We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Specialist in Service!”
Review of Hotel Churchill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Churchill
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I routinely take large tours to Bayeux, so that we may conduct Canadian Battlefields Tours throughout the Juno Beach sector - the Churchill was/is/will remain the BEST Hotel in the region. The service (from the fine new owner, Eric, to the overnight staff, Siad & Daniel) is exemplary. The rooms are the most comfortable and the location of the Churchill is ideal. The price of the rooms may put-one-off initially, but the quality of the experience at the Churchill is well-worth it...imagine awaking at 5:30am to the smell of fresh-baked Norman Baguette! Imagine going to bed at 11pm, with an unimpeded view of that gorgeous Cathedral? Nothing can parallel at stay at the Churchill. One caution: it is SO popular that availability is always an issue....so book early & book often!

Room Tip: Stay on the courtyard side of the Churchill, if you are one to be bothered by early morning street n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank orfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

480 - 486 of 1,204 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

Had stayed here once before, very pleased with it then, just as satisfied now. Room was clean and quiet (although typically small). Lots of hot water in the shower (no tub), and plenty of heat for the room once we realized we had to ask the front desk to turn it on. I was concerned about the possibility of noise as we were right across the roadway from the front entrance but not a problem. We took the continental bkft at 6 Euros/person and it was adequate for what we wanted. A larger bkft was available but I don't recall the cost of it. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 12 and would choose it again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fisherman4043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

What a great start to our holiday in France. The hotel was wonderful. We especially liked all the pictures and memorabilia scatters throughout the hotel. Our room was quite comfortable, with a bathroom loaded with shelves. The staff couldn't have been more gracious and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

In Sept. 2012, we were unable to get a reservation at the Churchill. The owners also owned the Hotel Laura, which is next door to the Churchill and is newer. The a Hotel Laura was amazing! We had a beautiful king room that had windows that opened up to a view of the Cathedral. All luxury amenities, toiletries, towels, robes. The owners and staff want you to have a comfortable and unforgettable stay. Breakfast each morning is made to order. They have a small fitness center, but definitely adequate. They have an evening happy hour. And you can easily get over to the Churchill to see that hotel and look at some of the historical pictures from the war. Great location, walkable to anywhere... Including the British cemetery and WWII museum. We also heard the Churchill is also amazing. And, the Churchill/Hotel Laura have a daily shuttle to Monte St. Michel for a very reasonable cost. The driver gives you all the good ideas on how to cover the place and gives a quick tour on the walk up (a less crowded, special access) and keeps us from waiting in line for tickets to tour. When we come back to Normandy, we will stay here. Kudos to the owners and staff!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in a very modest but comfortable room. Front desk personelle, Eric? was vey friendly and helpful. The stairs were bait difficult to manage with our bags and the our view of mechanical equipment was a bit disappointing in such a beautiful town. We did book last minute however on a busy weekend and were grateful for friendly service and comfortable room in an excellent location.

Room Tip: aks for a view if that's important to you, our window looked out on mechanical equipment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This was exactly what my husband and I were looking for. We were here on a three day visit to Bayeux. The town is a wonderful little gem of old cobblestone streets and quaint shops. The location of the hotel is perfect. You are a very short walk (5 minutes) from the train station, a block from the tapestry or the main street or the cathedral.

The hotel itself is warm and cozy. The rooms have a historic feel but are very clean and modernized inside. The hotel walls are covered with old newspapers, memorabilia, photos, etc. from WWII. It is very much like a little museum you feel comfortable walking through. The breakfast is very nice: there is the usual bread and pastry option but plenty of fresh fruit, eggs, etc. to satisfy a larger appetite.

We were very happy with the staff, too. They were consistently helpful to my husband and I, no matter who was speaking. You see, I speak fluent French, my husband does not. The staff was incredibly friendly no matter which one of us asked a question (where should we grab lunch? what is the best way to get to Mt. St. Michel? what is the nicest place to go for dinner? etc.). Overall we would both highly recommend the hotel to anyone who wants to have a good visit here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lsquared79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The hotel is handy in every way. There is parking out the back and it's a very short walk to the Tapestry, restaurants and the Cathedral. It is also right next door to a supermarket and the gift shop at the front is really nice. Breakfasts are served beautifully and the owner and his team are so hospitable. The hotel itself is an older building and so the rooms are in some interesting places - be prepared to climb stairs. The bathrooms are modern and clean.
The ONLY area that needs attention is the WiFi. It was good in the reception area (until a bunch of Apple-Mac-toting students all tried simultaneously to push their photos to the cloud!) but it faded out in the rooms. Other than that, perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jobbo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
721 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
1,014 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,455 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 21 in Bayeux
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Churchill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Churchill

Address: 14 rue Saint Jean, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bayeux
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range: $81 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Churchill 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive hotel on a pedestrian street in the heart of old Bayeux in Normandy.A charming hotel where history and memory trade tails.2 minutes from the famous tapestry and the cathedral and from Place de Quebec the pick up point for all excursions departing to the Dday landing beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Churchill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing