We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting- Great service”
Review of Hotel Churchill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Churchill
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We spent 2 nights in beautiful Bayeux at Hotel Churchill. Even before we arrived we had received excellent and prompt service as I emailed with some questions regarding car rentals in the area. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly by the friendly receptionist and even though we were early we were allowed into our room, which had been upgraded! We were on the top floor of the main building and there is no elevator, which wasn't a problem for us but may be for some. Our room was large and had a spectacular view out toward the Cathedral. The bed was comfortable-we slept well and the bathroom spacious. We opted to purchase breakfast at the hotel- it was good- pastries, yogurt, eggs, cereal and great coffee. We walked from the train station, about 15 minutes, and the location right in the center of town was perfect for exploring the Tapestry, Cathedral and the many nice little shops and restaurants. But what made this hotel special for us was the exceptional service from all the staff we encountered. They seemed genuinely interested in us and always stopped to ask if we needed anything and to inquire how our day went. It was very pleasant and personal. We were going on to stay Mont Saint Michel and weren't sure where we were to park our car and Josiene (I think!) phoned the hotel there and got the details for us, which was most helpful. Everyone went above and beyond to make our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytravellers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

613 - 619 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

We recently traveled to France and included a trip to Bayeux to explore the surrounding area and the Normandy Beaches. It is a wonderful town with great restaurants, shops, museums and hotels. We picked the Churchill after researching several tour guides and online. We were not disappointed. It is charming and comfortable with a great morning breakfast, gift shop and cozy bar. The proprietors were wonderful and helpful and very friendly. We could walk everywhere, parking was easy and driving around was not difficult even though we speak no French. Definitely will return to the area as we didn't have nearly enough time to see everything.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLC122450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife and I arrived at the hotel on October 8, 2012 and stayed for two nights. We departed early on the 9th for an all day Normandy Sightseeing Tour that was also fantastic. The hotel staff are great and will go out of there way for almost any request. The room was very clean but quite small. This was not a problem for us as we just needed a place to rest our heads. The cost per night was 115 euros and worth the money as we were rarely in our room. You can spend a lot more around the corner, at the Villa Lara, but what are your plans? The train station is an easy 10 minute walk from the hotel. The tour guide picked us up in the lobby. The room was clean. There are eating places up and down the street. The hotel is very centrally located to everything. What else do you need? Worth the euro's!!

Rich and Dr. Linda W.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichnLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I recently completed a trip to Normandy with a tour group out of the US and this was the hotel picked by our guide.

I have to say that he made the right choice with this hotel. It was right in the downtown area of this beautiful town. It was within easy walking distance of many restaurants, the great cathedral in the down, the tapestry, and just a great atmosphere.

The Staff was very friendly (Daniel the night guy was awesome), and very helpful. They went out of their way to work with our group of 28.

The breakfast that was offered their was very European, but that added to the charm.

Warning: If you like large spacious accommodations, this is not the place for you. If you want a beautiful, friendly hotel to hang your hat after a day of visiting the many sites, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnthonyF2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Churchill while exploring the Normandy Beaches and the area in general. It is a great central location to the beaches, cemetary and Mount St Michel is not a bad drive and of course the Bayeux Tapestry is right behind the hotel. The rooms are comfortable if not extravagant. The morning breakfast was good as well. Parking was convenient in the back of the hotel. The staff at the hotel was very helpful and accomodating with suggestions on restaurants and sights we may have missed. Next time we are in Bayeux we will definately stay at the Churchill again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiscUsAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed there for three nights October 3,4 and 5. The Churchill is definitely a very convenient tourist hotel for folks coming to see the memorials of the Normandy invasion. It maintains European charm, comfort and a relaxed country inn feeling with a friendly and helpful staff. It's located within easy walking to the Tapestry, the Cathedral and many many typical cafes and lots of shopping! We had been traveling for almost a month in Spain and by the time we got to Bayeux we were tired & weary travelers....it would have been easy to gripe and complain about anything....but there was no reason plus we enjoyed the best bed we had slept in since leaving home. We have already recommended the Churchill to friends who plan a trip to Normandy next year. On our first trip to Bayeux in 1995, we stayed in a more modern hotel outside the old town (we had a car) and prefer the Churchill!

Room Tip: There is no elevator and the halls are narrow....we requsted a room on a lower level and were assign...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FTAB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Churchill in October 2012. I could not believe that it was the same hotel that we read rav reviews about and that won a Tripadvisor award. On the plus side, the staff was pleasant enough and the common rooms on the first floor were nice and appeared to be renovated. Everything else was awful. First of all, the allegedly non-smoking room stunk of smoke. It was so bad that you could actually taste it. Second, the decor was the worst kind of dated schlock from the 80s that you can imagine. Third, it was also incredibly uncomfortable. The bed was lumpy and the linens were stained. The ventilation was terrible and we were forced to sleep with the window open (no screen, plenty of bugs) in October. Finally, our guidebook said there was private parking, but there was none - it is a public lot that is first come, first serve and is pay during the day. I would never stay here again, but I am clearly missing something as they are regularly booked completely full

The location is perfect to visit the tapestry and other Bayeux sites, but the area really closes up at night, so in hindsight I would have stayed on the coast and drove in to visit Bayeux for the day to avoid this hotel.

Anyway, enjoy Bayeux - its a really interesting little town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravelCuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
1,034 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,347 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Churchill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Churchill

Address: 14 rue Saint Jean | Place de Québec en voiture, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
#2 Family Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range: $88 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Churchill 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive hotel on a pedestrian street in the heart of old Bayeux in Normandy.A charming hotel where history and memory trade tails.2 minutes from the famous tapestry and the cathedral and from Place de Quebec the pick up point for all excursions departing to the Dday landing beaches. And since June 2018, the hotel has built 14 new beautiful rooms in new part, with Privilege rooms and Junior suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Churchill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Churchill Hotel Bayeux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing