We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely January visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely January visit”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I booked a room here for my OH's birthday (also did a D-Day tour - also recommended!). I went for a superior double room and requested a room with a shower. We had a room on the fourth floor in the eaves and it was lovely. At night, the temperature was about right in the room, but the windows opened if it had been too hot.

The bathroom was very nice; modern and clean. The shower was wonderful. Observation: the towels could be thicker, and there was no full-length mirror in the room. The hairdryer was painfully powerless, so definitely bring your own if you have long or thick hair.

The double bed was two singles pushed together, but this wasn't a problem for us. The sheets were lovely and fresh and the beds were comfortable.

We had dinner in the hotel the first night and the food and service were both very good indeed. I can certainly recommend the foie gras and the beef! It's not a cheap meal by any means, but the food was delicious (and we do keep a pretty high bar).

The wine list was all French, as you would expect, but as the waitress didn't speak much English, we were on our own choosing a wine. Obviously not a problem if you know your French vineyards, but for us it was more of a semi-educated guess which resulted in a wine which was okay but nothing special.

Breakfasts were very good. Fruit, fruit juice and pastries were fresh, quality was good and there was a broad selection of everything you would expect.

We didn't have much time to explore Bayeux itself, and we would've liked to have seen the tapestry and mooch around the town, so we may go back again one day. If we do, I'd have no hesitation staying at Chateau de Bellefontaine again.

Room Tip: Room number 15 (a double with a separate twin bed) on the fourth floor is very nice and was very sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SBurnage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    161
    76
    27
    9
See reviews for
104
221
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This was a fabulous hotel. First the chateau proper is wonderful. The restaurant is fantastic. BUT IT IS THE CHEESBURGER you want to order. Best cheesburger on the planet--tasty French cow and some magical cheese sauce. The steaks were great and the fish was lovely. So far my favorite bottle of wine here in France, we drank here.

We stayed in one of the apartments. Lovely and spacious. The stairs have wide gaps between them like all modern stairs so I think children should be about 4 or 5 years or older.

The restaurant is quiet and fancy.

The breakfast buffet is great, all sorts of things and great fresh squeezed orange juice.

They have a little stream with swans.

Only negative was the La Poste truck that drove too fast past our apartments to the main chateau.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella8978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have just returned from a nights stay at this hotel and would definitely recommend it. Good location on the outskirts of Bayeux. We were going to walk into town but were tired from travelling so chose to eat in the restaurant and were very glad that we did - it was delicious. Fantastic old chateau ambience which made you want to dress up for dinner. The service was great and the food and wine very tasty - we really enjoyed it. The breakfast was generous with freshly squeezed orange juice available too.
The room was clean and comfortable rooms with a posh Villeroy & Boch bathroom! There was plenty of parking and the staff seemed to work tirelessly both night and day. We would stay again - thank you for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: we stayed in a room in the main building rather than the separate building that has additional rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpktrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This was our third stay at the Chateau, this time for a special anniversary trip. Laurence and the Front Desk team were as welcoming as ever and our rooms were as comfortable as always. The Christmas decorations in the garden were particularly attractive!
There have been a couple of changes since our last stay; the restaurant is now open each evening with a full a la carte menu available or a plat du jour. We opted for the plat dujour option; lobster bisque, tournedeos of beef and Isle de Flotant. A superb meal for 29 euro pp. We would have eaten in again but our stay spread across two weeks and unfortunately the menu didn't change for the second week.
Breakfast was a little bit of a disappointment; previously it had been excellent but the standard continental breakfast with some very overcooked bacon didn't really seem very good value for 14 euro pp. Breakfast in the room was only 10 euro which was a little confusing!
It was great to be able to take our two well-behaved dogs and they had the full run of the grounds. The Chateau is very welcoming of dogs and other hotels, especially in the UK, should learn from this and realise this potential income stream.
Overall, another very comfotable stay and we will return.
A tip: the hotel can be booked via ferry companies as part of a package but you will get far better pricing by booking direct.

Room Tip: All the rooms are most comfortable but one or two on the third floor care quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckeeble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and were made to feel very welcome. On arrival we were give a choice of rooms and chose a corner room with windows overlooking the garden. The Chateau has been recently refurbished and was elegant and comfortable with a modern spacious bathroom. We had dinner there the first night and came downstairs to a huge fire where we sat and had an aperitif. Dinner was so good we decided to eat there again the following night. The only complaint was that it was too much to eat........ Breakfast was a buffet both cold and hot food and to die for Fromage frais to have with fresh fruit. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room as they have windows on 2 sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenys51_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Hotel Chateau de Bellefontaine is in a magical setting and was sparkling with Christmas decorations. We had two rooms for two nights in the main building. The staff was friendly but wasn't as warm and welcoming as others we encountered in Paris and Normandy. Our rooms and bathrooms were large and clean with the exception of the carpet...wear socks! As others have mentioned, it is about a 15 min walk to the center of town, but requires crossing a major highway. We did not eat here and did not see anyone else in the attractive dining room. Would have preferred to stay at the beautiful Villa Lara but they were closed for the winter.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artfan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Home from home staff friendly and efficient lovely and good sized room we choose to have dinner first night and enjoyed it and opted to have it again second night.the garden was romantic with moat full with ducks and swans.was a short walk to town centre will go there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank nogobzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
1.6 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine

Property: Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Address: 49 rue de Bellefontaine, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bayeux
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here the life of the château can be experienced every day: wood panelling, fireplaces, mouldings. We have preserved the 18th century spirit which is carried through into our park with its 200-year-old trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Bellefontaine Bayeux
Chateau De Bellefontaine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing