We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B in Bayeux”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Manoir Sainte Victoire
Ranked #7 of 30 Bayeux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I don't usually take the time to write reviews, but I so enjoyed my two-night stay at Le Manoir Sainte Victoire that I just had to. The location is excellent, right in the heart of the city, a one-minute walk to the Cathedral. Street parking was not easy, but I managed to find spots very close by (and my hosts gave me their dashboard parking permit to use). The Aitaoudia family were very gracious hosts and have done an amazing job restoring the medieval tower that houses their guest rooms. The rooms are light, spacious, and beautifully appointed with lovely antiques and paintings. I loved having a small, fully-equipped kitchen at my disposal, too. I'm not a big breakfast eater, but I couldn't resist a homemade fruit crisp hot out of the oven one morning. It was both the most charming place I stayed during my trip to Normandy, and the best value. I recommend it highly. My thanks to my hosts for their wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AbigailOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 234 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed in the first-floor "Miro" room (2d floor, by American-style counting) for 2 nights in May. The room and bathroom were clean and quiet. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast was fabulous.
The Manoir Sainte Victoire is on a quiet narrow street only a few minutes' walk from the center of Bayeux. There is no parking next to the Manoir Sainte Victoire, but we found on-street parking close by, around the Place Charles du Gaulle.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I just returned from a trip to Normandy that included two nights in Bayeux. Staying at the Manoir Saint Victoire was splendid. The host was gracious. He did not speak English, but that's part of the adventure of travel to a foreign country, isn't it?. Not to worry, he was able to communicate to us everything we needed to know. The house is beautiful and the room was spacious. Breakfast in the morning was a real treat. The MSV is located minutes from the cathedral and just a short walk from the Tapestry on a very small, narrow and QUIET street. We availed ourselves of his garage (at 10 euros/night) for our rental car and it was a worthwhile expense to know we had a space and the vehicle was secure. It's really hard to recommend this place too highly.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms. Access is via a narrow circular staircase so a lower floor is easier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Its really hard for me to believe that Le Manoir Sainte Victoire is the #9 ranked B&B in Bayeux. It has to be ranked higher! Its that nice of a place and that good of a value. My wife and I stayed at the Manoir Sainte Victoire for one night at the end of April. To begin with, Sainte Victoire is a three minute walk from the heart of Bayeux, including the cathedral and many restaurants and shops. All the rooms are recently renovated with modern bathrooms. Our room also included a kitchenette which is perfect for travelers who want to do more at home. The bed was extremely comfortable and the linens and towels, were new, clean, and of high quality. The hostess and her family extremely warm and inviting! The hostess speaks English well. They also offered a wonderful French breakfast, wish fresh breaks, cakes/tarts, and jams. They offered freshly squeezed orange juice and American-style coffee. An excellent start to the day. An all for 90 euros a night. Truly and unbelievable deal. If my wife and I make it back to Normandy we will definitely be staying here again. I should point out that they only take cash, no credit. But they sent there wonderful, multilingual daughter with my wife to find the ATM machine. So nice! Also, it may not be the most handicap friendly place in the world, so if you have issues you should request the room on the first floor. But other than that this place is a jewel and I doubt it will stay hidden for long.

Room Tip: To access the rooms you have to climb a spiral stair case. If that is a challenge then you should r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJR872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I booked this based on Rick Steve's book and the reviews here. The room was large by European standards. The room was extremely clean and the extras as stated by others were wonderful. The kitchen came in handy when we picked up some food from the super marche (a 10 minute walk). We were exhausted from our tour on the D-day beaches. The heater/towel rack in the bathroom was wonderful. The shower compared to London and Paris hotels was enormous. The remodel is very comfortable and of high quality. The couple who run the business (Jean-Pierre is the owner) couldn't be nicer and the daughter was helpful also. THe wife definitely has a better grasp of English, she spent time in the US growing up. We had an iPad with us so we were not able to use the Internet access. They do not have wifi - so if that is important to you, this B and B might not work for you. The 2 bars that we visited in town that advertise wifi were not open or it didn't work for us. Jean-Pierre chauffeured us to the train station and would have picked us up but the pay phone at the train station didn't work. All in all it was a fantastic stay. Did I mention that breakfasts were wonderful too?

Room Tip: We stayed in the Miro room on the second level. Jean-Pierre helped with our luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DWW5115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

My wife and I were traveling and I was looking for a special place for her birthday. After checking out tripadvisor we contacted Le Manoir Sainte Victoire. We stayed in the first floor room and had a wonderful veiw of the Bayeux cathederal lit up at night. Everything went well at check in although there was a little problem with language as neither my wife or myself speak french and the husband spoke limited English.
Early that evening there was a knock at the door and the wife came to make sure everything was satisfactory and to see if we had any other questions. She told us that her husband wasn't sure if he had answered all of our questions since we had some problems communicating. When we told her everything was fine we also mentioed that it was my wifes birthday. Shortly after that a her daughter brough us abottle of wine arrived to help us celebrate.
The B&B is located on a narrow street within walking distance of the cathederal as well as the museum that has the tapestry. This is a fairly new B&B and our room was large and ver clean.
We had a wonderfull breakfast before leaving for the normandy beaches which are only around 30 minutes away. We would highly recomend this for anyone looking for a place to stay when in the Normandy area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RandyG186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Perfect location, perfect stay in this very brand newly decorated manoir. Tastefuly decorated and clean, this is the perfect hotel de charme with a view on the cathedral, in the centre of Bayeux, yet in a quiet street.
Also our room had a small kitchenette, was included breakfast and it was sensational! The hosts who speak good English are delightful. We will stay there again, if we go back to Bayeux.
I wish Jean Pierre the best of luck in this new business.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bayeux hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel du Luxembourg
0.2 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 22 in Bayeux
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reine Mathilde
Hotel Reine Mathilde
#3 of 22 in Bayeux
1,509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tardif Noble Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
La Tour Louise
La Tour Louise
#2 of 30 in Bayeux
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Manoir Sainte Victoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manoir Sainte Victoire

Address: 32 rue de la Juridiction, Bayeux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Bayeux
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bayeux
Price Range: $110 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Manoir Sainte Victoire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing