We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive location, beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Chateau Bellefontaine is a 15 minute walk from the center of Bayeux, but it seems to be out in the country. The grounds are beautiful and include a small lake with swans and ducks. Rooms are very clean and spacious. The hotel is fully renovated and in excellent condition. The amenities are generally very good, but there is no shower. (There is a bath.) They have facilities for playing pool and tennis. They also have good WiFi. The staff is helpful. Our dinner in the restaurant was excellent, as was the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wander18539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 460 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

A great location, easy walk into the centre of Bayeux. On the whole peaceful although the train line is nearby. The main house is lovely, we had a two story room in part of the adjacent block. Very nice room. NOTE, wifi only available in the main house not in our room. Service was very French, food not quite up to the standard we expected in a 4 star hotel but adequate.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and in a wonderful location. However the dinner was simply awful. We did not expect to be served chips, ratatouille and frozen mange tout and peas with both of our meals, mine a steak and my wife's monkfish. Neither did the lady having the house speciality burger next to us. At 28€ for a main course it was simply shocking. By all means stay at the hotel, just don't eat there. Starters from 12€, the soupe de poisson to 40€. 50cl beer in the garden 10€.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank paulnpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The other reviews capture this dream like place. Take time for drinks on the lawns but don't go too close to the swans - they protect their little family. We also had drinks and met some other nice guests before a pleasnt dinner then and conversationand more drinks outide in the lovely grounds. It is a 10 minute walk into Bayeaux to visit all the main sights and also well located to head off to the nearby D-Day places. Do yourself a favour and book.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geewiz1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

If like us, you arrive here on a warm, dry afternoon in the summer months, you will fall in love with the little bridge crossing the moat to the house, and the baby swans with parents swimming along. Disney could not have 'made' this scene any more perfect!!
The house looks as if it's been restored over a period, and like all older properties it always will need some work doing. But having said that, I would recommend this hotel for its peaceful setting, the joy of sitting in a comfy chair on the lawn watching the different ducks coming and going whilst the gardeners keep up the never ending struggle with 'Mother Nature'.
Memories are easily made in surroundings like this. Go and enjoy, but please don't tell everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stee58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

A very pleasant hotel set in attractive grounds. The Carp in the lake and the Swans with their cygnets added to the overall picture. The food was very good both for breakfast and dinner and the staff friendly. I must mention the receptionist with the little dog who was very pleasant indeed and I would welcome returning to this hotel, if only to say hallo again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevor p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank little_emma_100
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
1,034 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
734 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
1,208 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,497 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine

Address: 49 rue de Bellefontaine, 14400, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bayeux
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bayeux
Price Range: $68 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here the life of the château can be experienced every day: wood panelling, fireplaces, mouldings. We have preserved the 18th century spirit which is carried through into our park with its 200-year-old trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Bellefontaine Bayeux
Chateau De Bellefontaine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing