy, it was not - but we were not there for fancy. We were gone all day and only back in the room to sleep. The bathroom had been updated and included a bathtub - a definite plus.

The breakfasts were standard - croissants, bread, juice, cereal, fruit and cheese.

Saturdays bring a farmer's market right across the street - don't miss this as there are wonderful assortments of animals, cheese, meat, flowers, bread - this market will be a memorable part of your stay in Bayeux.

From the hotel you can walk to Notre Dame, the Bayeux Tapestry, and all places within the town - recommend walking to the Normandy Museum though, especially on cold April days - Normandy coastline is definitely breezy, so bring a jacket or warm sweater!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here after experiencing the overwhelming hustle and bustle of Paris. The owners are exceptionally friendly and speak English and French very well. I enjoy speaking French and they are very patient and willing to speak with me whereas so many people simply switch to English on me.

The rooms are very nice for the price. At 60 Euros per night we got a charming double room with two comfy beds, a TV, and WiFi. The hotel is situated right in the middle of town and there is plenty of parking for anyone with a car. If you need a tour or any service booked, the front desk is always more than happy to do it for you.

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. If you're looking for an affordable place to stay in the very charming town of Bayeux, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bcoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We recently stayed there to visit the World War 2 sites at the beaches of Normandy. This is a very nice place to use as a base for that, but it's also in a beautiful city as well.

The hotel itself is well marked by signs to help you find the place. The building appears fairly old, but it's quaint. The rooms are somewhat sizeable by European standards. The rooms seems fairly clean, but everything in it is starting to show age. And the pillows are a little odd, since our double bed just had one, very long pillow rather than two pillows. But other than any of that, the hotel was more than adequate, and the price is great. The hotel staff was also very friendly and were able to point us in the right direction as far as sightseeing went.

I'd reccomend this place and I'd definitely go back. It's more than adequate, especially if you're just sleeping there. If you're looking for a glitzy hotel, then you need to keep on looking.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dude714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Sept 2010 - My husband and I stayed at Hotel Mogador for two nights - Sept 9 & 10 and found it to be a super value -- a hotel that truly stands out from the crowd with personal service, very clean accommodations and a lovely "Petit Dejeuner" in the morning. The owners Daniel and Joelle Mencaroni are very helpful, gracious and you can tell this hotel is run with loving care by them. Daniel speaks English. The rooms are basic, clean and quiet. The only change I would make is to add Wifi as there is no internet connection. The hotel is about a five minute walk to the beautiful Bayeux Cathedral as well as to the Bayeux Tapestries. We also used this as a base to explore the D-Day beaches along the Normandy Coast. On Saturday mornings the delightful "farmers market" is in the "Place" just outside the door with booths of wonderful cheeses, fruits, salami and meats -- all the great food that France is famous for. Reserve ahead -- this hotel is popular!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redhead21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Location: central, you can park your car in front of the hotel for free, if there's no place, there's a large car park across the street (nights free)
Hotel: quiet, basic but clean, owner is extremely pleasant, we hadn't booked and we asked to see the room, just to make sure it was clean. Good and filling French breakfast: croissants, baguette, jam, coffe/tea, juice.
No lift

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank iaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2010

I have stayed there two times. A great, centrally located hotel. The owner of the ehotel speaks xcellent english. His wife speaks enough to joke around in the language. Reasonably priced hotel. Nice, small clean rooms. The owner can arrange for a van with a driver that may speak some english to take you to both beaches, Point du Hoc, and St Mere Eglise. If you study a bit of history on Military.com you can save a lot on tours. The van should cost about 140 Euro, which compared to a tour for 6 would cost 600 euro. 140 euro is on the clock, so if you have "beach walkers you are paying for it.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
3  Thank Mickey6448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.7 mi away
Campanile De Bayeux
Campanile De Bayeux
#9 of 21 in Bayeux
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Saint-Patrice
Le Saint-Patrice
#13 of 21 in Bayeux
35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 21 in Bayeux
597 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,183 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premiere Classe Bayeux
Premiere Classe Bayeux
#12 of 21 in Bayeux
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mogador

Address: 20 rue Alain Chartier, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Price Range: $67 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mogador Hotel Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing