We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another totally satisfied customer”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bayeux
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Particulier Poppa
Ranked #1 of 32 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Another totally satisfied customer”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I endorse the other excellent reviews of this property. The owners really want to make every guest welcome and they succeed. The location is a couple of minutes north of the cathedral and if you're lucky there is free parking outside around the square outside. It is about ten minutes walk to the museum in which the tapestry is displayed.

If we return to Bayeux, we will make sure we stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 and it was lovely. It is on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmloclam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
174
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed for two nights in this this excellent B and B and can recommend it highly. Phillippe and Sophie are excellent hosts. We stayed in Room 3 which has a small sitting room in addition to the bedroom and excellent bathroom.
The decoration and furnishings throughout the house are of a very high standard and the buffet breakfast perfect there is a very attractive garden.
It is only a few minutes walk to the cathedral and many restaurants.
This is one highest quality B and Bs that we have stayed in anywhere.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ocho_Pinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I cannot recommend this B&B more. It is a 15 min walk from the train station and right in the center of town. My husband and I stayed in Room 4 last month (the smallest of all the rooms) and it was more than perfect. The room was beautifully kept, laid out to maximize the space (which was more than enough). It was clean and tastefully decorated. Five-star quality. Sophie and Philippe, the proprietors, couldn't have been more hospitable. Check-in was easy and breakfast was a traditional French spread of baguette, jams, fruit, cereal, hard-boiled eggs, coffee and juice. All the food was fresh and tasty. The breakfast area overlooks a beautiful little courtyard as well- perfect to read/relax in, which we would have done if we had more time. Sophie and Philippe also recommended a fabulous restaurant in town that anyone who visits Bayeux must try: L'Assiette Normande. My husband and I ate there both nights during our stay- it was that good. Overall, we cannot wait to visit Normandy again, just so we can stay at the Hotel Poppa!

Room Tip: If you are a couple, any room would do just fine. We stayed in the smallest room and it was more tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MollyGannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed in Room #4 which is the smallest room in the house but still the biggest we stayed in, in France.
The hosts Sophie and Phillipe are very welcoming and helpful and the house is beautiful.
The room is renovated and more contemporary than you'll find in most B&B's in historic homes.
Sophie puts out a great continental breakfast in a roomy breakfast room with tables for 2 or 4 and Phillipe is great for restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank feener65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in late August, 2013. This was our first stop after landing in CDG that morning. Greeting us after a long day, our hosts, Phillipe and Sophie, were extremely charming and personable. Phillipe helped us with our bags to our beautiful Room #3 which overlooked the large Place Charles DeGualle, across the street. Our room was just lovely with very high ceilings and a separate sitting area. The bedroom is furnished in a way that compliments the 18th century building. Our bathroom, however, was modern and up to date with a luxurious shower. The bedroom came with informative brochures and we found a small chateau in the area that we visited a few days later. We stayed here for two nights and the breakfasts in the morning were full of fresh variety and served in a light filled breakfast room. A door leads to the pretty garden area in the back of the property, filled with beautiful flowers.

The hotel is perfectly situated for visiting everything Bayeux has to offer. We parked our car in front of the building and didn't use it again until we left.

After staying in Bayeux and then continuing on our road trip of France, I wish we could have stayed longer in Bayeux. It is a beautiful city which is very walkable and we would have been able to stay longer at the fabulous Hotel Particulier Poppa! If we ever return to Normandy, this will be the place we will stay.

Room Tip: Room #3 is gorgeous and roomy. It's located on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chacha7602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Don't even think of staying anywhere else! We stayed in Room 3 last month. It was glorious. Every room is different there and the service and attention to detail is that of a 5-star hotel. We ate dinner one night with provisions that we bought in town and Sophie brought out fresh tomatoes for us to enjoy with our fabulous French sandwiches: bread, cheese, charcuterie from the local shops, and a bottle of wine in a beautiful garden. You cannot go wrong. Breakfasts are perfectly French and delicious. Sophie and Philippe are the absolute best host and hostess. Sophie even secured materials to repair my husband's suitcase.
This place is just lovely, I want to go back and I would never consider anywhere staying anywhere else in Bayeux, in fact, I'd plan my trip around when they have rooms! Sophie & Philippe also recommended a wonderful restaurant: L'Assiette Normande. Don't miss that either. Views of the cathedral from your window, gorgeous room, fabulous host and hostess, great food. Life in good at Hotel particulier Poppa! Suzanne & Dan H

Room Tip: I think that all of the rooms are superb. We met a couple who stayed in Room 4 and they loved it. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pasoirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville Valley, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

It was indeed luck that the fancy hotel in town was booked during our four day stay in Bayeux because, instead, we got to stay at l'Hotel Particulier Poppa. What a lovely place, beautifully located on the square near the Cathedral in the middle of Bayeux. The rooms are so nice, with high ceilings and very modern bathrooms. Even though it is in the centre of the old town, the hotel is very quiet and peaceful. The breakfast area faces the owners' private garden and the breakfasts are so French with homemade jams, French bread, fruit, pastries. Sophie was very helpful, making dinner reservations and advising us on what to do and see in the area. The perfect place to stay in Bayeux!

Room Tip: There are only four rooms and they are all nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanary8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
963 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#5 of 21 in Bayeux
1,158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 21 in Bayeux
1,284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Lion d'Or
Le Lion d'Or
#6 of 21 in Bayeux
685 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 21 in Bayeux
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Particulier Poppa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Particulier Poppa

Property: Hotel Particulier Poppa
Address: Place de Gaulle | 32, 14400, Bayeux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bed and breakfast Hotel particulier Poppa (XVIII) offers four charming guest rooms. The high windows all offer exceptional views of the beautiful garden, the place Charles de Gaulle, the statue of Poppa and the facade of the cathedral. Sophie and Philippe will welcome you in the lounge and they will be available to help you have a great time in Bayeux. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing