We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage at the end of a tranquil...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
View from the sitting room
Autumn at Le Moulin des Essards
Streamside walk in our 'wild' meadow
Le Forêt de Cerisy
Les Etangs de Planquery
Cafe at the Chateau de Balleroy
Bayeux, Medieval Festival
Bayeux
Omaha Beach
Port-en-Bessin
Ste Honorine des Pertes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bayeux, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
daverG762...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage at the end of a tranquil country lane”
Reviewed July 31, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

A fantastic gite in a beautiful location. Positioned next to an old mill and stream that once powered it, the gite has the master bedroom and bathroom on lower ground, open-plan kitchen and living at ground floor with a twin bedroom in the roof at first floor. Well equipped and simply but tastefully furnished, it was perfect for our family. So quiet and peaceful, yet easy access to Bayeux and the D-Day beaches.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2017
Glad you had a good time here, thanks for the great review. Come again anytime! Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FordPumas
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quiet rural gite”
Reviewed October 12, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Husband and I stayed for a week at the end of September 2016. The gite is really cosy, simple but with everything needed for a comfortable stay. The kitchen area, just off the living room, packs in a dishwasher, fridge with freezer compartment, hob, oven with grill, (plus - teapot included! Which is not always the case with holiday lets in Europe) The only bathroom (shower only no bath) is downstairs, next to the double bedroom (comfortable bed) - great shower, loads of hot water and a superb bathroom heater which soon warms up the room. There is a washing machine tucked in under the stair well and the door to the garden is on this lower level. The 2nd bedroom is on the top floor- 2 single and very comfy beds. We didn't use the wood burner as it wasn't quite cold enough for that. Really appreciated the WiFi connection (but mobile phone signal is poor). The property is full of character and very quiet- at the end of a narrow lane. No passing traffic (unless you count a horse and rider and the post van as traffic!). The parking is off road, about 30 metres up the lane from the gite- outside another building belonging to the owners. Talking of the owners Stephen and Caroline live next door and were very welcoming and would be there to help if needed. Only downside to the property would be, that the gite is not suitable for anyone with significant mobility problems as there are 3 uneven steps up to the front door (no hand rail) and with the bathroom and toilet on the lower floor you need to be able to easily negotiate the steep spiral wooden stairs and if you are sleeping in the upstairs bedroom it's a long way down to the loo! But that apart, this is a super place and great for exploring Normandy. Bayeux is about 30 mins away, Normandy beaches about 45mins. But the position of this gite also makes it not too long a journey to get to Mont Saint Michel and the Swiss Normande area. Tip for anyone looking for a supermarket open on a Sunday- there is an Intermarche just off the D126 Route d'Esquay sur Seulles on the east side of Bayeux, Sunday hours are 9am to 12.30pm. I know there may be smaller stores in nearer villages that may be open on a Sunday - but this supermarket was very useful as the large Supermarkets (Carrefour etc) do not open on Sundays at all (unlike in the UK).

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rural setting
Liked least: steep stairs in the property, but these are in keeping with the age and type of building.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2016
Thanks for the comprehensive review, always appreciated. Glad you had a good time here and found plenty to do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyTrav...
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Little gem of a cottage”
Reviewed May 12, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This was our second visit to Le Moulin des Essards, this time with our children, 3 & 6. The cottage has had a few upgrades of heating and bathroom since our last visit in 2009, making it even better. It is a sweet cottage by a former mill with an uninterrupted view across a meadow and the restful sound of the mill stream nearby. It has all that a family could want for a pleasant holiday. The English owners are friendly and helpful. The area has plenty to do.

We visited in April in fairly cold weather. The cottage had good electric radiators in all the rooms plus a large free supply of logs for the woodburning stove which meant we were toasty warm. (Despite running the radiators on a constant low temperature all week we only paid £10 extra in electricity). The twin room is in the attic and stairs are wooden and a bit steep but our 3 year old was fine on them. We did take a travel stairgate but it proved unnecessary. The bathroom and the double bedroom are two flights down from the twin room so we found it helpful to have a baby monitor so we could hear when our 6 year old was up going to the toilet at night so we could help her.

We were really pleased to find good wifi at the cottage which helped enormously when planning where to go and what to do. There was a TV & DVD player (but no television service). There was a bluetooth-enabled stereo for enjoying our own music. Don't worry about the security deposit. Ours has been returned promptly both times - we didn't clean the cottage from top to bottom on leaving, just simply tidied it up to how it was when we arrived.

The setting of the cottage is great with walking from the door on local lanes and in the owners' wood where there is an interesting cave, "Le Trou de Diable", to look into. There are plenty of birds to watch from the windows and the owners had left a pair of binoculars which was handy. The local town, Balleroy, has a friendly cafe and, if you ask, they are happy for you to buy your morning pastries at the bakers and bring them to the cafe to eat with your coffee. There is a lovely big forest nearby to explore with walks and plenty of den-building fun to be had. The small Balleroy supermarket is fine for bits, plus there is a bakers and a butchers, and there are good supermarkets in nearby towns, as well as weekly markets somewhere most days. Beware that, as in much of France, many places only open for a few hours on Sunday mornings and are closed on Mondays. The Balleroy Chateau is definitely worth a visit - they do tours in English. Further afield, Bayeux, the Normandy beaches and the rest of Normandy are easily accessible and delightful.

A fabulous holiday destination. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting of the cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2016
Thanks for the lovely review, it's always good to hear other folks views of our property and surroundings. We like it, it's good to hear you did too. Glad you enjoyed the local bird-life, come again and you might catch the kingfisher having his breakfast in the tree opposite!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
19mary64
kenilworth
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautifully peaceful and comfortable”
Reviewed March 30, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was a really peaceful gite. The freely available logs and wood burning stove made evenings very cosy. Electric heaters in other rooms meant the house was warm enough. The beds were very comfortable and the bed linen we hired of very good quality. The Wi fi was excellent. The stairs were quite steep so it may not be a suitable property for anyone with mobility issues and I would be uncertain with very small children although they do have stair gates. The property is easy to find and not far from many places of interest. There are many useful information leaflets and a reasonable selection of books, DVDs and games.

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful location and wood burning stove
Liked least: stairs
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2016
Thanks for the lovely review, and so pleased you enjoyed yourselves here. Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty cottage in idyllic setting”
Reviewed February 22, 2016 for a stay in October 2015

The owners of the cottage could not have done more to be helpful and make us welcome. We particularly enjoyed the constant supply of logs for the cosy woodburner. The cottage is quaint and warm and roomy enough for 3 adults & 2 little ones. Constant hot water and comfy beds. In a central location in the middle of pretty countryside, thogh further from the D-day beaches than we would have liked to be.

Date of stay: October 2015
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2016
Glad you enjoyed your time here, a pleasure having you. Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WimVds
Leuven, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful home to explore Normandy”
Reviewed February 22, 2016 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed here for a week and visited the many locations in the area. The house is ideally located to do this : Caen, Bayeux, the landing beaches and Mont-Saint-Michel can all easily be reached. The house is situated at the end of a road, so there is no passing trafic and you really enjoy the rest of the country side. The house itself is romantic, yet fully equipped with everything you need. We simply loved the place and can very much recommend.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility, the complete offering
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2016
Thank you, we're glad you had a good time here, you're welcome back any time we're free. Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2016
Thank you, we're glad you had a good time here, you're welcome back any time we're free. Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing