We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Battle Musee” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum of the Battle of Normandy

Museum of the Battle of Normandy
Ranked #5 of 34 things to do in Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated near the British Military Cemetery of Bayeux, the Memorial Museum of the Battle of Normandy narrates the battles which took place in Normandy after the D-Day landings, between 7th June and 29th August 1944. The collections of military equipment, the diorama and the archival films allow the visitor to grasp the enormous effort made during this decisive battle in order to restore peace in Europe.
Arizona
Level Contributor
153 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Battle Musee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very good Musee. Intimate yet informative. Some hands on exhibits.
We've all read about D-Day, and we've seen movies. We've seen other more general videos on WWII…but this museum really gives a great perspective.
The museum is well organized, the staff is approachable, well informed and friendly. They aren't on their phones texting.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank aztraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    617
    415
    94
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Updated and improved!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

My wife and I visited with my father-in-law (ex WW2 British Parachute Regiment) on a very wet day when we were killing time waiting for a ferry home to England. We had all been before but were so glad we called in. The updated exhibitions are very informative with a moving and informative film. Very well laid out and organised, much better than our previous visit. Allow a good three hours to get the most out of it. A couple of suggestions; it would have been nice to take a break in the Museum and sit down with a coffee but there are no facilities. It was a little disappointing that WW2 veterans have to pay to get into the Museum; most other D-Day/WW2 museums facilitate free access for this group of heroes and so should this one. Otherwise, a good experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ckeeble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Nice small museum, excellent film for overview of DDAY in french and english, very thoughtfull, well organized museum, make sure to visit the British cemetary behind museum

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A very touching experience !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We think we know about the Battle of Normandie, especially if we read a lot about it. But being there is a totally different experience. You start living the events instead of intellectualizing them..
The museum is extremely well organized, the staff is quite knowledgeable and replied to all my questions intelligently. The movies were also very interesting to understand fully the enormity and scale of this Battle !

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank RAWDE2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent exhibits.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

A very nice museum. The exhibits were very good and the layout was very nice. Note that, at least in the off season, they are closed for lunch so better to visit first thing in the morning or after they reopen in the afternoon.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank lkmdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of the Battle of Normandy also viewed

 

Been to Museum of the Battle of Normandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing