We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well run hotel, centrally located” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Churchill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Churchill
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well run hotel, centrally located”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

First class hotel, well run by accommodating staff and in the very heart of things.

Convenient public parking is located behind the hotel, so take the first right past the hotel, and another right -- you will find yourself facing the very attractive rear of the hotel. You can unload your luggage there. Reception is close. You will have to feed the meter (coins needed) from mid morning until early evening. Cathedral and tapestry are both a short walk away.

Room Tip: You may have to beg to get one of the few rooms facing the cathedral -- worth the begging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling-Alejandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    357
    76
    17
    5
See reviews for
291
503
46
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Only here for one night. New owner says he only has been here 3 months. Everything seems like a fresh remodel. Friendly. Great spot in Bayeux. We also have Rm 112. Not the largest room (by American Standards) by absolutely OK. Very Clean. English spoken. I'd come back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sgansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

After spending a few nights in paris, our family of four did a 2 day side trip to normandy (kids - ages 7 and 10) and did one night in bayeux and one night in honfleur. Hotel Churchill was a perfect pick for a few reasons - first, it is perfectly located to walk around the city - just steps to the Bayeux Tapestry, the Cathedral and pick up for the D Day tours. Second, room #14 is perfect for families because it has 2 levels - the main level with the queen and bathroom (very large nice bathroom) and the second level with 2 twin beds for the kids. Third, the hotel manager was very friendly with dinner suggestions and helpful hints.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenanddre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA-Southeast
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Churchill for 2 nights in April. Our room was on the bottom floor with a window opening out into the alleyway/walkway that was used by hotel guests and residents. The pedestrian noise was quite loud at times and even with earplugs, I was awakened at night by people walking through (ask for an upstairs room if you're a light sleeper). Our room was very small. This hotel was among the most expensive during our stay in France (second only to our room in Paris, which was much larger and had a view of the Eiffel tower!), so I was disappointed by the size. There was only 1 chair, so the other guest had to sit on the bed. The luggage rack was at the foot of the bed and with it opened, there was barely any room to walk to the other side of the bed--I had to climb over the bed to get into my side. The closet was so small and shallow that the hangers would only fit *turned sideways*, thus severely limiting how much could be put in there/what could be hung up inside. This room truly should have only had a single/twin-sized bed--it was far too small for 2 people to stay in comfortably. The bathroom was disproportionately spacious. Despite the size of the bathroom, there weren't enough pegs/hooks to hang towels or toiletry bags. Also, the towels were very rough, thin and smallish. Overall, I would look into staying at another hotel or at a very minimum, request not to be placed in that room again--it was pretty ridiculous. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Daniel helped me make dinner reservations when I couldn't get through to the restaurant after several tries.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor rooms--I believe we were in room 10, but I'm not sure about that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krankenschwester600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayeux, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Only a one night stay but Had a great night sleep. The staff were great and communicated in English well. Certainly had lots of character and centrally located. So close to the Bayeux tapestry, MAHB museum and the cathedral. Very easy to find from the train station and close to a range of shops including pharmacy, grocery and tourist traps. Breakfast was nice and not too expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed in the Churchill on 26th April 2013 and this was my third stay! For anyone planning to visit the D-Days sites I would strongly recomend staying here as it's a great base and setting. There is a cark park but you do have to pay via a meter. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Planning to go back to Normandy later in the year and would look to stay for a fourth time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrickyTrevLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We enjoyed out tour of Normandy but one of the highlights was Hotel Churchill in Bayeux. The owners were friendly people who made us feel very welcome. They were accomodating, the room was nice and reasonably priced. Out the dood is the beautiful streets of Bayeux, where we spent hours walking and talking with shop owners.
The hotel was centrally located and convenient for tours of Normandy.
We really enjoyed visiting with the owners and even challenged him to a game of football.
What a great hotel!!
When we come back it will be just to see Bayeux and stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was near the back, quiet but looked out over Bayeux streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Churchill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Churchill

Property: Hotel Churchill
Address: 14 rue Saint Jean, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bayeux
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Churchill 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive hotel on a pedestrian street in the heart of old Bayeux in Normandy.A charming hotel where history and memory trade tails.2 minutes from the famous tapestry and the cathedral and from Place de Quebec the pick up point for all excursions departing to the Dday landing beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Churchill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing