We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”

Le Volet qui Penche
Ranked #6 of 98 Restaurants in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Apres 20h00 uniquement sur reservation Le midi: plat du jour 9,70 euros avec un verre de vin(10 cl) offert. Le soir : un menu unique qui change tous les jours, (entree, plat du jour, dessert) 18,00 euros
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
142 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We went to Le Volet because of the many good writeups, but felt very let down. We reserved, and spoke with the man in charge, to make the reservation after discussing the menu (an inexpensive pre-fixe). When we were seated, though, we were told that the main event on that menu was sold out. OK, we took something else (it had been replaced with a tripe sausage). That would have been all right, but the service was a zero. We waited and waited and waited for everything. The waitress "misspoke" with the chef and got my wife's appetizer wrong. We had to ask three tines for bread, and finally had to ask someone else to get it. It was exasperating, and after two courses (and an hour-and-forty minutes) we decided to pass on dessert and left. The one bright note was a ferric wine at a terrific price, but we'd never go back. The food (although it wasn't what we had come there for) wasn't bad, but it wasn't good enough to make up for the overall poor experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    156
    43
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

A gem of a restaurant/wine cellar! The fixed menu was perfect and Pierre Henri matched a perfect wine. The dinner was outstanding and the dessert incredible. The price was beyond reasonable. A perfectly relaxing dinner in a friendly atmosphere. I wish we were staying longer so we could come again. Reservations recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnMarie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a wonderful restaurant and wine bar”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This restaurant/wine bar was recommended to us by our accommodation at Relais Saint-Loup that was also outstanding.
The set menu was unbelievably good. Generous portions of fresh produce freshly cooked and such good value. It was that good I suggested to the owner that he should increase the price...to which he said no. He absolutely believes in giving great value for money.
The main course salmon dish on that eve was probably the best I have ever had with the very best aurora sauce and plenty of well presented vegetables. The deserts were full of fresh fruit and delicious.
The wines available are excellent and also well priced, assistance in selecting a wine was excellent from the staff.
Bayeux is all the better for having such a fantastic wine bar/bistro.
The table service from the Welsh lady who spoke such good french was terrific.....it just goes to show the close historic connection between the French and Welsh.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have visited this restaurant several time and it never fails to meet my expectations. The key to satisfaction is to be a wine lover. The menu is simple. The wine list is extensive. Owner/maître de Pierre Henri knows wine, loves discussing wine and most importantly loves serving wine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJS47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“a slightly hidden gem”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Its a wine shop not a restraunt, but if you like what you see on the menu outside you wont be disapointed.
very limited choice if they have flexibility they will help
excelent wine choicevery friendly english speaking staff
includeing the charming lancashire lass
will i visit again YES.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ducker450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Volet qui Penche also viewed

 

Been to Le Volet qui Penche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing