We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for Normandy trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Churchill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Churchill
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Canton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel for Normandy trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Churchill and couldn't have been happier with it. When we did our research for the trip, we read many reviews and narrowed our Bayeux hotel to a couple of choices. In the end we selected the Churchill because of its historical name. Turns out, it is perfectly situated in the center of Bayeux, easy walking to many restaurants and sites. The staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful. They suggested restaurants and made our dinner reservations each night. When we returned from a long, rainy day at the D Day beaches, I relaxed with a delicious mug of hot chocolate. We also took advantage of the hotel shuttle to Mont St Michel. We would stay here again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    357
    76
    17
    5
See reviews for
291
503
46
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fontainebleau, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here with our two small children. The location is perfect - no need to drive anywhere, everything you could possibly want to see in Bayeux is within walking distance (sights and restaurants). Friendly people work here! The woman who takes care of the breakfast is the friendliest breakfast woman in all of France! The family room we had had beds for us all, sort of small, but great to be all in one room in France. Nice, inviting common areas that you are welcome to use (and books in the library for you to read). We will stay here again next time we are in the area, and highly recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjh529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, using Bayeux as our base to explore the D-Day Beaches and Le Mont St. Michel. The staff were welcoming,friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable and clean, overlooking the patio with the Cathedral in the background. Breakfast was very good, a good selection of fruit, cereal, meats and cheeses, and the hot chocolate was excellent. The Bayeux Tapestry was just around the corner, and the Cathedral only a block away. Lots of restaurants to choose from, and we enjoyed walking around the city. We also took the hotel shuttle to Le Mont St. Michel, which saved us from having to rent a car. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jedned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

The room was small and on ground floor so we had a bit of noise ( I would spend a bit more and upgrade as we had the least expensive room). The staff is fabulous and after a long day you can sit on the patio and have wine( with the Nicest server) -- breakfast is extra but worth the price if you have a morning tour -- you can also just order coffee and it is served on a tray in a silver pot. We used the shuttle to Mt st Michel and is fantastic -- our driver francoise gave us a history lesson on the way -- only 8 people in the van. I would highly recommend and the tapestry is right across the street and restaurants are in walking distance as is the Cathedral--

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Traveling with our 26 year old son to Normandy battle sites, this was the perfect "home base" hotel in the lovely town of Bayeux. We shared a 2 BR suite, plenty of room for all of us, and super comfortable. The hotel has recently changed to new owners and they were on site from before dawn to midnight, making sure everything was perfect for their guests. The WWII focused decor added to the experience. Bayeux, with its many wonderful winding streets and charming canal, is right outside your door.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phyllis92104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

There is not not much to add to the many positive reviews. This is a small, older, and charming hotel in the heart of Bayeux. We had to park our car down the street. We had a spacious room which was big enough and comfortable enough for three adult guests in our party. Or room was clean and comfortable. We awoke on a sunny Sunday morning to the glorious sound of cathedral bells ringing nearby, and had a tasty continental breakfast in a charming glass-enclosed breakfast room. Bayeux is a good place to stay to tour the Normandy D-Day beaches. Warning: there is no elevator, so be prepared to lug your bags upstairs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EpicureanLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We spent 5 nights in the Hotel Churchill and found it to be one of the best places we have ever stayed. The location is central, near the Cathedral and within a short walk from the British Cemetery and War Museum. It backs onto the main street. The gift shop has numerous items that represent the area, hand made crafts and is reasonably priced. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful, making our stay comfortable and pleasant. The room, while small (not unusual for a European boutique hotel) was updated and comfortable with a view overlooking Place de Quebec and the cathedral. Overall, it was the staff that made the difference. We also took their tour of Mont St. Michel. Our driver Francois, was great. Lots of information, very helpful and even made a special stop for 2 of the guests which took him a bit out of his way. A terrific experience all around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newt1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Churchill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Churchill

Property: Hotel Churchill
Address: 14 rue Saint Jean, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bayeux
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Churchill 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive hotel on a pedestrian street in the heart of old Bayeux in Normandy.A charming hotel where history and memory trade tails.2 minutes from the famous tapestry and the cathedral and from Place de Quebec the pick up point for all excursions departing to the Dday landing beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Churchill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing