We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really a restaurant”

Le Volet qui Penche
Ranked #6 of 101 Restaurants in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Apres 20h00 uniquement sur reservation Le midi: plat du jour 9,70 euros avec un verre de vin(10 cl) offert. Le soir : un menu unique qui change tous les jours, (entree, plat du jour, dessert) 18,00 euros
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not really a restaurant”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is more a wine shop than a restaurant. However, we had an excellent 3 course meal for about 16 euros which was very good value for the excellent quality and quantity of what we had. I am giving this only stars as to be a top RESTAURANT there should be more than 1 choice of main course.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jimjim47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    164
    42
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best wine selection in Bayeux!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stopped by with my Dad and got charcuterie which was really good. Pierre took excellent care of us the whole time, and has a great sense of humor. Picked me several good glasses of wine to try.

The building is right in the heart of Bayeux, on the stream. Inside it is new with hardwood flooring and lots of wine shelves.

Overall a great place to check out for some small portions, and a glass of wine. I'm giving it 3 stars for value, because it is not cheap, but you get what you pay for.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What an evening !”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Walking by and stoping to look at the menu the owner stepped out ant started talking and explaining the concept of his wine bar / restaurant. He made me want to try it out... and I am so glad I did. The are few choices to the menu but everything was excellent. The possibilities to taste different wines is trully appreciated. Especially since the owner really know a lot about wine. If I ever have the chance to go back to Bayeux, one thing I'm sure of is that I'm going back to the Volet qui Penche !

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank plannerHaolic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful meal!”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The owner, Pierre Henri, told us that this is a wine bar that sells food also and not really a restaurant. We told him that it was a wonderful restaurant for not really being a restaurant. We had a lovely meal. They serve a limited menu each night. Very simple and traditional. And the wine was fabulous. We joined them the next evening for the party for Beaujolais Nouveau and had a great time. The owner and staff are very fun and friendly and really added to the experience. We would highly recommend it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lkmdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Small but cosy”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Visited here for lunch. Its very small with only very few tables, and some seating at a counter. It seems to be very much a one man operation, with just one guy serving and cooking behind this small bar counter. Special of the day was a piece of grilled beef. Very tasty and very reasonably priced. Got talking to customers who recommended we visit the market on Saturday morning at the square(which we did) Its worth a visit for good selection of fresh food stuff.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rocky17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Volet qui Penche also viewed

 

Been to Le Volet qui Penche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing