We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay, lovely food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed on the way back from a stay in Brittany with family as it was about half way and we stopped to visit the Normandy beaches.

The hotel got good reviews and on the strength of the photo we booked. Upon arrival, you do get the wow factor with the proper chateaux vibe going on. You drive down a big gravel path to a large car park and walk across the long lake facing the property which makes it feel good.

Reception is a bit shabby. You can play tennis, boules, table tennis etc. And hence the various equipment is in reception which makes it look untidy and there were piles of games, sweets, brochures surrounding the front desk which detracts a little from the luxury hotel look. The staff were however courteous and showed us directly to our room.

Our room in the roof was lovely. 3 big velux windows, massive bathroom and a very welcome enormous bed. You get a mini bar which is not unreasonably priced, a desk and a little seating area as you walk in overlooking the grounds. One complaint was that the huge shower head hanging from the ceiling was faulty generating a fairly dribbly offering which sprayed all over the ceiling flaking the paint off.

We booked in for dinner which was great, again reasonably priced. They had a set menu which was comprehensive; we are one meal from the set menu and a la carte which inclusive of drinks was €100 which was fair given the quality.

We don't have kids but had the feeling it was very kid friendly. Staff were nice, service was good. It just could work on the edges to make it look a lite more 4* worthy.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Niceaspies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    152
    71
    25
    9
See reviews for
96
216
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llanidloes, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

This hotel isn't a smooth modern soul-less hotel and is all the better for it's quirks; it is typically French and we loved it.
It's very convenient for exploring the area, either by car or on foot. It is a lovely building set in a beautiful parkland. The room we stayed in probably wasn't the best room; it was rather dark and there were beams in the bathroom in odd places but it was comfortable and clean and the public rooms more than made up for any deficiencies in our room. In another review I read a complaint about the hair dryer but the one in our room seemed more than adequate.
The staff were friendly and professional and most spoke more than adequate English; it would not be a problem if you did not speak French. Most of the guests were also English speaking, mainly Americans and Australians when we were there.
The breakfast buffet was a highlight for us. There were cold meats, bread and jams, yoghurt and fruit salad. You could also cook your own pancakes on a griddle or cook your own egg which we really enjoyed.
The evening meals were also of a high standard and we ate at the hotel 2 nights out of our 3 night stay. We would highly recommend this hotel if you want to experience an authentic French hotel with lots of character and individuality.

Room Tip: Avoid the fourth floor in the main hotel if possible as these rooms are in the attic of the chateau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keizer, Oregon
Level Contributor
582 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

We spent two nights at the Chateau on the fourth floor and just loved it! Sure the place is old and quaint and not a five star Hilton. No microwave or coffee machine nor a King size bed but it has personality, great people, wonderful grounds, good location and it makes you feel you really are at a Chateau in France! I am 6'4" so I don't easily fit in small older beds, furniture etc., but I did fine here and thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would do it again in a heartbeat. Five stars for this Chateau with great grounds including a river, a lovely restaurant, wonderful staff and atmosphere of a real French Chateau!

Room Tip: High floor overlooking the river or something else pretty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoryVisionTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

The property is very pretty and the location is nice if you don't want to be in the city...Agree with another reviewer that the hotel is old and tired. We had a big room but it was shabby, linens not great quality, and the bathroom very dated. The main rooms were very nice, however, and the breakfast was good.

The staff were not around very much at the front desk, and not particularly friendly. The most unfortunate part of our stay was an outdoor party/reception that the hotel hosted for a doctors's group while we were there. The party was located right under our window and so we heard them until 1pm at night... why would they locate a party under a guest's window?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

While the park-like setting and exterior of the buildings is truly beautiful, in hindsight I don't think this hotel was worth the price. We stayed in the second building, which includes 2-story, 2-bedroom, 1 bath rooms. Selected this property because we were a family of 5, and it did fit us with the rollaway bed they added to our room. Everything in our room was very clean and pretty new. However, they advertised cable TV and free internet yet neither worked in our room despite asking for assistance. The rooms are quite pricey, and breakfast was an additional charge. Friendly folks and I wish them well!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WRNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

This place is old and tired - the photos are deceiving. While the public den and dining room are ok, the rooms are not very nice and the bathroom is scandalous. The bathroom is about 40 years overdue for an update. We had the 2 bedroom adjoining apartment in the second floor. We switched hotels after 1 night.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank GiovanniMinaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Beautiful property a 15 minute walk to the centre of Bayeux. Lovely grounds with a stream running through filled with ducks. Hard to believe we were so close to town. The rooms in the Chateau are spacious, high ceilings, newly renovated bathrooms. The breakfast room is very nice and a decent selection for a continental + breakfast. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chateau and were very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltheglobe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine

Property: Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Address: 49 rue de Bellefontaine, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here the life of the château can be experienced every day: wood panelling, fireplaces, mouldings. We have preserved the 18th century spirit which is carried through into our park with its 200-year-old trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Bellefontaine Bayeux
Chateau De Bellefontaine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing