We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”
Review of l'Accroche

l'Accroche
Ranked #55 of 97 Restaurants in Bayeux
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Loved everything about it! We enjoyed dishes which will never be forgotten. Very attentive staff. Booking important and already booked on 6 June! Pity it is not closer!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    58
    23
    29
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal in France”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

My sister and I are traveling around Normandy and Paris and we just had the best meal of our trip. L'Arroche is a beautiful and intimate, yet family friendly restaurant, with great wine and the freshest, tastiest meal to date. This restaurant is much better than the trip advisor ranking. Try it...you will enjoy it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Markle25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
438 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Great food in an intimate setting.”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Looking for a lunch spot, we happened upon L'Accroche. Small with seating for only 24, the restaurant is a jewel. We chose the starter, main and dessert for 22 Euros.
Our starters consisted of a scallop and salmon tartar and an onion tart with Calvados. Both excellently prepared. The tartar was served with white toast. Fresh and intertwined the scallop and salmon were bathed in lemon juice and a touch of olive oil. Perfectly caramelized small onions in puff pastry and a touch of Calvados-excellent tart. My main was the salmon in puff pastry served with pasta and root vegetables. Salmon was three pieces of salmon steak cut into a rectangle and wrapped in puff pastry. The thin pastry provided a blanket to keep the salmon moist and that perfect pink color. Root vegetables still had structure and flavor. I did not eat the pasta as I wanted room for dessert! Nancy selected the pork tenderloin medallions - plentiful and gorgeously seasoned; served with the same root vegetables and potato puree. One Normandy cheese (two different cheeses) board and a chocolate mousse a du (white and dark); a glass of port for the cheese and muscat for the mousse. Magnificant!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, WA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely and family-friendly”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We dined here with an adult son, but a nearby table had a youngster. The little girl was very well behaved and she clearly enjoyed the experience (she was French, so she was able to engage with the staff). We ordered the menu (e22 and e29), and selected a variety of options - all were good. A public parking lot is across the street, but it was within walking distance of our B&B, so we walked. We would happily return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank n9891q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overton, England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Way better than it's Tripadvisor ranking”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We went here for my partner's birthday. We had been confused by TA reviews about restaurants in Bayeux and decided we'd check them out in person and then book. I'm so glad we did - and so is she. Some highly ranked restaurants didn't feel welcoming, the menu for others boring (I love pizza as much as the next person, but please, that doesn't make it a great dining experience), and L'Accroche was low on our shortlist. But as soon as we walked in at lunchtime to check it out, we knew it was right. Small, personal, nicely decorated, it had a great feel. And we weren't disappointed. Great food, great service, great atmosphere, well priced. Tasty steaks, beautifully cooked duck, and a top top crème brulee, the ultimate test passed with flying colours. Forget the swanky, forget the overrated. Eat here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank themotorcycleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed l'Accroche also viewed

 
Bayeux, Calvados
 

Been to l'Accroche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing