We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Churchill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Churchill
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

I spent three nights at this hotel while doing tours of the D Day landings in Normandy.
Very helpful staff, comfy bedroom with adequate bathroom. Only drawback no elevator, but that was not a problem in this 1850 building. Continental breakfast served, no restaurant, but right on the square where tours take of from and close to Bayeux tapestry and cathedral and dozens of restaurants.
Really enjoyed my stay in this lovely town undamaged during the war..

Room Tip: All rooms quit, mine was on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Essenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    357
    76
    17
    5
See reviews for
291
502
46
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Got here on a Thursday afternoon and there was only one room left, a cozy, romantic loft room at a very reasonable price, including a great breakfast. The location is perhaps the best in Bayeux, and the staff was extremely pleasant (in particular the night receptionist/bartender/concierge) :-)

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Our family of 5 recently stayed at the Churchill. We were able to stay in one room which is unusual in Europe. Our room had a lofted area. The hotel is old but, charming and quaint and full of character and although old, it was clean. It is located centrally in town as well as perfectly situated to sight see the D-Day beaches or head to Mont-St- Michel. Breakfast is available, the staff it friendly and helpful. You have to pay a small fee for parking with the exception of Sunday. And something new for us, you need to leave your key when you go out, hung on a vintage key rack. This was a little unsettling, not sure how they keep track of whose is whose and it is not behind the desk. With that being said it was a great experience, we loved the history.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We recently returned from a trip to Bayeux and had booked the Churchill due to TripAdvisor reviews. What a disappointment. Here is the good: Wonderful young man and older gentleman at front desk were very nice and accomodating. For them, I would give 5 stars! (and the only reason this hotel got 2 stars) Location is good - however Bayeux is small and there were many hotels close by. Now for the room- old and tired looking, musty, drapes hanging off of window, and carpet needed to be vaccummed. We had come to Bayeux from Paris specifically for a Normandy tour which was leaving the following morning. Our tour started at 8:30am so we paid for our room the night before and also bought their breakfast as it was a Sunday and we didn't know what was open and how long it would take us. We got up early Sunday morning to shower but that was not to be. I ran water in the tub and realized the water was not going down. My husband immediately went downstairs to get help. A man came up and tried to fix the drain as it was stuck. He apologized and said he could not fix it. He also stated that they had had this same problem the week before. (Really? Why wasn't it fixed? ) We asked if another room was available but he said they were full. He also told us the owner knew how to fix it but was busy downstairs getting breakfast ready and could not be disturbed and would not come up. We immediately started washing up in the sink as by now 1/2 hour had gone by and we needed to make our tour bus on time. Naturally, while washing in the sink, water spilled on the floor. I went to wipe it up and was shocked at how dirty the towel was! Finally, the owner or woman - don't know who she was comes upstairs. By this time, we are dressed. They go into the bathroom, work on it awhile, and finally fix it. When she came out she told me it was fixed. I told her we didn't have time to shower as we had to be on time for our tour- she just looked at me and said "Sorry!" very nastily.
We went down for breakfast - if you could call it that. Rolls, cereal, and what looked like canned fruit. We ate very little as we were rushing to get to our tour.
There was no offer to refund the money we spent for this room. When I rent a room, I expect to have a working shower- not a bath in the sink! Find another hotel in Bayeux - you will be much happier!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank counselor18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric P, Propriétaire at Hotel Churchill, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We apologize for the problem you had with the bath water that did not drain
The lady of the staff and the night clerk went to faster than it was 7 02 am, it was enough to turn the discharge button and it worked well
this is a problem that customers often because it is a system they do not know how to use but it works very well, you just turn in the right direction
You say that you took your shower in the sink but this is not possible because there was water in the tub
the lady told she was sorry while being polite but just a little upset because she was very busy with breakfast
your husband was more understanding and friendly and when you check out, you have not reported and did not complain
We are listening to our reviews clents to improve our service and maintain our good reputation
We prefer as you say that clients in bad faith staying in other hotels and not at churchill.
Eric PEAN The manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in June and really loved it. It is very centrally located almost on the main road but with a nice quiet entrance and within walking distance of all the popular sites. It is an old building that has been beautifully maintained. The hotel has lots of character and is filled with war memorabilia. We had a really nice room overlooking the entrance but another couple in our group was not happy with their room as theirs was small and dark and had no outlook so it seems pretty important to ask for a good room. The staff were very friendly and spoke good English. I thought the breakfast was really good. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
272 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Located right in the center if town (about 3 doors from the Visitor Center). Great staff, nice clean rooms, courtyard sitting area, breakfast available for extra charge.
On arrival, best if you find you way to back entrance where the parking is and you can unload your car--no space in front, street is often closed to vehicles. Parking is public and needs to be paid, even for the 6 spaces close to hotel--but still not major I convince.
We had a lovely stay here and would pick this hotel again when we return.

Room Tip: This makes a great base for D-day sightseeing trips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

I read all the reviews and was very excited to stay here. First, the hotel is in a great location and it was nice to be able to walk everywhere. Rooms, however are small, musty, and old and the comforter needs to be updated. Room 208 was up 2 flights of winding stairs and then down 5 stairs. This was not fun with 2 heavy suitcases and no elevator. Also when we asked why we couldn't get on wi-fi, we were told it doesn't work that well in our room. Breakfast was 14 Euro for 2 teas and some bread in a basket - not worth it! And there was not a coffee maker in the room. Maybe I just expected more. It is fine to stay here since the room was clean, but it would not be my first choice.

Room Tip: DO NOT stay in room 208.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Churchill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Churchill

Property: Hotel Churchill
Address: 14 rue Saint Jean, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
#2 Family Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Churchill 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive hotel on a pedestrian street in the heart of old Bayeux in Normandy.A charming hotel where history and memory trade tails.2 minutes from the famous tapestry and the cathedral and from Place de Quebec the pick up point for all excursions departing to the Dday landing beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Churchill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing