We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Joyous Evening”

Le Volet qui Penche
Ranked #6 of 101 Restaurants in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Apres 20h00 uniquement sur reservation Le midi: plat du jour 9,70 euros avec un verre de vin(10 cl) offert. Le soir : un menu unique qui change tous les jours, (entree, plat du jour, dessert) 18,00 euros
Virginia Beach
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Joyous Evening”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We just toured in 3 European countries, and by far the most fun and joyous meal of the trip was at Le Volet qui Penche. We also had the best wine of the trip there, even though we dined in several more expensive restaurants. Our 3 course dinner was very good - not haute cuisine, but flavorful and well presented. More importantly, Pierre-Henri was charming and fostered a friendly, welcoming atmosphere in this tiny place. We lingered over dinner and wine because we talked for a long time with 3 British tourists at the next table, then Pierre-Henri joined the conversation for a fun-filled, memorable evening. Get some help from a GPS or perhaps the Tourist Office to find the restaurant, as the tiny street is not marked. It is across the main street from the Tourist Office, along the water .

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank virginia70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    164
    42
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Drink on!!!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Great spot to try some amazing French wines... do not be intimidated English-speakers! All those who work there speak fluent English and help you as much as possible to have an enjoyable night with amazing wine and food.

Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank etaetaeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montvale, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Upon our arrival in Bayeux from Paris we wanted to grab a light lunch before commencing with our Normandy tour. Our tour guide, Mathias LecLere - owner of D-Day Guided Tours (OUTSTANDING tour guide) - suggested we eat at Le Volet qui Penche. It was right by our hotel (Hotel Villa Lara - a must stay when in Bayeux) and he said it would be perfect for a quick bite/cheese platter. Well a quick bite became a 1.5 hour dining and wine extravaganza...we loved it and its owner, Pierre. Pierre has a very charming and welcoming personality and we found him very engaging and entertaining. He treated us like guests in his home. If we didn't have to head out to St Mere Eglise we would have stayed even longer; we were that comfortable in this quaint setting. In fact, as we were leaving Pierre ran up to me, tugged at my arm and presented me with a gift...a bottle of Bordeaux for us to take with us!! There is no doubt we will dine here again during our next visit to Bayeux. Thank you, Pierre!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“A Great Night”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stumbled across this bistro while exploring the streets of Bayeux. Pierre was a very welcoming host to my wife and two teenage sons. Very eager to make our time in his beautiful wine bar a night to remember. Food was devine and the wine even more! My sons are still talking about our great night we had. For my family this was a truly French experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful last meal in France!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had just finished a D-Day tour and our guide Mathias (D-Day Guided tours - a must do by the way!) recommended Le Volet qui Penche. I was traveling with my ten and fifteen year old kids and we were exhaused. This was perfect and the owner Pierre-Henri was delightful. He made us feel like we were guests in his home, joked with the kids and gave us a great table overlooking the river. The food and wine were excellent and I brought home two bottles of what I had for dinner. What a wonderful way to end our time in France. French food, wine and hospitality at its best!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMwoolfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Volet qui Penche also viewed

 

Been to Le Volet qui Penche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing