We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey for what we got...”
Review of Hotel Churchill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Churchill
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Churchill for 2 nights in April. Our room was on the bottom floor with a window opening out into the alleyway/walkway that was used by hotel guests and residents. The pedestrian noise was quite loud at times and even with earplugs, I was awakened at night by people walking through (ask for an upstairs room if you're a light sleeper). Our room was very small. This hotel was among the most expensive during our stay in France (second only to our room in Paris, which was much larger and had a view of the Eiffel tower!), so I was disappointed by the size. There was only 1 chair, so the other guest had to sit on the bed. The luggage rack was at the foot of the bed and with it opened, there was barely any room to walk to the other side of the bed--I had to climb over the bed to get into my side. The closet was so small and shallow that the hangers would only fit *turned sideways*, thus severely limiting how much could be put in there/what could be hung up inside. This room truly should have only had a single/twin-sized bed--it was far too small for 2 people to stay in comfortably. The bathroom was disproportionately spacious. Despite the size of the bathroom, there weren't enough pegs/hooks to hang towels or toiletry bags. Also, the towels were very rough, thin and smallish. Overall, I would look into staying at another hotel or at a very minimum, request not to be placed in that room again--it was pretty ridiculous. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Daniel helped me make dinner reservations when I couldn't get through to the restaurant after several tries.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor rooms--I believe we were in room 10, but I'm not sure about that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank krankenschwester600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

570 - 576 of 1,208 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

Only a one night stay but Had a great night sleep. The staff were great and communicated in English well. Certainly had lots of character and centrally located. So close to the Bayeux tapestry, MAHB museum and the cathedral. Very easy to find from the train station and close to a range of shops including pharmacy, grocery and tourist traps. Breakfast was nice and not too expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed in the Churchill on 26th April 2013 and this was my third stay! For anyone planning to visit the D-Days sites I would strongly recomend staying here as it's a great base and setting. There is a cark park but you do have to pay via a meter. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Planning to go back to Normandy later in the year and would look to stay for a fourth time!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrickyTrevLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We enjoyed out tour of Normandy but one of the highlights was Hotel Churchill in Bayeux. The owners were friendly people who made us feel very welcome. They were accomodating, the room was nice and reasonably priced. Out the dood is the beautiful streets of Bayeux, where we spent hours walking and talking with shop owners.
The hotel was centrally located and convenient for tours of Normandy.
We really enjoyed visiting with the owners and even challenged him to a game of football.
What a great hotel!!
When we come back it will be just to see Bayeux and stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was near the back, quiet but looked out over Bayeux streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just finished 5 days at the Churchill Hotel,Bayeux. Great location in historic Bayeux. DId five nights and five great restaurants within walking distance. Staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. Lots of historic WWII picture and memorabilia.
Room size was good for European hotel. Very clean but dated and the beds need to be updated. Very noisy!
Recommended the Overlord tour and couldn't agree more. Great tour!
Would stay again, but not as long.

Room Tip: Stay off the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenneth432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel really captures Normandy's appeal. It is quaint with a very friendly staff that truly makes it feel like a family affair. The bedrooms are small (as expected in most of Europe) but very clean and bathrooms were updated and quite comfortable. Our kids enjoyed the in room WI-FI. The breakfast in the first floor dining area was wonderful, served with French country charm by an always pleasant waitress. The location is perfect for seeing the sights in Normandy such as the D-Day beaches, American Cemetery, Mont Saint Michel Abbey, Bayeux Tapestry, etc. The hotel provides a shuttle to Mont Saint Michel Abbey and our D-Day tour left from the square just outside of the hotel. The Bayeux Tapestry Museum is a 3 minute walk from the hotel and there were multiple restaurants we walked to from the hotel and we enjoyed all of these, as well. This was my second time to Normandy and my wife's fourth time and we have always stayed at this establishment, which is the best recommendation we can give. Lastly, though I do not believe this should be a requirement, English is spoken by everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at The Churchill Hotel in Bayeux for three nights in early April. The hotel is very conveniently located in this charming town. The rooms were comfortable and warm though a little small. The hotel is virtually on the main street (though there is no traffic noise), close to shops, a supermarket and cafes. The building housing the famous tapestry is a stones throw away and the bus tours for MSM and the D Day beaches leave from within a 100m of the hotel.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank NSW001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
1,034 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
734 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Churchill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Churchill

Address: 14 rue Saint Jean | Place de Québec en voiture, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bayeux
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range: $89 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Churchill 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive hotel on a pedestrian street in the heart of old Bayeux in Normandy.A charming hotel where history and memory trade tails.2 minutes from the famous tapestry and the cathedral and from Place de Quebec the pick up point for all excursions departing to the Dday landing beaches. And since June 2018, the hotel has built 14 new beautiful rooms in new part, with Privilege rooms and Junior suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Churchill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing