We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quaint & charming!”
Review of Hotel Churchill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Churchill
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“quaint & charming!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

this hotel is a lovely jewel in bayeux...right in the centre of town with easy access to restaurants, shops etc...the layout of the hotel is a bit confusing at first - lots of different staircases and levels to navigate - but the charming and helpful staff more than make up for it! the breakfast buffet was ample: juices, cereals, yogurts, cheese, meat, eggs and fruit. a basket of croissants, baguettes and pain au chocolat at each table. a perfect way to start the day! i forgot my converter at home and the gentleman at the front desk was more than happy to look through a drawer full of converters to find one that i could borrow. i would stay again!

Room Tip: i enjoyed my room on the top floor: #300 - it's an attic room and all tucked away by itself... y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling_monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    388
    84
    18
    7
See reviews for
323
533
48
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife and i came to Bayeux from Paris to visit (and honor) the WWII sites. The owners (i think husband and wife) are some of the nicest people you will meet. The hotel was great, first thing i noticed was how clean everything was. Great value, fantastic location, i would 100% stay here again. Highly recommended to all who are considering hotel churchill.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sblair22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was a relaxing place to stay after touring the WWII beaches. The hotel is not new and shiny, but instead, it is charming. Our breakfast was superb, and when I asked for a glass of wine late one evening, they out also put a small snack on the tray to take to my room. Quaint, thoughtful, personal, simple. Plenty of great dinner restaurants just around the corner, too. After a few touristy days in Paris, this town and hotel was a wonderful retreat. The owners also support local historic causes, which means a lot to those of us on historical tours.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia,PA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel is just lovely! I've stayed here on three separate occasions and each time has been great. It's quiet, but not too dull and very clean. The rooms are pretty basic, but really...what do you really need other than clean and confortable? The bathrooms, too are very clean and spacious. Overall, a great location for seeing Bayeux as well as the Normandy coast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TofuKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biscarrosse, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I decided to make Bayeux our home for two nights while we explored the Beaches of Normandy. We visited in late February and Hotel Churchill was the perfect accommodation for us: local, quiet, and comfortable. The owner Eric, and all staff were very friendly, professional and attentive to our needs making us feel at ease. The hotel is within 5 minutes of walking to some excellent restaurants, the cathedral and the tapestry museum. After long days of taking in the landing beaches of WWII, sampling the local cuisine, and walking around beautiful Bayeux, the rooms of Hotel Churchill are quite large and we were able to relax in comfort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank expat86_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure to stay at this very small and well-run hotel on the Normandy Coast. Visiting the landing beaches from WW2 was a long desired trip and we drove from Paris to stay at the Churchill. The rooms are small but comfortable, the bathroom modern. Our windows overlooked a courtyard and there was some noise but not to the point of annoyance. After arriving, one must walk to their room up a staircase as there are no elevators. We thought that the food menu was lacking and a bit expensive for the offerings. We chose to dine at other restaurants for wider choices. There are many restaurants to choose from within walking distance. We found the staff friendly and accommodating. A big plus is if you drive there, one can park for free in the rear. We were here in September of 2012 and the weather was superb.

Room Tip: Carrying luggage up to the 2nd floor is tough. If you have any issues climbing steps or lifting your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bc6152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here in July 2012 and found it to be a great place. It was little difficult to find for us - we ended up parking the car and walking around until we found it! Once we found it, the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was directly across from the office and breakfast room and just a few steps from restaurants and a grocery store. The location can't be beat and the property is a good value. It is within walking distance of everything!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
685 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,397 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 21 in Bayeux
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Churchill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Churchill

Property: Hotel Churchill
Address: 14 rue Saint Jean, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
#2 Family Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Churchill 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive hotel on a pedestrian street in the heart of old Bayeux in Normandy.A charming hotel where history and memory trade tails.2 minutes from the famous tapestry and the cathedral and from Place de Quebec the pick up point for all excursions departing to the Dday landing beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Churchill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing