We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Churchill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Churchill
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

From start to finish we experienced only the best at this hotel. Our room was tastefully decorated in the French style and our bathroom was clean, big and ultra modern. The entire staff was courteous and helpful at all times. The breakfast was elegant and more than substantial with a variety of tasty French treats,fruit,cereals etc. We had a room overlooking the pedestrian only street where one morning there was an outdoor market. We opened our French door windows and the flower vendor said bonjour-what a lovely way to start a morning in the lovely town of bayeux!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roma Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    367
    77
    17
    5
See reviews for
300
512
46
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Umea
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

A great location for exploring the D-day landing sites. Friendly staff and spatious, clean room.
Poor quality, overpriced breakfast with supermarket yoghurt, tasteless croissants and low quality marmalade. Parking is a serious problem in all of Bayeaux, 1euro/hour you can max pay 3hrs at one time. The hotel does not have a parking for customers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ylvalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel was nice and quite charming. It was a good place to stay in Bayeux. We liked all the displayed WWII photos, old newspapers, etc. IT was like stepping back in time. Everything was as I expected it would be in an old property in Normandy. Like most places outside Paris, there is no air conditioning or elevator. These are not negatives, just the environment. In July when the weather was "hot" according to Normandy standards, the room was sufficiently cooled with open windows. By the way, "hot" was about 80 degrees F with almost no humidity. The 2 rooms we stayed in were comfortable and clean. The staff was pleasant and quickly corrected a room assignment mistake. They provided help with restaurant selections in town. Good place, nice town. Great locale for touring the Normandy invasion sites.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susana820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel definitely is charming and in a great location. However, it is old (but seemed well kept on the outside) and there was no elevator of which I was not made aware before booking. It was very, very difficult to carry suitcases up and down the stairs, for some, 2 floors up a spiral staircase, both on arrival and departure. The room I was in was in need of an update, it was somewhat dark and not very inviting, but the bathroom was like new.

There are lots of WWII related pictures which were very charming, it was almost like a museum and I enjoyed seeing their collection of ephemera very much.

There was frequent hallway noise in the evening from kids running up and down the hall, and also playing on the balcony area nearby. It might be a suggestion for the hotel to advise parents to supervise their kids when out on the 1st floor balcony to keep the noise level down to rooms nearby.

There were questionable attitudes by the staff - who for the most part were quite nice. But, no matter the situation or a personal opinion, whether right or wrong, a guest should never be treated rudely.

The dining area was lovely and the breakfast was adequate; the woman who helped serve in the morning was absolutely a delight, amazingly friendly and there to be certain everything was just right.

I am not sure I would stay at the Churchill again, but I am happy to have had this chance to be in Bayeux.

Room Tip: I understand some rooms are larger than others...ask for a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tourleader310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Hotel Churchill. It is conveniently located in the center of town. Although the hotel is older, it has been pretty well taken care of. Our room was on the small side when compared to rooms in the US, as is apparently typical of most European hotels. The bathroom was quite small, but has been updated with modern fixtures. The staff was friendly and helpful. Although our room faced the street, we did not find the noise objectionable. Bayeux is a great place to stay to visit the Normandy beaches, as it is just a few miles away from them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comebacktotexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

While I agree this hotel has a great location which is convenient to the town, I would not stay here again nor would I recommend. The staff is rude and unpleasant, the rooms small, cramped and unattractive, and no elevator so you will tote your bags up one or two flights of stairs.

Many rooms are very noisy especially those facing the street as there is a continual stream of tourists and the restaurant across the street has outside seating late into the evening.

We have never had to deal with such rude staff - French folks at their worst behavior. Do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you must stay here make sure you don't get a room that faces the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank onthegoTwainHarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
churchillBayeux, Propriétaire at Hotel Churchill, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Client,

We are sorry that you are not enjoy of your stay at the churchill hotel
this is the first time that we have such a comment on the bedding which have been recently changed.
Without stopping, you had extravagant demands (eg, demand for heating and Airconditioning at the same time)
The rooms facing the street have double glazing and are not noisy.
Your stay was during the preparations of the medieval festival in the city and it was a bit busier than usual.
The other participants in your group have also noticed your permanent dissatisfaction.
The hotel staff always made ​​every effort to satisfaify our clients who are forever grateful.
Regards
The manager
Eric Péan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

The trip to Bayeux was very worthwhile it. We stayed in a family room which has a loft area with two single rooms for the kids to stay, The hotel is located in the city centre and next to supermarket.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JChan12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Churchill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Churchill

Property: Hotel Churchill
Address: 14 rue Saint Jean, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
#2 Family Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Churchill 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive hotel on a pedestrian street in the heart of old Bayeux in Normandy.A charming hotel where history and memory trade tails.2 minutes from the famous tapestry and the cathedral and from Place de Quebec the pick up point for all excursions departing to the Dday landing beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Churchill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing