We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (523)
Filter reviews
523 results
Traveler rating
183
206
84
38
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
206
84
38
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main chateau swans and ducks hotel chateau duplex suite lovely grounds brittany ferries beautiful chateau minute walk into town fourth floor mini bar bread every evening short break french chateau hand held shower shower head normandy beaches
Filter
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 523 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

A great location, easy walk into the centre of Bayeux. On the whole peaceful although the train line is nearby. The main house is lovely, we had a two story room in part of the adjacent block. Very nice room. NOTE, wifi only available in the main house not in our room. Service was very French, food not quite up to the standard we expected in a 4 star hotel but adequate.

Date of stay: September 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and in a wonderful location. However the dinner was simply awful. We did not expect to be served chips, ratatouille and frozen mange tout and peas with both of our meals, mine a steak and my wife's monkfish. Neither did the lady having the house speciality burger next to us. At 28€ for a main course it was simply shocking. By all means stay at the hotel, just don't eat there. Starters from 12€, the soupe de poisson to 40€. 50cl beer in the garden 10€.

Date of stay: September 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank paulnpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The other reviews capture this dream like place. Take time for drinks on the lawns but don't go too close to the swans - they protect their little family. We also had drinks and met some other nice guests before a pleasnt dinner then and conversationand more drinks outide in the lovely grounds. It is a 10 minute walk into Bayeaux to visit all the main sights and also well located to head off to the nearby D-Day places. Do yourself a favour and book.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geewiz1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

If like us, you arrive here on a warm, dry afternoon in the summer months, you will fall in love with the little bridge crossing the moat to the house, and the baby swans with parents swimming along. Disney could not have 'made' this scene any more perfect!!
The house looks as if it's been restored over a period, and like all older properties it always will need some work doing. But having said that, I would recommend this hotel for its peaceful setting, the joy of sitting in a comfy chair on the lawn watching the different ducks coming and going whilst the gardeners keep up the never ending struggle with 'Mother Nature'.
Memories are easily made in surroundings like this. Go and enjoy, but please don't tell everyone.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stee58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

A very pleasant hotel set in attractive grounds. The Carp in the lake and the Swans with their cygnets added to the overall picture. The food was very good both for breakfast and dinner and the staff friendly. I must mention the receptionist with the little dog who was very pleasant indeed and I would welcome returning to this hotel, if only to say hallo again!

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevor p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews