We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Churchill would be proud” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Churchill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Churchill
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
162 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Churchill would be proud”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in 2013 for 3 days while visiting Normandy beaches. It was a great place to stay to allow trips to all the beaches. Old world cosy hotel. No lift and top floor room took a bit of work. I stayed in a room overlooking back of hotel which was quiet. The road outside was busy so would ask for room in back. Car parking available behind the hotel. There is a beautiful stream behind the hotel so go for a walk after dinner.
The tapestry and the cathedral are well worth a visit.
I would strongly recommend dinner in Le Rapiere wonderful restaurant just down the road. I would recommend this hotel. Looks like they got rid of the WWII jeep they had outside when I stayed from the picture.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    357
    76
    17
    5
See reviews for
291
503
46
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

A lovely part of visiting Bayeux was the Hotel Churchill last summer. It was very clean. The meals in the morning was lovely lovely. Darling women waited on us. The rooms were charming and the beds were a delight. We opened the windows in July and it was so peaceful and quiet. No elevator but the the stairs were wide and and easy climb. Price was very affordable and the staff was super sweet to my 14 and 19 year old boys!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Ideally situated off a quiet street (other than on Wednesday when the weekly market sets up) and close to the cathedral and Tapestry Museum, it would be hard to fault this hotel. It has the feel of being small but yet has many bedrooms.
My room was very clean, bathroom was up to modern standards, breakfast (it is a B&B establishment rather than a fully servicing hotel) was more than adequate. Many restaurants are nearby offering typical Normandy cuisine at inexpensive prices.
Staff were always cheerful and helpful. The hotel also offers a shuttle World War ll battle-field chauffeur tour service for which the hotel is ideally situated.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank normalguy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, California
Level Contributor
203 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Stayed here for two nights as our central point to tour the Normandy WWII battle sights. Bayeux is the best town from which to tour the sights.
The Churchill is located in the center of Bayeux which is a plus. The hotel is also right next to the Hotel Lara, a short walk to the Bayeux Tapestry and in the center of shops and restaurants.
Staff are very helpful.
Our room was a good size though the appointments were average. Breakfast also average in selection for a French hotel.
Avoid staying in room 15, it is right next to the reception desk which can make it a bit noisy.
If we have another visit to Bayeux we would try another hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid room 15 and rooms that would be facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eurotraveler280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Bayeaux is a very charming town close to the Normandy landing area and home of the famous tapestry.The Churchill Hotel is beautiful & located neat the Tapestry Museum.The staff spoke English well & were very helpful. They gave great restaurant recommendations.Breakfast is not included & you must pay for parking .Rooms are small but very clean.Overall a very nicehotel with los of WW2 photos.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

This hotel was in a great location with several restaurants nearby. Breakfast was not included, but you could buy a nice cold buffet breakfast, WiFi was included. The room was quite small, but sufficient for the one night that we stayed there. The price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a lovely time in Bayeux, at the Hotel Churchill, a walk away from the Bayeux Tapestry museum, and just around the corner from the Bayeux Cathedral, the hotel was clean and the proprietor friendly and welcoming. The receptionist was very helpful suggesting good local restaurants to choose from. There was good parking nearby for our hire car.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maxnkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Churchill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Churchill

Property: Hotel Churchill
Address: 14 rue Saint Jean, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
#2 Family Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Churchill 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive hotel on a pedestrian street in the heart of old Bayeux in Normandy.A charming hotel where history and memory trade tails.2 minutes from the famous tapestry and the cathedral and from Place de Quebec the pick up point for all excursions departing to the Dday landing beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Churchill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing